Screwed up my IT degree. Need help
SUSMyProLife
Sep 11 2022, 07:09 AM, updated 3y ago
Update: finished and graduated already so case closed QUOTE I am 24 and now in final year of IT degree in a private university i cannot say due to privacy concerns
But i can share the name of degree course anyway, it titled Business information systems
Now that I almost finished everything but only thing stuck is final year project
However I am struggling to ever finish my project because
I already lost my interest into programming over these covid times
I cannot ever write a line of code at all. Of course i can learn online, but still I don't like reading at documentation of that particular language
My current project have been in "development hell" for couple of years. It about a PC programming with web elements
Should I just abandoned the degree, or try negotiating with supervisor about changing the project to another like web app or mobile app, but i still worry that such thing might be too much for me to handle
If i abandoned degree and find a job instead, will be hard to find or just something like property insurance agent? (I never try on such thing ever yet)
So what now? Money bleeding still stuck at project that never get progress since couple years ago
Ps: already undergone the internship between such things last year
Anything to add on myself i will edit later
Edit: seems like this OP sounds too desperate that most responses suggest to find or hire someone for help. actually my project is at least partially done with some part of report completed and crude prototype that reversed from somewhere on GitHub. but maybe i will start it from scratch with another title and project type and then hire someone for help. thanks ya This post has been edited by MyProLife: Oct 29 2023, 10:18 AM
a13solut3
Sep 11 2022, 07:55 AM
Probably not a good idea but I've seen expert for hiring to complete FYP.
viole
Sep 11 2022, 08:00 AM
Or just change project.
moiskyrie
Sep 11 2022, 08:07 AM
just finish the project... dont abandoned the degree as you can use it to find job in future as add on.. search online for similar system and learn how to mod the code to you own....
GOPI56
Sep 11 2022, 08:08 AM
Do not take final year project too seriously, do not burden yourself by doing FYP projects which are too complex. They do not care actually.
A simple and functional systems , etc which can solve several problem statements will do.
I have seen many students hiring external people to complete their FYP projects. Ethically it is not a right thing to do but who cares...🤣🤣
Drinho22
Sep 11 2022, 08:25 AM

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Sep 11 2022, 08:08 AM) Do not take final year project too seriously, do not burden yourself by doing FYP projects which are too complex. They do not care actually. A simple and functional systems , etc which can solve several problem statements will do. I have seen many students hiring external people to complete their FYP projects. Ethically it is not a right thing to do but who cares...🤣🤣 This. I have the same issue just like TS back when I was in Uni, and so I just simplify the project and went online to get those YouTube tutorial where the person showing you how to build a simple system from scratch and it works. So I managed to graduate.
dp82
Sep 11 2022, 08:31 AM
Hire an expert to settle it. You just need to "finish" your degree and move on. I dont suggest you to give up your degree since you are almost there.
Goodluck
vinoth
Sep 11 2022, 08:44 AM
Change the project or get someone to do it .. you’re almost at the finish line … if this is a parents funded degree, then I suggest u do them a favor by completing it , regardless you’ll be working in the field or not .
This post has been edited by vinoth: Sep 11 2022, 08:45 AM
ShadowR1
Sep 11 2022, 09:07 AM
Do whatever it take to finish it, it's the last hurdle.
jueiri
Sep 11 2022, 09:12 AM

Serious advice, dun abondon your degree. Juz finish it no matter wat the cost. You may find it useful latter on.
metalfire
Sep 11 2022, 09:16 AM
Just finish it, get the degree and move forward from then on.
SUSBlackagar Boltagon
Sep 11 2022, 10:03 AM

Bro u just 10% away from completion and u want to quit. It makes a lot of difference between degree and no degree u know.
Just try to ask for a simpler fyp and complete ur degree just for the sake of the paper.
KcX35
Sep 11 2022, 10:06 AM
if you really struggle to complete your FYP, just pay some1 to complete it, its not worth giving up the degree after spending so many years
and after you graduate, you can switch to other IT stuff apart from coding or even field
Sep 11 2022, 10:12 AM
finish your course. as someone who dropped out, cant stress enough the importance of that piece of paper when applying for jobs. though now im running my own biz, somewhere in the back of my head i still wish i had a cert to fall back on in case things go south (like PKP)
silverhawk
Eyes on Target
Just give up.
You're not going to use your "degree" anyway after this, so why bother with the stress?
xtreme_paranoid
Discuss with your lecturer/counselor how to finish it In this final year. Its too late Take it as an expensive experience for ur life
Manuk1188
Sep 11 2022, 10:41 AM

Just finish the course. I know you didn't paid for yourself. You are too late to say no.....
Else you joined an mnc with skills or experience after accumulated from various.
Or
You get the degree n joined a government post.
Zoo Howl
Sep 11 2022, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(KcX35 @ Sep 11 2022, 10:06 AM) if you really struggle to complete your FYP, just pay some1 to complete it, its not worth giving up the degree after spending so many years and after you graduate, you can switch to other IT stuff apart from coding or even field Usually how much it costs to pay someone to do your FYP?
Enjoise
Sep 11 2022, 10:49 AM
dont bodo la , abandon degree just because FYP? push it through, get help
exorthexquas
Sep 11 2022, 11:19 AM

Don't do what I did when I was young while abandoning my degree during 21 because of first love heartbroken. Now I'm regretting not completing it and redoing it under part time degree.. I've bare the cost more.
Bite the bullet and complete it. Hire someone to do the fyp or pm me.
Think outside of the box, you don't necessarily need to complete the fyp. Answers are out there in Google.com or some pros can do for some cash. Rather than you spend it for entertainment, finish it.
Best advice I can tell to my younger self is complete the degree asap.