Need advise on car body kit, Car
TSgunner121 P
Oct 17 2022, 09:38 AM, updated 4y ago
Hi, Planning to collect my car soon at Honda. The SA offered OEM body kit (PP material) which is around RM2800 and also offering original kit for RM5300. Outside shop i checked around RM1200.
Is it worthwhile to install OEM body kit at Honda Center, compared to outside shops? They will have it installed by in-house vendor at Center itself
kdr93
Oct 17 2022, 10:21 AM
What car is it, oem pun 2.8k?
Bodykit is just cosmetic, so might as well install in external shop and save some.
But do compre the quality of the bodykit for the external shop, some are really lousy.
TSgunner121 P
Oct 17 2022, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(kdr93 @ Oct 17 2022, 10:21 AM) What car is it, oem pun 2.8k? Bodykit is just cosmetic, so might as well install in external shop and save some. But do compre the quality of the bodykit for the external shop, some are really lousy. Civic FE Since Honda Center itself offers 3rd party body kit, thinking if it is worthwhile to get it installed before collecting car. 
6UE5T
Oct 17 2022, 10:43 AM
Just do outside but make sure it's a good shop.
HalseyFrangipane
Oct 17 2022, 11:00 PM
Which Honda centre is offering the OEM body kit?
Darkspreader
Oct 17 2022, 11:43 PM

I got mine oem from Honda.
Good quality since oem + if accident can claim.
Outside no warranty, if got also for paint only.
StrikeQUAN
Oct 18 2022, 06:18 PM

if got enough budget, go for OEM
KingArthurVI
Oct 19 2022, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Oct 17 2022, 11:00 PM) Which Honda centre is offering the OEM body kit? Most likely SA or group of SAs outsource to a workshop close to the SC but told customers is done by SC. I’ve had it happen to me when purchasing my Civic FC in 2018. TS i suggest do outside directly. If you do “through SC” like this there are multiple layers of people taking cuts of the profit which is why price tends to be higher but quality same as you do outside
gahpadu
Oct 19 2022, 07:22 PM
If pay rm5k then can claim those part in even of accdient...then only it worth to buy
HalseyFrangipane
Oct 19 2022, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Oct 19 2022, 11:38 AM) Most likely SA or group of SAs outsource to a workshop close to the SC but told customers is done by SC. I’ve had it happen to me when purchasing my Civic FC in 2018. TS i suggest do outside directly. If you do “through SC” like this there are multiple layers of people taking cuts of the profit which is why price tends to be higher but quality same as you do outside Yeap, Honda SC is only authorised to sell genuine body kits. There's no such thing as OEM, etc. Just want to know which dealer haha And your advice to TS is correct, if you want to do it at SC, stick with genuine. If OEM or aftermarket, just go outside.
TSgunner121 P
Oct 21 2022, 10:11 AM
Thanks everyone, will do it outside. The bodykit also not so prominent (front and back lip only) and painted in glossy black (no issue with color matching car body tone).
Checked outside shop, simillar PP material RM1100 compared to SC OEM PP material RM2850
Shall use excess for better car tint hehe.
jlkh760830
Oct 23 2022, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(gunner121 @ Oct 21 2022, 10:11 AM) Thanks everyone, will do it outside. The bodykit also not so prominent (front and back lip only) and painted in glossy black (no issue with color matching car body tone). Checked outside shop, simillar PP material RM1100 compared to SC OEM PP material RM2850 Shall use excess for better car tint hehe. Yes, wise decision,, Don't waste money installing OEM bodykit... There's no such thing as OEM bodykit... The price offer by SA is their profits Margin as outside sell cheaper at shop...