Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?
xi0ngz
Dec 8 2011, 12:12 AM
Some info to share:
Sliding AC - slow, single speed, no backup, but more durable Sliding DC - faster, dual speed(slows down b4 stop), option to add backup battery, for lightweight gate
Swing Arm - moderate speed, supports heavier gate, usually comes with backup battery Underground - moves faster, IMO the motor is more lasting, only certain PCB supports backup battery, comes with a lockset, not suitable for folding gate
USUALLY a complete set comes with only 3 remote controls and a year warranty(by manufacturer). Anything beyond that is maybe from your supplier themselves.
9/10 brands with the 'Italian', 'Germany' Technology or so is actually made locally.
tifosi
Dec 13 2011, 02:39 AM
For those that using DC Moto 905, what is your max remote range let's say from inside the car. Mine 10 meters also cannot reach.
Jo_da48
Dec 13 2011, 05:33 AM
QUOTE(tifosi @ Dec 13 2011, 02:39 AM) For those that using DC Moto 905, what is your max remote range let's say from inside the car. Mine 10 meters also cannot reach. ah...why you want to open your door 10 meters away? SHould you only open almost reach??? What the best practice? This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Dec 13 2011, 05:33 AM
kelvyn
Dec 13 2011, 07:56 AM
best practice... the gate open just in time for your car to enter
weikee
Dec 13 2011, 10:03 AM
10 Meter wow, 33 feet, very very big gate.
kelvyn
Dec 13 2011, 10:11 AM
10m for the range of the auto gate remote. Not the gate size.
tifosi
Dec 13 2011, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Dec 13 2011, 05:33 AM) ah...why you want to open your door 10 meters away? SHould you only open almost reach??? What the best practice? QUOTE(kelvyn @ Dec 13 2011, 07:56 AM) best practice... the gate open just in time for your car to enter Cause I would like to press it slightly before reaching the house and by the time the car reaches the gate, the gate is wide enough for the car to enter.
netcrawler
Dec 13 2011, 10:24 AM
Need to ask all experts here, can auto gate cater for all type of gates? Let's say I have swing gate now, could I use the same autogate if I change the gate in folding type. Anything need to change?
weikee
Dec 13 2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Dec 13 2011, 10:11 AM) 10m for the range of the auto gate remote. Not the gate size.  Oh, sorry. Must be my eye getting tired after the renovation. Mine can open 3 to 4 houses away. It all depend where you locate the receiver and the signal strength. I find the cheaper non encrypted (no code hopping) remote always have better range. And I am using old remote too, I am using one remote for two house (My mother and my house one remote)
phoenix69
Dec 15 2011, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(tifosi @ Dec 13 2011, 10:21 AM) Cause I would like to press it slightly before reaching the house and by the time the car reaches the gate, the gate is wide enough for the car to enter. I guess there are pro and cons to this, but this certainly will be a good option to have. Is yours a folding gate?
woengx2
Dec 15 2011, 11:22 PM
Any sifu here knowing any powder coated factory can powder coat a door measuring 6' height X 16' length ?
Appreciate any input.
kelvyn
Dec 16 2011, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(woengx2 @ Dec 16 2011, 12:22 AM) Any sifu here knowing any powder coated factory can powder coat a door measuring 6' height X 16' length ? Appreciate any input. These are normally arranged by your gate manufacturer as it will need the transportation to and fro and later installation at your house. Better to let your gate manufacturer take care.
woengx2
Dec 16 2011, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Dec 16 2011, 10:59 AM) These are normally arranged by your gate manufacturer as it will need the transportation to and fro and later installation at your house. Better to let your gate manufacturer take care. Gate manufacturer already promised to deliver but lately found out they have this problem
kelvyn
Dec 16 2011, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(woengx2 @ Dec 16 2011, 07:44 PM) Gate manufacturer already promised to deliver but lately found out they have this problem  If you do a search in this forum for powder coating, you will some guys providing this service.
netcrawler
Dec 17 2011, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Dec 16 2011, 09:27 PM) If you do a search in this forum for powder coating, you will some guys providing this service. OT: Can I sell existing gate to gate dealer if I want to replace the gate?
kelvyn
Dec 17 2011, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Dec 17 2011, 11:39 AM) OT: Can I sell existing gate to gate dealer if I want to replace the gate? U mean selling them to scrap metal collector? Don't expect to get much as it will be based on the weight
netcrawler
Dec 17 2011, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Dec 17 2011, 10:46 AM) U mean selling them to scrap metal collector? Don't expect to get much as it will be based on the weight  I mean sell to gate dealer/manufacturer as scrap metal would not fare high price
minimart8
Dec 17 2011, 04:31 PM
just to ask, can install the motor only to the current gate or i have to change the whole gate?
khcheam
Dec 17 2011, 04:40 PM
Any idea how much does it cost for the swing door about 20ft + sliding motor??? Normal & simple design...
KiDkillER
Dec 20 2011, 01:18 PM
Hi all, would like to ask about automatic folding gate.. I'm new to it but I want to get one for my house..under renovation now..
Yesterday found a discount on the newspaper..and I called them up to ask for quotation..not sure is the price reasonable or not..
13' Wrought Iron Folding Gate (with 4 pieces of door) + Galvanised + Powder Coated + GI Bolt? + Motor Quotation = RM4500 (He claimed that RM220/ft for the gate only) excluded cabling.
One question for cabling, I didn't change my car porch and driveway's tiles, so if the contractor want to pull the cable for auto gate, they need to hack the tiles to embed the wiring? So it will be another cost for replacing floor tiles?? Please advise.
Is it reasonable? Any recommended contractor to introduce to me? Please pm me the contact, thanks a lot!