5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

petlu28
post Jun 18 2013, 11:45 AM

3,936 posts

Nowaday really much brands & hard to choose which one suitable. I am sure not all customer know well about the product before purchase it.

QUOTE(weitatt @ Jun 18 2013, 11:00 AM)
Just like owning a car.  It provides convenience when it works, however it will not last forever and it has to be maintain regularly like everything else mechanical.  If a autogate can work trouble free for 5-7 years it's considered very good.  chances are there will be minor repairs during the course of using the gate.  Imagine if you open and close the gate say 3000 cycles in a year, that would be over 15,000 -20,000 cycles in the course of using the gate throughout it's service life.
petlu28
post Jun 18 2013, 11:57 AM

3,936 posts

I hope those have use before or currently use will give more reviews. I think this is important.

QUOTE(weitatt @ Jun 18 2013, 11:53 AM)
Fortunately it's much easier these day.  Products, specifications, pricing, user reviews, user forum all easily accessible on the Internet.  It's much easier to make an informed decision.
petlu28
post Jun 19 2013, 02:11 PM

3,936 posts

after sales service important too but not all installer will give good service. Is better learn ourself if can DIY just hope can easy get spare part.

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 19 2013, 11:43 AM)
If they can promise 4 years warranty, go ahead. Usually manufacurer provide standard 1 year warranty. The balance probably from the installer itself.

Best pairing at the moment. OAE 333 + NX12 control panel which have built in receiver enabling 4 channel remote control meaning you can control both, left, right leaf and lastly pillar light (optional).
petlu28
post Jun 19 2013, 04:35 PM

3,936 posts

Can share what happen with your autogate? hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 19 2013, 04:10 PM)
Hi jimmylim85, if you respond to this thread before i install my auto gate system. I will choose DCMoto already, i am so headache on choosing one of them 2 weeks back.
A lot of installer here in KL still recommend arm type, and I try to survey around my taman and found no one is using DC or CASA type of system.
The information you provided here are very useful, as you are a installer.
A installer in KL here recommend wall mount system from OAE, is stainless steel made claim to be better than DC and CASA. Any review?
petlu28
post Jun 19 2013, 04:58 PM

3,936 posts

You are right. Many grill contractor will recommend arm gate even i saw those house also install arm gate. Do you have regret after install MAG Wing 303?

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 19 2013, 04:52 PM)
5-10 years are very long, worth the money we spend =)
Does your CASA have some high pitch noise when it open or close?
Hi petlu, my story is my old underground system keep giving me issue and it will cost me RM380 to change the mother board this time. So I decide to change a new system, but i have a plan to extend my gate and change it from swing to folding type at end of this year.
Therefore, I survey and research for the most suitable system for my plan. Many installer told me to use wall type at the beginning, but during the chat session with all the installer they will point out a lot of cons for wall mount system. Like noisy, wait longer to repair as factory at Penang, DCMoto keep changing the internal parts as using the customer to be the white mouse...
But as i know by logical thinking, wall mount system is the best for folding gate. Because the arm is smaller, so the gate can fold wider or to the maximum. As compare to those arm system, the huge stainless steel body will stuck in between the folding gate and causing it cant open to the max.
Due to all the comment from the installers, i do not have confident to the wall mount system and end up i chosen the MAG Wing 303 arm which cost me RM1200. The arm is huge but speed is slow.
petlu28
post Jun 19 2013, 09:27 PM

3,936 posts

My gate around 10 feet only don't know DC Moto suitable or not.

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 19 2013, 05:30 PM)
After reading the professional comment and information from Jimmy, I will give DC a try if I'm allow to choose again.
Because i will extend my gate from now 10" to future 14", if the arm block the folding by 1" then i will remain 12" only after the gate open. Which i think is a main concern for me.
If your gate is 20" wide, then waste of 2" to you is nothing. But for my small house, 14" is the max i can give to my gate.
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 11:12 AM

3,936 posts

Is it suitable for gate width below 10 feet?

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:58 AM)
Well is your choice, what's the damage of your deposit?

One bad of having unique custom made iron gate such as UniGate is all the parts is customized and not commercially available. Everything had to refer back to UniGate and prepare to pay premium service price.

Just like BTE LEGATE system. Yearly fee rm 150. And if you missed out two years maintain-ace and on third year you wanted their service. You have to pay previous two years default fee and third year in order to obtain their service. Repair and parts is another fee being charged.
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 03:39 PM

3,936 posts

you are right. Now a lot things also can't use long days.

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 20 2013, 02:38 PM)
Haha, than you are being ripped. My OAE about 1.2k back in 2011 with standby battery. Now not too sure.

Ask another installer lah. And from the comment from jimmylim85, that price you maybe can get DC moto. And It don't sound problem. Ah well if the system were to fail in 3 to 5 years later, just change lah. Don't expect things to last forever.
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 08:53 PM

3,936 posts

My gate just below 10 feet only don't know DC Moto suitable or not.

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 08:48 PM)
impulsive..went n put 3k deposit =( but i wondering if i can convert it to use on the window n sliding door grilles
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 09:10 PM

3,936 posts

My house pillar red brick. What else should I request when purchase it? I hear red brick can't drill.

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:57 PM)
if they haven't fabricate your main gate perhaps you can talk to them.
Certainly suitable. DCMoto only consume max 7'' for each motor. Meaning it took 14'' off your 10' pillar to pillar space.

Doesn't matter any motor you install, it consume space the same length. If you worry of damage your DCMoto, most common is just split the main cover and can be easily glued using super glue. If you bang on your OAE or any arm type, most probably you have to replace one whole unit itself. I've seen my customer daughter drove VIOS and the tire landed right on OAE arm, broke into two pieces.
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 11:00 PM

3,936 posts

My house pillar red brick without cement on wall to. Some contractor told me red brick a bit troublesome because cannot drilling. If drill the red brick will spoil.

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:46 PM)
@petlu28 Red brick can be drill. No problem at all. Just don't use rotary hammer drill and drill macam LEMBU. Have to be gentle at times  cool2.gif  cool2.gif

I have customer house pillar using red brick without a layer of cement on the wall, still fit the autogate and works like a charm.
Well, there are time that you could save money a lot and get another new gate maybe 8 to 10 years time? Because maybe user won't stay with the gate design for 10 years right?
petlu28
post Jun 20 2013, 11:20 PM

3,936 posts

Why need SS track? What is 3 point bearing hinges? I have been ask few contractor those also give same comment about red brick. Even my friends too.

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 11:18 PM)
i wont change gate unless it cant be saved anymore lol..not cheap n quite troublesome to reinstall IMO
besides unigate,r there other autogates using trackless system ar?
in malaysian weather,wont alot of dirt clog up the autogate tracks n cause it to malfunction?
by the way how much for a dcmoto system + wrought iron gate + stainless steel track + 3 point bearing hinges + sensor?generally less than 10k?
shud be ok..sometimes contractor malas so tell u cant do
petlu28
post Jun 21 2013, 10:08 AM

3,936 posts

Anywhere both this need for what? hmm.gif

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 11:37 PM)
SS track wont rust mah according to jimmylim.3 point bearing jus seems more secure n anyway i try to get features as similar to the unigate package so i can justify whether wanna go ahead onot
yeah man aih tht's y i shud read up more b4 i make a purchase
petlu28
post Jun 21 2013, 03:01 PM

3,936 posts

May i know how much he quote you for DC Moto?

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Jun 21 2013, 02:37 PM)
Just spoke to Winson. Asked him bout OAE/Mag 303 and Dcmoto 925. Price difference of Rm200. Was told the 303 can only open 1 side gate/leaf or both. The board is MW40 and costs rm200plus to change if got problem.
DCmoto can open either side and I believe the board is more sophisticated(which means more expensive to repair or replace too).  Honestly I think DCMoto looks nice and neat.
Both has 1yr warranty. Winson also said in terms of parts, Oae 303 would be easier to source/repair.
Im torn between Oae and Dcmoto. Decisions...decisions... i dont want to hv headache of autogate problems(problem free for few yrs oso Im happy), difficult to repair or source for spare parts.
petlu28
post Jun 21 2013, 03:04 PM

3,936 posts

RM1400 include battery?

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Jun 21 2013, 03:04 PM)
Quoted me rm1400 excl wiring as I can still use my existing gate wiring.
petlu28
post Jun 21 2013, 09:44 PM

3,936 posts

Where you get this news?

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 21 2013, 03:38 PM)
unigate sed d motor is bought from other company then their team of engineers modify it..can anyone verify this?
petlu28
post Jun 21 2013, 11:41 PM

3,936 posts

That means Unigate just a re brand only?

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:52 PM)
The motor cover changed yet inside remain 100% identical.

The control panel box is the same, the infra-red beam sensor box is the same, even the remote control are the same. DIGICRAFT = DCMoto.

I've seen the keypad use on UniGate, is identical with GFM 905
petlu28
post Jun 22 2013, 09:33 AM

3,936 posts

No choice house small size also small if not I need hack the pillar.

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 22 2013, 08:55 AM)
For gate size of 10' the submerged system will take less space.
petlu28
post Jul 9 2013, 10:04 AM

3,936 posts

Good wait your news later.

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Jul 8 2013, 07:51 PM)
I am engaging Winson to install my Dcmoto this week. Will update about his workmanship after he fix my autogate. So far quite a few forummer recommend Winson(http://ots2u.com/)
petlu28
post Jul 9 2013, 10:30 PM

3,936 posts

What we need request when wiring contractor start cabling autogate wire? My house are red brick just can see side by side gate have PVC there. Have check with developer just say already standby for autogate but I can't see have wire to fuis box there.

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 9 2013, 12:50 AM)
DCMoto 925W Hybird got no problem pushing 22feet gate, if you scroll back a few pages, you can see I've install on a gate 23' length and 8' high. No sweat. And it's been operating close to a year now.
It require the same amount of wire as in arm type too.

Standard requirement.

From house to your front gate side control panel = 7 core armored cable 1.5mm or 2.5mm with Magnetic Circuit Breaker 10Amp. Do not use 16A or 20A or 32A as you going to damage the system when over current doesn't break the circuit.

Each motor on each side requires 2 core armored cable 1.5mm or 2.5mm back to the control panel.

Option is to run pillar light cable require 2 core armored cable 1.5mm or 2.5mm back to the control panel.

Door bell push button require 2 core armored cable 1.5mm to the control panel.

Usually this wiring will be done by qualified electrician and autogate installer.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:17 PM