[V33] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

miong93
post Jul 29 2023, 01:24 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

Hi all sifus,

I'm totally new to custom mkb, any recommendation for a TKL or full size keyboard with budget of RM500 max?

I got a few preference, not sure its do-able or not:
- Hot-swappable, as I will try out new switch & keycap in future
- Decent board, as above reason, will only change board if it spoiled
- I type a lot in dark, so prefer to have backlit with shine through keycaps on legend (but not bleed a lot like image below). Too bad I'm not touch type kind of guy sad.gif
- I prefer to have PBT keycaps, as I like the feel better, but is okay to have ABS, just need to rajin to change them once they "shine" tongue.gif
- I'm okay with both north / south facing, if south facing I can go with side facing keycaps with shine through also

If got fully assembled one I'm fine also, but I need some recommendation (especially on what brand is decent for what part etc etc), as I'm quite new to this, so want to get some reliable parts.
I try not to go for those gaming series as I don't need most of those fancy feature, i prefer a plain keyboard layout. And I also assume those gaming keyboard can't really provide much flexibility for changing switch/keycaps etc (do correct me if I'm wrong).

Backlit Bleeding:

Preferred backlit (okay if there minimum bleeding, but not like above which will blind my eyes tongue.gif ):

miong93
post Sep 2 2023, 08:16 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

Any good pbt keycap brand to suggest? Style more toward gray/white/black kind of combination. I dont mind clone as long the keycaps are thick enough (ard 1.4mm?) and wont have typo.

Dont really have a lot to go for gmk, budget max around 200. Tried looking at akko shopee shop, a lot are sold out, those still in stock not to my liking.. Haha

Ps: im experiencing diff keycap profile also, so im open to any profile as well.
miong93
post Sep 2 2023, 06:10 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 2 2023, 01:24 PM)
for cherry profile thick pbt, you can find shenpo and xmi at shopee. i mainly stick to cherry profile.

i believe there are other brands that make thick pbt keycaps, but i haven't tried them out yet, so no comment.
Thanks for the reco. Do you mind share the shopee store of those 2 you brought from? I did a search saw quite a lot seller, some even sell for rm50, not sure which 1 is "legit" 😅
miong93
post Sep 2 2023, 11:31 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

Thanks! Also mind sharing your taobao seller ?

I might get it from taobao if its cheaper there. In shopee i saw too many shop selling, so not really sure which one source from the actual brand.

As its RM100++ so if can at least get from the real shop will be better, else will just need to gamble a bit.. haha

This post has been edited by miong93: Sep 2 2023, 11:32 PM

0.0582sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:48 PM