1) is the hamster wood shaving ok?
2) if i gave him whiskas would tht be ok?
3) how to potty train it?
4) is a toyogo box enough or shud i buy a cage for him?
Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!
Dec 19 2007, 08:06 PM
81 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL |
Im getting my hedgie this friday..need a lots of advices..plz help me...
1) is the hamster wood shaving ok? 2) if i gave him whiskas would tht be ok? 3) how to potty train it? 4) is a toyogo box enough or shud i buy a cage for him? |
Dec 19 2007, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(muchan86 @ Dec 19 2007, 09:23 PM) u can read some info from 1st page Thx alot...i've been researching bout it for a while now...is the cat food pricey?..btw is the hamster wheel ok??..im afraid if the wheel fall on top of hedgie and risk injuring him... as for me : 1. I used wood shaving snowflake.. i think it's for hamster too 2. I'm not sure bout whiskas.. but normally we gave our hedgie RC baby cat food... 3. Mine.. not sure whether he really know where to poo or not -.- but mostly when he poo I will move his shit to the spot I wan him to poo or pee... but mine seems ignore it... sometimes he poo on the right place but sometimes he even pee in his food... so i need to check n change the food.. 4. most ppl use toyogo box but not me xD toyogo box is enuf ^.^ |
Dec 20 2007, 11:39 AM
haha...im just asking cause i cant seem s to find rc cat food at the supermarket around my house...yeah i noe i cant keep them in the same place..but theres 1 breeder told me to keep them at diffferent cage but allow them to see each other....dunno y...sorry if my research is not enuff...back to page 1 i guess....sorry
Dec 20 2007, 11:32 PM
actually im confuse what rc is until i realise it is royal canin....thats y i ask is whiskas is ok...so everything is ok now..thx
Dec 20 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Dec 20 2007, 11:41 PM) You should NEVER EVER EVER EVER feed Whiskas or Friskies to your hedgehog. You won't find RC in supermarkets. Go to pet shops that sell dogs and cats or a pet boutique. I recommend PetsPeople in Plaza Damas, Sri Hartamas. They have both RC and Orijen. dun worry...now tht is noe tht rc is royal canin i can sure find them...juz a lil bit confusion there... |
Dec 21 2007, 11:27 PM
is it ok to put ur hedgie at the lawn for a while...ofcourse with me by his side la...
Dec 23 2007, 01:59 AM
Juz got my hedgie....name him momo...hahaha..very happy!!...
Dec 23 2007, 07:35 PM
Dec 23 2007, 09:59 PM
Dec 23 2007, 10:34 PM
Dec 24 2007, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(Cimredopyh @ Dec 24 2007, 12:12 AM) Hes still adjusting to his new home, give him time to relax and get familiar juz what i think...momo is more relax now..i can carry him..but stil have a bit of temper...btw what is click sound that i read at page 1?....momo hiss a lot...I dont see any reason at all why you should force him to eat the mealworms by taking away his basic food during this time when hes adjusting>.> please dont simply give suggestions irresponsibly Just try again some other time and yes, mealworms are considered treats to supplement their diet with Edit: Muchan found someone to babysit ken yet? |
Dec 24 2007, 08:14 PM
is it just me or hedgie sleep most of the time?....btw...where can i find a wheel for him??..most of the pet shop here sell hamster wheel only...huhuhu
Dec 27 2007, 01:13 AM
![]() introducing...MOMO |
Dec 27 2007, 06:48 PM
Jan 1 2008, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(BLuR15 @ Dec 31 2007, 12:22 PM) Spikey won't stay where he is... He will run away and hide... Is it a bad sign??? But when I put him into my lap, he will sometimes lie on my arms... |
Jan 5 2008, 03:20 PM
i think momo is starting to quilling...i found one of his quill in his box..huhu
Jan 7 2008, 11:26 PM
ya loh...nice pic...melati seems small for a 1 year old...
Jan 11 2008, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(wanoridz @ Jan 10 2008, 04:55 PM) Lil'Maine be careful tho hehe, wan is it ok for hedgehog to travel a long journey??...i ask one cricket from the usual pet store at my neighbourhood. Just to test wether my melati eat it or not. After 2 days, the cricket is still there, and always stay near her. I think they become friend already. muchan86 my melati also hiss some time, especially when early morning, i wake her up to bring her to office, she were all crazy waking up early hehe |
Jan 16 2008, 01:18 AM
guys...where can i find a wheel big enough for my hedgie around kl??...i have try finding the 12 inch wheel at pet wonderland both at mid valley and great eastern mall but no luck...help..i think momo need to exercise...
This post has been edited by demonicbeing: Jan 16 2008, 01:19 AM |
Jan 17 2008, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(Cimredopyh @ Jan 17 2008, 12:41 AM) Hey guys Ive come across some info i would like to share so..is Rc cat food is ok??..It seems that Innova Evo is not good for hedgehogs because the protein content is much too high, and even orijen is a little too high in protein It seems they should not even be used as part of a mix. What happens is their bodies are unable to process the excessive amount of protein after awhile it will result in kidney (or was it liver? sorry ill check again and confirm which organ) problems I was informed by a few people about this during a discussion about good cat foods for hedgies. One of them is a nice canadian lady who has been breeding hedgehogs for about 6 years, she really knows her stuff and i take her opinion seriously ( Nancy of the hedgie den) Now i know these are both really high quality food with great ingredients but unfortunately it seems the risk of feeding too high protein is just as bad as feeding high fat : (. It wont kill them straight away but it will probably cause problems in the long term I hope im not stepping on any toes as i know most of the hedgie enthusiasts in LYN do recommend these two cat foods. I was abit hesistant because of that but i decided to share the info anyways oh yeah and if your wondering how much protein is too much, the closer to 30% the better. Lower than 25% is to little, higher than 35% is too much Edit: I just checked and it was the liver not the kidneys, too much protein and their body cant break it down properly. |
| Change to: | 0.0508sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:00 PM |