To change or not to change?

TSadultingishard
post Oct 27 2022, 12:12 PM, updated 4y ago

Hi sifus, I would like to seek your advices regarding this.

I'll be changing my left rear tyre as it has already reached its wear limit. So I'm wondering if I should also change my right rear tyre for the sake of consistency? It hasn't reached its wear limit yet (still has about halfway to go?) but the thing is that it's more than 4 years old as of now.

The reason both tyres have such a big difference in wear is because my left rear tyre punctured not long ago and I switched to a much older tyre.

Thank you all in advance.

Pic of the right rear tyre wear level below:

metalfire
post Oct 27 2022, 12:23 PM

1,289 posts

time to change both, and maybe keep the better one as spare, just in case.
zeng
post Oct 27 2022, 06:08 PM

1,810 posts

The 4yo rear right tyre is still serviceable.

Isn't the previously punctured tyre repaired by now?
6UE5T
post Oct 27 2022, 09:03 PM

1,704 posts

If you just buy a new one, you'll be faced with the same dilema again later. So either you buy 2 new ones or try find the same used one still in good condition. Up to your budget I guess.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 27 2022, 09:03 PM
ktek
post Oct 27 2022, 10:22 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

prefer change in pair (2pcs) or rotate with spare one
TSadultingishard
post Oct 27 2022, 11:50 PM

Alright I will consider changing both tyres for peace of mind.

Thank you all for your advice thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(zeng @ Oct 27 2022, 06:08 PM)
Isn't the previously  punctured tyre repaired by now?
The puncture was pretty bad, the hole size was about 2 to 2.5 cm, and it happened in the sidewall so it couldn't be repaired apparently
littlefire
post Oct 28 2022, 08:49 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(adultingishard @ Oct 28 2022, 12:50 AM)
Alright I will consider changing both tyres for peace of mind.

Thank you all for your advice thumbsup.gif
The puncture was pretty bad, the hole size was about 2 to 2.5 cm, and it happened in the sidewall so it couldn't be repaired apparently
Anyway who say sidewall cannot be repaired? Until today still hear this rubbish.
Unless it is a big long tear, nowadays inner tyre patch type & adhesive used is quite advance.

Still hear this type of fear mongering by tire shop that sidewall cannot patch if normal small hole. doh.gif
If you are not a hardcore driver, basically it still can be use for normal road after doing inner patch type.
Been doing for years and most of those big tire shop especially can do lorries, 4x4 got many types of inner patch from small to big size and also adhesive to hold & secure the patch from leaking.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 28 2022, 08:53 AM
zeng
post Oct 28 2022, 12:50 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 28 2022, 08:49 AM)
Anyway who say sidewall cannot be repaired?  Until today still hear this rubbish.
Unless it is a big long tear, nowadays inner tyre patch type & adhesive used is quite advance.

Still hear this type of fear mongering by tire shop that sidewall cannot patch if normal small hole.  doh.gif
If you are not a hardcore driver, basically it still can be use for normal road after doing inner patch type.
Been doing for years and most of those big tire shop especially can do lorries, 4x4 got many types of inner patch from small to big size and also adhesive to hold & secure the patch from leaking.
Interesting....honestly have'nt heard or seen such type of inner tyre patch meant for sidewall IF it is different from the conventional inner patch used on tread area.

Are they the same?

This post has been edited by zeng: Oct 28 2022, 12:51 PM
littlefire
post Oct 28 2022, 02:28 PM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Oct 28 2022, 01:50 PM)
Interesting....honestly have'nt heard or seen such type of inner tyre patch meant for sidewall IF it is different from the conventional inner patch used on tread area.

Are they the same?
The patch are usually the same but different size and type depending on the hole size and application area.
The most important is the adhesive type use to apply the patch and how to clean/deburr the area well before attachment.
All these need time, skill and experience, thus why some tire shop want earn easy money direct ask owner change new or used tire.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 28 2022, 02:29 PM
ktek
post Oct 31 2022, 01:43 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 28 2022, 02:28 PM)
The patch are usually the same but different size and type depending on the hole size and application area.
The most important is the adhesive type use to apply the patch and how to clean/deburr the area well before attachment.
All these need time, skill and experience, thus why some tire shop want earn easy money direct ask owner change new or used tire.
will crack bigger over time. leak again
littlefire
post Oct 31 2022, 09:22 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 31 2022, 02:43 AM)
will crack bigger over time. leak again
That why i said depends on the patch, adhesive and tire shop experience.
If they give you cheap patch, adhesive and louzy workmanship then will leak again in short time.
Many tire shop purposely dont want to do it or do louzy job as they prefer you to change new or 2nd hand tire as more $$$ & less time consuming for them to earn.

Just imagine the time & cost of taking out the tire, deburr the inner area, put adhesive + patch, test and fit again (If leak need do everything again, change bigger patch or different adhesive glue), most tire shop owner felt it is a waste of time and cannot earn more money.

If you never been in tire industries before they are a lot of different patch & rubber adhesive just for different tire repair job, just google about tyre repair glue / patch and see how much variation in the net.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 31 2022, 09:29 AM

0.0135sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:00 PM