Screwed up my IT degree. Need help

Moshpit94
post Nov 5 2022, 12:44 AM

371 posts

IT is not just about programming.. the fundamental you learn is logical thinking and technology…

For job, you can easily switch to what you want to do. My class last time combine ICT & BIS from utp. From 120+ people only 5 people end up doing programming, the rest ada go HR, ada go Consultancy, even ada dah jadi calon PRU 😂.

So my advice is to finish your FYP. Your FYP does not require to code. You just need to develop a proof of concept product, minimum viable product. There’s tons of stuff online can help you build the product easily and it is called low code no code solution and most of the organisation are moving towards this solution.

Back then my FYP is about coding a Braille hardware for the blind to interpret HTML image for blind people. I DID NOT put a single line of code at all since the Braille hardware is not an open source. All I did is I made a simple prototype using drag and drop but I’m more focused on the value, impact, respondent to not left this disable people behind.

I presented my product to Lecturer and corporate people and I did manage to get A-. Include some of those corp people pmed me to work with them and want to collab to make this idea became true. All I did is a simple slide, lengthy proposal, and Photoshop UI/UX (back then no Figma/Adobe XD).

Stress out the importance of your product and value is moreee important than showing your capability to code. Because all they need to know HOW you can implement this logic and what’s the value proposition.

Once you have grad, go with your own path, Business, HR, consultancy etc. most of the IT in malaysia pun rely on vendor to implement, you’ll be more toward analyst to define requirements… but if you go startup of course it is expected to do hardcore programming…

It is never too late, I have a colleague who is superb programmer with 7+ years experience, now he became HR headhunter for IT related because he said less stress… so yeah… never too late. Just go on and enjoy, kalau lepas, lepas lah. X lepas cuba lagi. This is learning process, chill.

0.0175sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:23 PM