USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 05:09 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Sep 11 2024, 05:00 PM)
Unker has great insights. Although im not that long in the market, but yeah i've seen cyclicals - in various sectors (stocks), cryptos etc. What went up hard, came down hard too.
Unker know some people like FUNdaMENTAL. Unker called it "FUN with mental". Don't get Unker the wrong way. Fundamentals work during normal market.

When the party ends, all asset correlation goes to 1 in early stage.

Unker seen it with both eyes during 97 crisis.

Great asset selling at shit prices. No one have money.

Unker met a Professional Engineer with IR during the 97 crisis. He has a Master's degree too. Highly experience and qualified. Jobless and have to sell insurance. Unker also suffer but luckily, oil palm doing well. Unker bought some insurance from him.

Unker hope more young fellas can benefit from Unker experience and become richer picking up great investment at bargain next few years

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Sep 11 2024, 05:10 PM
boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 08:24 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Sep 11 2024, 05:17 PM)
hows the asset allocation would u suggest to youngster say one in his early 30s?
also any suggestion what asset shall youngster buy, like watches etc or go for nice food/travel? (for experience purpose)
For a starter, don't get financial advice from anyone including Unker.

Be really good in whatever you are doing now.

Once you're ready, start your own business. Don't become employee for Life.

Take risk and work for 12 to 16 hours.

Save your money in EPF. Don't trust any Guru

Since your capital base is small at 30s, keep it to invest in your own business. Or just keep in EPF for safety.

With most assets at all time high, there's no undervalued stuff to buy. Unker wouldn't advise you to build a portfolio now.

There's time for everything. There's time to plant a tree. There's time to harvest them. Now, it's not the time to invest in anything yet.

Wait patiently . And then, pounce like alligator

boyboycute
post Sep 11 2024, 08:58 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 11 2024, 07:38 PM)
This thread has gone way off topic, never mind, the mods will come in soon...  laugh.gif
There's no thread for old farts like Unker to chit chat on finance. Kopitiam is too crowded.

Unker may get suspended again.
boyboycute
post Sep 18 2024, 11:40 AM

550 posts

Unker can see many crystal balls here.

Just don't keep on averaging down and fight with the market.

Let everything stabilise first then go in for the big kill
boyboycute
post Sep 21 2024, 01:38 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2024, 01:35 PM)
And pay world wide income tax? Sorry. Not going to happen .
No need common sense. Look at numbers and picture. Go xe.com.  Look at SGD/MYR. Look at 10y chart. SGD will keep going up Vs RM.
Can FX gain surpass the power of compounding of EPF?
boyboycute
post Sep 21 2024, 01:39 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Sep 20 2024, 02:32 PM)
I don't have crystal ball

But let's wait I am sure someone will tell you past 10 years MYR depreciating and will keep depreciating

I don't like big ups and downs so just put in low risk MYR investment cukup makan sudah whistling.gif
It's normal for human to do straight line projection
boyboycute
post Sep 23 2024, 09:54 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 23 2024, 09:47 AM)
When decision is made.

Be firm & no turning back...

Even you feel that it's "such loss to convert at high price level"...

Since you already started long time...
Just DCA only lorh 👌
Continue to averaging down when the market is telling you that you're wrong is FIGHTING THE MARKET.

Unker have paid a lot of tuition fees to learn not to do that.

Hopefully, young fellas here don't do the similar mistakes and becoming bag holders.

Let the market stabilise first and start buying
boyboycute
post Sep 23 2024, 11:48 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 23 2024, 11:31 AM)
U n Ramjade r of higher level, i langsung tak faham.
They're both bag holders
boyboycute
post Sep 27 2024, 07:14 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 27 2024, 03:18 PM)
It is actually bad for me, very bad because the diff is huge (4.3 vs 4.7, can get 50k -100k lesser). But i was glad i converted a lot of usd to myr when it was at 4.5-4.7

High chance the upcoming usd income will be kept inside usd account until it can be back to at least 4.5, treat as long term investment. Really never expected Myr could be back to 4.1 from 4.7 within such a short period.
Unker is glad that you didn't fight the market. Many fella continue to average down as USDMYR continue to weakened.

Unker pity them. Tried to warn them but they kept on saying long term is alright.

The phrase "long term" should not even enter the equation when investors are losing money
boyboycute
post Sep 27 2024, 07:18 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Sep 25 2024, 11:53 AM)
Not going to lie, very surprised how much USD has dropped. Also a bit regret that I fomo last time.

Now the question is when will it stabilize. When it goes up, I keep telling myself that I buy a bag when it dips. Then when it dips, I tell myself that I will just wait a more. Just a little lower. Haihz. I don't have much bullets though, takes me few months to save up RM10k for change so need to make it count the most.
Be careful when looking for investment advice in Lowyat. A lot of snakes here
boyboycute
post Oct 2 2024, 01:16 PM

550 posts

When u throw a dead cat from a tall building, it will bounce after hitting a concrete floor. That's what happening to SGDMYR right now. More downsides coming , possibly heading lower
boyboycute
post Oct 3 2024, 09:39 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Oct 2 2024, 04:10 PM)
Either way, too soon, too much is not good.
Because most fella are fighting the market. Unker think they got smoked. Margin calls. Short squeeze etc
boyboycute
post Oct 29 2024, 12:20 PM

550 posts

A lot of people like to fight the market now. Once Ringgit weakened a bit, they quickly convert to USD or SGD.

Unker doesn't have much time but Unker is patient enough to let the dead cat bounce.

Unker also see a lot of bag holders in the forum. Don't fight the market. Let it come to you
boyboycute
post Oct 30 2024, 11:26 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 29 2024, 12:44 PM)
So unker think when "best" timing to convert??

Got any hints??
Let the market tell you

Unker doesn't have crystal ball except for a botak head
boyboycute
post Nov 6 2024, 11:50 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2024, 12:45 PM)
convert when one needs it...

19 feb converts at 4.78... lost 8% today, but

buys gold etf... up 38%... (cheap fees)

buys nasdaq...up 17%

buys s&p500... up 17%

buys hangseng... up 26%

keeps in epf... 4% prorata

moral of story... have a plan...do your own due diligence... dun simply listen to ppl...
How much risk u take?

boyboycute
post Nov 6 2024, 09:28 PM

550 posts

Kesian, budak-budak sekarang like to fight the market
boyboycute
post Dec 9 2024, 01:02 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2024, 08:07 PM)
Like I said don't listen to what BNM or local analyst says. See if got any changes. When your country support other countries and so openly and no money for own people, nothing change fundamentally except more tax and more wastage.

Just keep changing as long term ringgit got only one way to go if no change in fundamentals.
Unker think u have a working crystal ball.

Everyone should ALL in follow your footsteps.

Unker continue to top up EPF for 5-6% dividend.
boyboycute
post Dec 24 2024, 10:52 AM

550 posts

This is probably a good price to get out from USD and SGD to buy Ringgit
boyboycute
post Dec 25 2024, 03:51 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 25 2024, 08:55 AM)
usd is falling slightly, should be buying usd more
U might lose money in the next 12 months
boyboycute
post Dec 26 2024, 11:17 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 18 2024, 07:51 PM)
Continue converting out. No need to change anything.
Unker almost fell off the chair

Looks like many fellow are going to lose lots of money in the next 12 months

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0238sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:58 AM