Can recommend me bike for my usage?, Second hand, budget <rm10,000

TSSycamore
post Oct 3 2022, 08:39 AM, updated 4y ago

334 posts

Main use: commute to work. 30km one way. 100% Jalan Negeri. As an alternative to my car.

Occasionally use: about once a month. Masuk kebun. 80% Jalan Negeri, 15% stone road, 5% dirt road.

Good to have, not necessary: want to ride to Thailand from Klang valley. Not sure can do with this motor or not. If cannot nevermind.

Budget: below rm10,000

Second hand is fine. As long as it is working fine.

Edit: maximum 250 cc.

This post has been edited by Sycamore: Oct 3 2022, 09:21 AM
Patent
post Oct 3 2022, 09:07 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

If you want to go that far. thailand-klang valley. maybe a used Dominar D400
If just 30km with masuk kebun, normal kapcai also can
TSSycamore
post Oct 3 2022, 09:19 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 3 2022, 09:07 AM)
If you want to go that far. thailand-klang valley. maybe a used Dominar D400
If just 30km with masuk kebun, normal kapcai also can
Can Dominar D400 masuk kebun? I scare motor berkecai keluar Dari kebun. 🤣

Sorry for asking, I have minimum knowledge on bike.
Patent
post Oct 3 2022, 09:36 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Oct 3 2022, 09:19 AM)

should be possible but need to change tire I guess
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=105083864
TSSycamore
post Oct 3 2022, 11:46 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 3 2022, 09:36 AM)
Macam too hardcore to me. 🤣
jaycee1
post Oct 3 2022, 12:36 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Oct 3 2022, 09:19 AM)

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 3 2022, 09:36 AM)
hahahah....my dominar famous di.

yes, can. But again depends on how bad your kebun roads are. Gravel and light trails can. I do sawit trails all the time.

But if you are going to masuk kebun with bad roads, a kapchai is best with a set of corsa cross X tyres or something even more aggresive. The Dominar is a bit weighty for the soft stuff, especially if you are a bit short on legs. being a single 373cc, its powerful enough low in the rpm range to power through moderate climbs. It will do moderate off road, but wont be necessarily happy to do it due to short suspension travel, ground clearance and relatively top heavy.

But if 250 is your limit, maybe you can explore the TRK251 or Versys 250 with semi off road tyres. Maybe keep your fingers crossed that Suzuki will bring in the Vstrom 250. Other options include the KTM 250 Adventure, but that one has a really tall seat height. Those will do light off roading and be marginally ok for highway travel. But those will be over your 10k budget..

About the only bike you can reasonably find under 10K that you can use for the things you list is the Dominar, but that needs B Full.

Also do note, the first gen Dominar is known to have weak fork seals, so frequent off roading or bumpy roads may cause premature leaking. ....well, they all leak eventually. ...... even when not taken off road.

Another option I was exploring previously is a cheap used first gen Duke 200. Those have very good ground clearance due to the exhaust tucked up above the engine and come in relatively lightweight. All you need is a set of semi off road tyres. But bear in mind old KTMs aren't exactly the pinnacle in reliability.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Oct 3 2022, 01:05 PM
mADmAN
post Oct 3 2022, 01:02 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 3 2022, 12:36 PM)
About the only bike you can reasonably find under 10K that you can use for the things you list is the Dominar, but that needs B Full.
can get z250 for under that budget as wewll n doesnt need b full.

very capable bike including long distance rides. klang valley to thailand has been done by multiple riders already.

for offroad, yeah may need more offroad oriented tires rather street tires. but other than that i think should be fine if the terrain isnt that hardcore
jaycee1
post Oct 3 2022, 01:07 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 3 2022, 01:02 PM)
can get z250 for under that budget as wewll n doesnt need b full.

very capable bike including long distance rides. klang valley to thailand has been done by multiple riders already.

for offroad, yeah may need more offroad oriented tires rather street tires. but other than that i think should be fine if the terrain isnt that hardcore
yes forgot about that one.

But if going off road, maybe the Cheaper z250SL single will be better. Cheaper and lower rpm torque curve.
mADmAN
post Oct 3 2022, 02:47 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 3 2022, 01:07 PM)
yes forgot about that one.

But if going off road, maybe the Cheaper z250SL single will be better. Cheaper and lower rpm torque curve.
god no... the SL series are lemons..... avoid at all costs.....

single cylinder 250s doesnt really fare well from what ive noticed other than the old CBR250 and SYM T2
jaycee1
post Oct 3 2022, 03:04 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 3 2022, 02:47 PM)
god no... the SL series are lemons..... avoid at all costs.....

single cylinder 250s doesnt really fare well from what ive noticed other than the old CBR250 and SYM T2
interesting.

A supervisor of mine has an SL, which he upgraded from his old Fz150. seems problem free. Luck of the pick?

Seems the single would fair better for off road compared to the 12000rpm redline of the twin. But i would prefer the single over the twin for low speed off road use.

I was always under the impression people avoided and bad mouth the SL because for a few K more, they can get the excellent twin. Didn't know there were lemons.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Oct 3 2022, 03:10 PM
mADmAN
post Oct 3 2022, 03:47 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 3 2022, 03:04 PM)
interesting.

A supervisor of mine has an SL, which he upgraded from his old Fz150. seems problem free. Luck of the pick?

Seems the single would fair better for off road compared to the 12000rpm redline of the twin. But i would prefer the single over the twin for low speed off road use.
I was always under the impression people avoided and bad mouth the SL because for a few K more, they can get the excellent twin. Didn't know there were lemons.
Considering ts usage is minimal off roading....hell be happier with the twin i think

Yeah...before buying my z250 i researched the SL series....scared me off....multiple issues including a few broken cranks
Strike Eureka
post Oct 3 2022, 06:14 PM

128 posts

modenas ns pulsar 200 la....can modify change the engine to 500cc nobody knows also

cc: iambryan1234
TSSycamore
post Oct 3 2022, 10:43 PM

334 posts

Thanks guys I got Alot recommendations. Will do some research first.

It seems like one of the more important thing for bringing these bikes off road is the Tyre, right?
alexei
post Oct 4 2022, 10:43 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Oct 3 2022, 10:43 PM)

It seems like one of the more important thing for bringing these bikes off road is the Tyre, right?
depends what kind of off-road. If wet muddy type, then nothing lightweight, powerful bike with suitable tyres and skills.
if just grass, dried leaves, gravel, or sandy patch, even normal tyres can handle
jaycee1
post Oct 4 2022, 12:40 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Oct 3 2022, 10:43 PM)

Yes, Just mostly tyres. Tyres for 250s are cheap and easy to find. I'm using Corsa crossX fronts and on my 2nd Zeneos turino already.

Both time to change. My rears are nearly on the wearbars after 10k and the fronts are scalloping badly after 20k, which is normal for semi off road tyres.. Both are decent budget tyres from Indonesia.

Try to pick a bike with ABS. But might be difficult to find an older 2nd hand 250 with ABS. That was one of the reason I got the Dominar, it was the cheapest "big" bike with ABS.
iambryan1234
post Oct 4 2022, 11:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Strike Eureka @ Oct 3 2022, 06:14 PM)
modenas ns pulsar 200 la....can modify change the engine to 500cc nobody knows also

cc: iambryan1234
You're referring to an engine swap, technically 373cc

Dominar and Pulsar uses similar engine covers, so unless you go to PUSPAKOM it'll just look stock.

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Oct 4 2022, 11:51 PM
jaycee1
post Oct 5 2022, 10:43 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(iambryan1234 @ Oct 4 2022, 11:51 PM)
You're referring to an engine swap, technically 373cc

Dominar and Pulsar uses similar engine covers, so unless you go to PUSPAKOM it'll just look stock.
Why would anyone bother to swap out engine? Must as well just buy the bigger dominar.

Not worth the risk for a mismatch engine block if anything happens unless you did die also don't want to take the full B license.
iambryan1234
post Oct 5 2022, 10:52 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 5 2022, 10:43 AM)
Why would anyone bother to swap out engine? Must as well just buy the bigger dominar.

Not worth the risk for a mismatch engine block if anything happens unless you did die also don't want to take the full B license.
Road tax and insurance stuff aside, Dominar is heavy as fuck for a 400cc. Swapping out the engine on a Pulsar means I have to deal with less weight and still run with an engine that is not as stressed at 120kmh on meter. Certainly sounds more reliable than the more common way of porting and boring up the Pulsar's engine. The bike itself has shit for resale value anyway. 2017 Pulsars go as low as 3-4k these days if you're lucky. Earlier Dominars are about 7-8k these days, 10k if you're buying the UG ones. By the time I actually beat the shit out of the stock 200 engine and perform the engine swap price would probably have dropped even lower.

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Oct 5 2022, 11:01 AM
B0ss_ku
post Oct 18 2022, 08:26 PM

280 posts

Wave 125 / LC 135

Change tyre to corsa cross S if want masuk kebun

Install rack and modified side panel box and external tank if want to travel long distance.

This post has been edited by B0ss_ku: Oct 18 2022, 08:27 PM

0.0211sec    0.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:11 PM