How much to hire full time personal driver?

Mel2
post Oct 14 2022, 10:09 AM

861 posts

Most drivers are Malays.

Before hiring them, make sure if they're OK to skip their prayers time....

We've hired Chinese drivers before, but they're too smart to handle.... ask them bring customers around, like from hotel to airport.... they pandai-pandai arrange customers go shopping at their selected joints.

Malay drivers, have the habit to ask for salary in advance. Haha. Unless you pay them well, lots of OT.

Job scope depends if you're hiring them for family or company.

For company, drivers have to run errands like banking or delivering documents and parcels, sometimes. Either using own bike or company provide. Not just driving boss to work or entertainment.

For family, job scope is wider....depends whether to take care family members travelling matters, or help tending garden in the house, washing cars and porch. Sometimes have to take care the house when owner goes overseas.
Mel2
post Oct 14 2022, 01:14 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(Toke @ Oct 14 2022, 10:25 AM)
I think the ratio between malay & indian quite same. Govt or private sector.

I've had indian driver before. The best employee ever. 1st day on job, he ask to check my phone & watch time.. then he adjust his watch & the car time 5 mins before my time.

7 good years.. then he balik kampung to take care for his ailing mother.
Hard to find good drivers.

I know one friend who hired an Indian driver for 30 years. The driver even taught my friend's son to drive when the boy was old enough to get his driving licence. Haha..

We've one with us for a good ten years. Received rewards from our company. But couldn't resist the temptation to pocket a big tip from a guest. We capped a max amount of tip he could take because he was using our cars to ferry our guests. Because of that, he resigned.

It's a blessing in disguise though. Now our driver is a part time fitness coach. He looks like a body guard, handsome sumore..

Well, you may look for Sabahans to work as drivers. They're nice ppl, hardworking.

How much to pay them, really have to see what they can do. Need to factor in their driving skills, personal hygiene, be on time, seldom take leave, etc.

0.0154sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:06 AM