USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

Cubalagi
post Aug 5 2024, 10:25 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 5 2024, 10:00 AM)
Biao le, not even FED cut  sweat.gif
It could just be buy the rumor sell the news thing.

Cubalagi
post Aug 5 2024, 03:51 PM

4,502 posts

Crazy fx moves...AUD vs MYR..hit 2.85 😳

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 5 2024, 02:13 PM)
Huh?
What happened

boyboycute gotten SUS"ed

No post related to politics or personal attack also....

Only share experience with all of us...
Eh yeah....why lor?
Cubalagi
post Aug 8 2024, 04:30 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Aug 7 2024, 12:55 PM)
Damn so disappointed. I want USD1 to RM4 then I convert kaw kaw.
RM4 is too ambitious.

4.47 now.

I prefer the rate to stablize and perhaps MYarcstrenghten slowly till.end of the year.

Cubalagi
post Aug 10 2024, 08:57 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 9 2024, 05:14 PM)
Still not enough...

Need to be around 4.20 first...

Long way to go. I think 🤔
Is 4.20 your target price? 🤔

Cubalagi
post Aug 17 2024, 06:15 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Aug 17 2024, 12:32 PM)
SGD still Strong?
Dropped more than 5% from the peak in Feb vs MYR this year.

Cubalagi
post Aug 19 2024, 12:09 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 19 2024, 11:51 AM)
I'm waiting for the moment

Go Go Go MYR become stronger

Don't need 4.00.... even 4.10 I'm willing to transfer 💪
4.10..that day u say 4.20?

N i tot u DCA?

Me..i last buy USD at 4.51. Now waiting for 4.35. Average down.

Cubalagi
post Aug 26 2024, 11:49 AM

4,502 posts

USD MYR at 4.34
SGD MYR at 3.34

Sad to see those nice FX gains much reduced esp.on SGD side. 😔

Anyway, me buying another batch of USD.

Cubalagi
post Aug 26 2024, 12:07 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Aug 26 2024, 11:51 AM)
Why not wait until the Fed started to cut rate when it is more stabilized? Thinking to convert some USD
Its quite hard to time bottom based on my experience. So I will usually average down bit by bit at certain support levels.

And who knows, we might even see "buy the rumor sell the news" come next month.

Cubalagi
post Aug 28 2024, 05:01 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 28 2024, 04:19 PM)
If you're investing into S-REITs, it's good for the SGD to weaken, bro,... the dpu will 'increase' relatively due to 'more' rentals collected after converting the rental from the foreign currency into the SGD for payouts.
SGD weakening with MYR only..not much with other currencies n streightened vs USD.

Cubalagi
post Sep 6 2024, 05:29 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Sep 6 2024, 04:29 PM)
6/9

USD - MYR at 4.32
SGD - MYR at 3.33

almost unchanged @ stabilized
Stablised

Aug 30 seem to be peak/bottom.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 6 2024, 05:29 PM
Cubalagi
post Sep 11 2024, 12:19 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 11 2024, 11:49 AM)
i get you yes, compounding interest is a powerful tool. few get it.

so i have 40% in EPF(MYR), and 60% in other currencies, just to balance out everything.

EPF is my sleep well mattress, rest is my theme park portfolio...

Having said that, I am very excited for my 2^2 for my EPF portfolio when I retire... even if I stop contributing now.
Nice..quite close to mine.

At my planned retirement, just a few years from now, Im looking at about 50% EPF and 50% other financial assets (mix bonds, equities, gold and currencies). Still rough approximate depending on how the market will look like, any major career progress and spending pattern. (But nowadays Im more Yolo and not saving aggressively).

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 11 2024, 12:20 PM
Cubalagi
post Sep 15 2024, 08:54 AM

4,502 posts

If its just 25bps next week, I think dollar will strengten and markets drop.

Cubalagi
post Sep 19 2024, 07:32 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 19 2024, 12:28 AM)
Well, he says he will end all the wars…..
And intensify trade war

Which will ultimately lead to ahooting wars

And its a 50bps folks!

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 19 2024, 07:49 AM
Cubalagi
post Sep 19 2024, 12:28 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 19 2024, 08:09 AM)
Yeah. My bankers called it. Should have gone all in with scrips and cashed out before the USD crashed further. Anyway, hindsight is always 20/20 but my testicular fortitude needs myopic correction.
What is scrips?
Cubalagi
post Sep 19 2024, 05:47 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 19 2024, 12:39 PM)
Sorry, sorry, typo after typo… it’s STRIPS not scrips.

Paiseh
Ooo...basically a form of treasury bonds.

Most of my SGD exposure right now at Singapore treasuries..so the hit of Fx exchange rate vs MYR has been absorbed by the capital appreciation as rates come down.

Cubalagi
post Sep 23 2024, 08:12 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Sep 23 2024, 06:46 AM)
If you have need for foreign currencies, why not?  For example, you are planning for your kids to study oversea in future?

Or you need to travel oversea for holiday?

or you plan to migrate oversea.
I have beenn changing to stockup my USD reserves.

Its not that Im doom and gloom of Malaysia like Ramjade here. But its a matter of having a diversified investment portfolio.

Cubalagi
post Sep 23 2024, 10:07 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2024, 08:24 AM)
Is not doom and gloom. Like what someone told me a long time ago, you know ringgit is going to weaken 10 years down the road. You worked so hard for your money with time, sweat and tears.

You are given a way to protect your future purchasing power, take it.

If you don't, don't complain.
Unlike you, I dont know where MYR will be 10 years from now. And compare to what, also depends. If it is just protecting purchasing power, last 10 years EPF has been pretty decent in achieving that with no risk.

But what u r aiming for is higher returns than that, so its not just about protecting purchasing power. That is your choice.

Cubalagi
post Sep 23 2024, 10:09 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 23 2024, 09:53 AM)
us needed to increase rate sharply to prevent recession that could also trigger a global recession too... they been doing reverse repo but it wasnt enough...

bnm cannot follow because our economy already gg... a lot of people n company will go bankrupt...
They had to increase rate not to prevent recession but to fight inflation. US CPI hit 9.1% in 2022 in case u forgot. Before that they were talking transitory inflation, then they panicked.

Cubalagi
post Oct 3 2024, 11:51 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 3 2024, 10:35 AM)
https://www.investopedia.com/the-federal-re...ll-says-8720777

No Rush to cut the US rates - Powell 😔
No rush..but later another sudden 50 bps cut lol

Cubalagi
post Oct 5 2024, 07:54 AM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 4 2024, 09:06 PM)
Soft landing in US with good payroll figures coming in...

DXY surged by 0.6%
Fx now more volatile.than equities indexes ...haiih.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0436sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:40 PM