Can't survive anywhere [ 5 ] ** [17.24%]
Total Votes: 29
Guests cannot vote 

earshore
post Sep 21 2022, 01:11 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Sep 14 2022, 07:12 PM)
have a degree in engineering, been working a few years, i lost count of how many jobs i changed, primary reason is social skill issue, consider me autistic.

My working experience -

Contractors: worked for a few contractors, i get famous as a weirdo in each one of them, i resigned from them within a few months

Consultant: worked for 2 consultants. got fired from 1, the boss said my people don't want to work with me. resigned from 1 because people say boss no assign job to me cuz i look like idiot.

Facility manager at mall: People complain i too quiet during lunch, i resigned

Tech: a career switch, getting paid 2k internship salary, promised a salary higher than i have ever drawn after 1 year. The workforce is very young and i am the among oldest, the job has a lot freedom, people don't have the typical corporate behavior here and people rarely care about others. My personality seems to be acceptable here because no one cares about each other. The company receives grants/projects, assign to each of us, we do our own researches on how to do and do our own thing

I have no tech background, not sure how sustainable is this employment and not sure how serious is the promise and i actually kind of like consultant job so I applied for draftsman at consultant thinking my autism won't hinder much but the boss gave me engineer position

So should i continue the tech internship or go for the consultant job? again? I only like my tech job because of the freedom

engineer at consultant has risks cuz the interviewer emphasized meetings etc. I haven't been completely honest about my personality and history. I think my behavior is acceptable to the tech company, i don't think traditional workplace can accept

or other career strategies? currently late 20s
what kind of work do you do as an engineering consultant?
earshore
post Sep 21 2022, 11:33 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Sep 21 2022, 11:30 AM)
Engineer
that is hugely revealing
earshore
post Sep 29 2022, 09:09 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Sep 27 2022, 12:13 PM)
I don’t have computing degree, I’m not sure whether I will have the same career path

I can’t really speak well, it affects discussion as well. It really depends on whether the other persons are intolerant of any sign of anomalies, when I have older colleagues they tend to see it as them being heavily affected by having to work with me therefore forming strong opinions about me, sometimes appearance alone can put them off
can you share a picture of yourself?
earshore
post Sep 29 2022, 09:10 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Sep 26 2022, 11:59 PM)
Didn’t know you need a license to work for gov

I’m not bumi tho
no lah, SPA refers to Public Services Commission of Malaysia (Malay: Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam Malaysia), abbreviated SPA or PSC

go here https://spa9.spa.gov.my/login

0.0457sec    0.31    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:27 PM