AVFAN
post Mar 27 2024, 10:38 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 27 2024, 08:52 PM)
Bloomberg Opinion: It’ll Take More Than Patriotism to Save Malaysia’s Currency

In a break from history, the country is eschewing radical responses to the ringgit’s slide. A meaningful recovery will have to wait for the Fed.

by Daniel Moss

Original Bloomberg article (with paywall): https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/...medium=referral

Article without paywall in one long screenshot (taken from Reddit):

Sinchew Mandarin translation (no paywall): https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20240327/finance/5492342
besides counting on fed rate cuts, below is basically saying subsidies removal/targeting + tax reforms/tax incr is coming soon.

am i right?! biggrin.gif

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/03/...laysias-economy
"Fiscal reform will focus on targeting subsidies and expanding the revenue base to create fiscal space that can be allocated to improving the welfare of the people," he added.
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2024, 06:16 PM

24,471 posts

Economists are unanimous that petrol subsidy rationalisation is almost certainly going to bring about a general increase in the prices of goods and services, and even the World Bank Group is estimating that a complete removal of fuel subsidies is likely to cause a 9% increase in consumer prices.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...mpact-consumers

what will happen to RM if inflation jumps by 9% due to petrol subsidy removal??
AVFAN
post Apr 8 2024, 07:42 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Apr 7 2024, 12:13 PM)
No need economist. It's a no brainer inflation will shoot up after petrol subsidy removal. If they have brains probably do it slowly...like 20 cents every 4 months or so. If suddenly up RM1+...Wahhh farked.
now... BNM keeps saying RM is undervalued.

is it possible that it is actually overvalued now?!

i mean the huge subsidies been helping, no?

if that is gone, like u said, no need economists to tell u what's gonna happen!

or... the market has already partially factored in the "subsidy removed" scenario, hence the decline in last few months?

so, can we guess the result when the whole subsidy removal thingy is done?

or they might U-turn and keep the subsidies going, "kick the can down the road", as they say?

pegging is not the answer. it will be costly and might lead to a total collapse in the end:
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...rotect-ringgit/

AVFAN
post Apr 9 2024, 09:07 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 9 2024, 05:26 AM)
Currency can only be strengthened if the currency is high in demand. Undervalued in what sense? What drives demand?
ALL of them say undervalued, not me. biggrin.gif

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-is-undervalued
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ys-bank-negara/
AVFAN
post Apr 10 2024, 06:57 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Apr 9 2024, 02:52 PM)
you believe them ?  cool2.gif
QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 9 2024, 04:49 PM)
all cannot trust one...
they r in high positions of power & information, paid 10 times u.

must believe at least 10% la...

the other 90%... u do own homework. tongue.gif

0.0395sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:49 PM