USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

boyboycute
post Apr 1 2024, 01:21 PM

550 posts

I hope my fellow Malaysian in Singapore will continue to work harder till the end of life , to maintain the upwards trajectory of the Singapore dollar.

boyboycute
post Aug 5 2024, 11:01 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 2 2024, 05:21 PM)
SGD 3.39
USD 4.49

I feel like a fool for fomo converting few months back when ath. Haihz.
Unker just wanna share very important message to those who like to TT to Singapork

When Unker started to roam the Unker, young fella probably still breast feeding.

If only young fella listen to Unker last month, they won't be sitting in losses today.

Now they lost the EPF dividend plus FX losses...Kesian

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109741680
boyboycute
post Aug 5 2024, 12:35 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 5 2024, 12:16 PM)
Temporary only. See where is RM Vs USD and SGD 10y ago. Always think long term and not short term.
Unker don't have crystal ball. No one can predict the future anyway. But a 5% dividend from EPF is real money in Unker's pocket.

Maybe Ramjade is still young and and can hold SGD much longer. Unker's time is running out.

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Aug 5 2024, 12:36 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 6 2024, 01:17 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 26 2024, 12:23 PM)
That's what majority of people does. Buy back when it's stable. Sounds familiar? Buy back when it is stable = market already move up by a lot. Same concept. If the rate is good, just buy. I am never the guy to buy when it's stable. I buy when things are falling.

For conversion of RM, it's different. I will keep converting out regardless the latest exchange rate once I got my money ready to transfer.

If current rate is 5, I will also convert out. I don't keep ringgit.
Pity to see someone kept on fighting the market
boyboycute
post Sep 6 2024, 01:20 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 1 2024, 11:55 PM)
ASNB "silently" release ASM units for new subscription...

So those want to "diversify" into "safe investment" from USD / SGD... Can do so now 😎

But I doubt anyone would....

USD / SGD is "first class" currencies around 💪
First class?

Ringgit kept on getting stronger than "first class" currencies
boyboycute
post Sep 6 2024, 02:28 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 6 2024, 01:20 PM)
his timeframe different from yours
Sometimes, people overestimate themselves to predict the long term results. Unker will stick to 5% dividend from EPF every year.

Unker don't have crystal ball. No one can predict the future anyway..
boyboycute
post Sep 6 2024, 06:49 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 6 2024, 03:35 PM)
Who me?  Think long term. 10-20y down the road, where will RM be? People told me 4.2 is expensive to convert USD and 3.0 is expensive to convert SGD. I just continue to convert.

Also my payout all increasing automatically every year by minimally 15% without me needing to inject new cash.
As long as you know you are losing future purchasing power to inflation and depreciation of ringgit and you are ok with that, then go ahead. For me, I am not ok.

I cannot see my hard earn money depreciate with time. I need to do something to protect it.

Also I aim to touch my money say around 47-50 years old. I am not going to wait until 55 years old to use my EPF.
Over the years, Unker have seen many amateurs investors fight the market and continue to average down to reduce cost basis. Their reasoning is always "I invest for long term". Unker pity them. They're stuck with their own reasoning. Similar to those who chased sky high property prices years ago

Unker have been through probably 3 recession and have seen many invincible assets go to dirt prices. Unker think you also DCA into S&P500 religiously.

One day, when your portfolio is decimated, you can PM to learn from Unker. Unker can't help all your followers. Bookmark this post. You'll need it one day. Unker pray for you and your hard earned money.

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 8 2024, 10:55 AM
boyboycute
post Sep 8 2024, 10:50 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 6 2024, 09:28 PM)
not taking sides... as I always believe in diversification.

but the first part of the sentence of your last para... implies malaysia will be performing so so so well that in order for someone's portfolio, which is heavily invested in non-ringgit assets, to be decimated, it would need ringgit to appreciate by 1000% vs all major currencies in the world. Essentially Malaysia will be a major financial superhouse....
Can Unker boyboy share how that can happen? I do like to see a difference of option in investment view.
Unker doesn't have crystal ball except for two saggy ones. Unker cannot predict the future unlike you who can see the demise of your own country. It's similar to those who left US and UK and said their own country is going to collapse.

Unker doesn't have the superman ability to see that far. God will laugh if Unker forecast more than a year. What Unker can do is to check EPF account dividend every year and estimate how much Unker is going to make via dividend versus someone who Kung Fu their money here and there thinking they know what's going to happen.

Like what Unker said in previous posts, Unker doesn't know how to use Excel but using common sense, Unker knows EPF dividend is going to surpass all returns from FX gain and cost. This doesn't include emotional anguish watching MYR continue to appreciate against SGD after transferring money to Singapore. You can read Unker common sense here.

On diversification, Unker fully support it. Everyone must diversify. But problem here is some experts are advocating "FULLY DIVERSIFY AWAY" from Malaysia and justify that whatever they're doing is true diversification.

Unker was suspended for a month because trying to advocate different point of view. Looks like this forum is turning into a homogeneous forum.

If you check all Unker posts, Unker tried to give "wake up call" many times before the SGDMYR massive collapse but no one cares. They reported Unker many times and when after SGDMYR collapsed, Unker came back and reminded everyone how much money they have lost transferring money to SGD including EPF dividend and related costs.
Unker kena suspended.

Unker is only a messenger. Unker doesn't cause the collapse in SGDMYR. Don't kill the messenger. Don't be sore losers

boyboycute
post Sep 8 2024, 11:03 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 6 2024, 09:31 PM)
If you buy subpar companies and average down, that's a stupid move.

If you buy high quality companies with no debts and gross profit margin of money 40% for past 3 and 5 years and increasing dividend payout at 15%p.a, cannot go wrong  I don't do S&P500 but I walk the the talk and not just NATO. I buy companies with the above criteria regardless where they are.

I learnt from not one teachers and one of them is buffet. He said don't against the American economy and the S&P500. He is right.

I will come back after 10 years and see who is right.
Your crystal ball is very clear and can see 10 years ahead. Unker is not that good. Old fart already.

Unker is not concerned about who's right because Unker may no longer have another 10 years.But common sense already tell Unker which one will outperform on "a per unit of risk basis."

EPF consistent 5% per year & its SNOWBALL compounding effect is very hard to fight. Common sense only. Don't need a spreadsheet

boyboycute
post Sep 9 2024, 05:18 PM

550 posts

Unker understand everyone is making their best guesstimate based on facts and figures to make financial decisions. In the past, Unker also did whatever you guys are doing.
Unfortunately, market always discount the future. A very good example is when Ringgit is dropping like stone last few years, many panic and transfer a lot of money to Singapore at very high FX.
They're all sitting on losses now. Hopefully, they're able to use their SGD to invest in something to offset their losses. All in all, they introduced a lot of risk and uncertainty into their portfolio. Not everyone can transfer to SGD and immediately choose a winning investment to offset SGDMYR losses.
Most will likely get deeper in red by investing their SGD in bad investment. Some transfer to SGD to DCA into SP500 and sitting on good return now. But Unker is talking about return per unit of risk.
When investors kungfu their money here and there, they introduced additional risk into their portfolio, making their portfolio more volatile.
A slow & steady 5% per year will eventually win the race as the world is becoming more volatile

The key in building wealth is not to make the best prediction. It's USING THE POWER OF COMPOUNDING. Unker has roamed the earth many decades to realise that and hope to pass on the wisdom

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 9 2024, 05:22 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 10 2024, 09:36 AM

550 posts

If you look how much EPF received from voluntary contribution after the limit increased to RM100k, you'll know that many members are very confident in EPF despite all the grey areas you mentioned.

Market is telling Unker EPF is safe and Unker have to listen to it. Market is usually right.

Trying to outperform EPF CONSISTENTLY is a fool's errant, unless you have a team of traders and analyst around you.
boyboycute
post Sep 10 2024, 03:21 PM

550 posts

Again Unker doesn't have crystal ball. Maybe someone here have superb ability to predict the ending of EPF and Malaysia.

Unker heard similarities of such arguments in 1980s when rich fella sent their money, wife , kids and mistress to UK because the future was brighter there.

Read more here. Unker eyes blurred trying to type so much on Lowyat forum

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 10 2024, 03:22 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 10 2024, 04:51 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 10 2024, 04:21 PM)
Oooo. 1980s should be long enough to see any long term pattern.

Since this is a usdmyr thread. Fx is an indicator rite? This seems to be what we all here are indicating.

what was 1980s gbpmyr rate?
On same token, what was SGDMYR and usdmyr back in 1980s?
For added measure, audmyr also in 1980s.
Trying to compare developed countries currencies vs developing country like Ringgit is like trying to compare UK vs US or UK vs Australia when those countries were still in developing stage.

All developed countries were once "developing countries" in the past. Unker is not saying that our country is perfect. In fact, no country is perfect.

A better measurement is purchasing power parity of your currency locally. Just take a look at the living conditions of average Joe in US, Australia and Singapore. Are they living a better life over time? Does stronger currency translate into the prosperity of US, Australia and Singapore? If yes, how come many of them migrated to South East Asia including Malaysia?

Do you know most Singaporean live in HDB? Most Malaysian live on landed properties.
Do you know Australian & UK are suffering now due to high inflation ? Many can't afford to buy a home in their own country. Many tent cities for homeless are in US and Australia. Kesian ....
Looks like their capitalism policy doesn't work for everyone.

In Malaysia,Unker see so many nice new luxury cars flying around these days. Malaysian are going for vacation 3 times a year. Family eating out every day.We're certainly living in golden era despite whatever the media said about Malaysia. Anyone can massage the statistics to fit their own objectives. Most importantly, what's your reality living in Malaysia?

It's better to live like a" King in a small country " than living like a peasant in a big country.

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 10 2024, 04:59 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 10 2024, 06:27 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 10 2024, 05:36 PM)
I actually have the impression that gbpmyr was like between 3 to 4.while audmyr was a lot closer to below 2.
1980s that is. Then again, i was a baby then. So definitely no memory at all. Haha.
EPF dividend will easily surpass whatever FX gain. Just common sense compounding
boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 11:08 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 10 2024, 09:31 PM)
EPF past average is 6%. So every 12 years double the money.

1980 to 2024 is 44 years. Close to 48 years. We make it 4 cycles of doubling.

16x because 2x then 4x then 8x and 16x

So 400k basically becomes 6.4 mil today's money.

I think he's just trying to say the power of compounding the 8th wonder of the world. Forex exchange mmg cannot beat power of compounding.
Thank you @gashout for getting Unker's point here. Unker look at return per unit of risk. When someone transfer to UK or SG, he is unlikely to park it in FD only. His choice would be corporate bond or the stock market. Both entails higher risk than EPF. While EPF may face inflation and Gov policy risk, it has very little cost and fees.

Kungfu here and there incurred charges, fees and costs. Not forgetting more white hair. BTW, Unker no longer have hair anymore. If u invest wrongly, you can kiss goodbye to your money.

Over 30 years, while you Kungfu here, Tai chi there, doing split, Karate punch, Boxing hook etc....Unker sitting in Kopitiam kacau kopi and eat Char Kiuh Tiow, playing with grand children and blow water with neighbors.
Then, by miracle, EPF's power of compounding surpassed your portfolio by a mile.

Rule No 1 is Don't lose money.
Rule No 2 is Compound Consistently.

Both rules are very hard to achieve by individual investors, unless you're the next Warren B.

boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 01:54 PM

550 posts

Unker
55% Properties (down from 90%). Cashing out from big gains since 2014. Took so long to liquidate them.

25% EPF. Planning to pump in more since FD rates going down

15% FD, Bond, Stocks (local and foreign)

5% Speculative stuffs like options, crypto to spice up life but not too much until heart attack

Unker used to ride on "Properties" to compound like crazy. But the market have turned into frenzy in 2014...so, Unker remember 97/98 , same stuff happening....Since then, pumping all the proceeds into EPF.....getting good dividend on those profits....

Old already. Got to keep what Unker have made in the past.

Unker used to work 16 hours a day...running multiple business (construction and property)

Unker sad to see young fella struggling to buy properties from Unker. Lowered down price 10% so they can get 100% loan...zero deposit....They should be able to make money after 30 years , when Unker is long gone

After retirement, Unker found out that Unker doesn't really spend much...Contrary to popular belief, old fart like Unker doesn't actually spend much. Unker may have over saved and overworked in the past. You don't actually need much money than you actually think when you're old. A lot of expenses suddenly disappear..

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 11 2024, 02:08 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 03:33 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Sep 11 2024, 02:35 PM)
More than half of your networth is not in EPF and you advised others to go all in?  There's no hard and fast rules when it comes to investing.  I started investing about the same time as Ramjade and it has been fulfilling so far with my non-EPF investments matching up in figure to EPF.
Unker used to have large proportion in EPF like 60% while properties 30%. Then , from 2009 until 2014, property prices catch up so fast and overtook EPF. At one time, Unker was shocked to see property represented 90% of Unker wealth.

So, Unker rebalance by selling off those properties which have appreciated a lot but low yield. Very hard to liquidate.

boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 03:50 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 11 2024, 03:35 PM)
It can be hard, especially if (like I am) one is conditioned to work hard, save harder for that rainy day, since day one - because your own country (much less the world) doesn't owe you a living... but, at the end of the day, money that is not spent is really not enjoyed, is it?
True.

Unfortunately, it's like a curse

Unker tried to eat more nice food. But at the end, kena stomach ulcers. Tried to buy nice car. But drive to where leh...? Kids all grown up already. Tried to fly here and there. At the end, Unker find best place is still own country.

Unker just wanted to advise young fellas not to overworked and over saved. At the end, it's your children and wife or mistress who are going to benefit.
boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 04:07 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 11 2024, 03:35 PM)
Spoken like a man with experience. That's why I know we are around the same age, because when it comes to properties, I share your perspective.
Unker went through 3 or 4 recession already. Unker have seen this movie before. In the past, Unker invested in lands... thinking wanted to become a developer later in life. EPF savings use to buffer the land investment just in case, oil palm old low yield.

Lost a lot money in stocks during the 1985 and Asian currency crisis. Almost got smoked.

Luckily, still have land and EPF. Unker got lucky past 15 years when bull run in property sector started. Unker think it's due to hot money from Japan carry trade. Japan launched the bazooka and printed unlimited amount of money. Some of that money came into our country.

Unker just got lucky. Unker is not smart enough to predict the future. Lost so much money in stocks to learn that eventually. Whatever mistakes and investors should not have done, Unker did them all and paid for it.

Unker sold some of the lands and developed some of it into residential and industrial properties. Things are going too hot now. Unker seen this movie before. Things usually looks good before shit hits the fans.

Unker hiding in EPF for now. Unker don't like hot and crowded investment.

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 11 2024, 04:23 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 04:58 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Sep 11 2024, 04:25 PM)
30% in property suddenly represented 90% of your wealth if I read correctly.  If so, Unker made it via the property market propulsion, making majority of the gains outside of EPF; not really depending on  EPF's compounding  tongue.gif

But if I am I at your age, I would agree with you, to park most of the proceeds into EPF, but alas socio-eco & macros change..

Also lately noticed that gov is directing EPF, PNB, KWAP, other funds to invest into this and that (google news yourself), which I flag as risk to my EPF's portfolio...there's no way for us to mitigate the risk, having no direct say in these. As such, I'll not park extra contribution into EPF other than regulated as salaried employee, revisiting this in future again when I am at your age perhaps?
Unker hiding in EPF. It's the safest vehicle which give great yield. Although it may face inflation and policy risk, there's no equivalent vehicle for old fart like Unker.

Unker is not aiming to outperform the market at this age especially in the current environment. S&P500 and KLCI can go up 10000 points. It didn't matter to Unker anymore.

But whenever blood is on the street & Unker smell opportunities in property again, Unker would not hesitate to withdraw from EPF to take advantage of it. This would be Unker last recession before Unker leave the world to young generations.

Unker seen this movie before. Unker have been going around advising young fellas to avoid the all time high investment .As usual, Unker kena suspended .But Unker doesn't have crystal ball and hopefully, Unker is wrong and the party continues to rock.

Unker got nothing to lose. Unker earning 5% consistently in EPF if the market continues to rally.

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 11 2024, 05:01 PM

0.0283sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:15 PM