Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?
aaronpang
Oct 10 2007, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 9 2007, 04:25 PM) Got small door then different story. But if without small door I think is a belly big problem ler. Now not sure want to install or not.  Either you install a small door next to your gate or cut the existing gate and put one in... most metal/grill shops do the cutting and fitting. Cost mine was cheap RM100 but that was done as part of larger renovation work... QUOTE(SeeD @ Oct 10 2007, 10:35 AM) Can your automatic gates capable of manually open ? Say no electricity or something. Then you manually open the gate instead of ... well you know what I meant. My contractor told me if no power not to force the autogate open because I could damage it... not sure if its true but I'm not tempting fate This post has been edited by aaronpang: Oct 10 2007, 03:09 PM
zeist
Oct 11 2007, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 10 2007, 01:34 PM) Ya lah. What I meant was, after deducting the labour. What do you expect from a RM800 machine? I think I cancel off this plan first, or I'll do this later.  Added on October 11, 2007, 4:50 pmQUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 10 2007, 03:08 PM) Either you install a small door next to your gate or cut the existing gate and put one in... most metal/grill shops do the cutting and fitting. Hehe, I saw there are a few houses doing this as well. But I think I'll do this last/later. Might just change the original gate to some stylish wooden gate. No need auto open also nevermind ler.  What gate are you using? The steel/alumminium type cost around RM10K+ <--- too pricey, depending on design. I saw a wooden one also belly nice, where you can flip. I think this is the latest trend now. This post has been edited by zeist: Oct 11 2007, 04:50 PM
aaronpang
Oct 12 2007, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 11 2007, 04:47 PM) Hehe, I saw there are a few houses doing this as well. But I think I'll do this last/later. Might just change the original gate to some stylish wooden gate. No need auto open also nevermind ler.  What gate are you using? Just a regular steel gate from the developer... I wanted an autogate because it helps that I don't have to keep running to and from the fron gate just to park my car every morning and when I come home in the evening. Getting lazy QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 11 2007, 04:47 PM) The steel/alumminium type cost around RM10K+ <--- too pricey, depending on design. I saw a wooden one also belly nice, where you can flip. I think this is the latest trend now.  I don't think its steel/alu its stainless steel and yup costs a lot of money... In a cost scale its the most expensive:- Normal Steel -  Wraught Iron -  Stainless Steel -  I kept the original developer installed gate because it would be such a waste to throw it away... might as well use it for a few years and when its rusty and broken down then I'll buy a new gate
zeist
Oct 12 2007, 11:53 AM
Oww... So there are 3 types of steel gate. - Normal Steel - Wraught Iron - Stainless Steel What about wood made gate? Those steel gate are too belly expensive, spending on gate alone RM10K+ is insane, that's why I'm considering wood gate now, they look belly nice too. No point spending so much on gate it is just some ornamental thing and it is placed outside of the house somemore. This post has been edited by zeist: Oct 12 2007, 11:54 AM
aaronpang
Oct 12 2007, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 12 2007, 11:53 AM) Oww... So there are 3 types of steel gate. - Normal Steel - Wraught Iron - Stainless Steel What about wood made gate? Those steel gate are too belly expensive, spending on gate alone RM10K+ is insane, that's why I'm considering wood gate now, they look belly nice too. No point spending so much on gate it is just some ornamental thing and it is placed outside of the house somemore.  Normal steel is what the majority of Malaysian homes have installed... including me because it's cheap Wrought Iron and Stainless Steel - there is a reason for the extra cost... besides looks. Both are made from stronger, better materials and is more durable to the elements compared to Normal Steel or Wooden Gates. Additionally maintenance wise Stainless Steel doesn't need to be painted every few years to prevent rust and decay. Choose a gate that suites your house looks and your budget, if you like the wooden gate go for it.
zeist
Oct 12 2007, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 12 2007, 01:21 PM) Normal steel is what the majority of Malaysian homes have installed... including me because it's cheap Wrought Iron and Stainless Steel - there is a reason for the extra cost... besides looks. Both are made from stronger, better materials and is more durable to the elements compared to Normal Steel or Wooden Gates. Additionally maintenance wise Stainless Steel doesn't need to be painted every few years to prevent rust and decay. Choose a gate that suites your house looks and your budget, if you like the wooden gate go for it. Hehe extra reason like..? Quality? You pay for what you get? Aww, I didn't know about the stainless steel gate able to prevent rust and decay, before this I know nothing about steel gate...  I think I might consider this stainless steel gate... I'll put in the list.  Thanks for the info.
chloelew
Oct 19 2007, 10:16 AM
auto gate can be manually open wan no problem. usually most comes with a key, so when no power, use the key to open the bottom lock mechanism. but only 1 side can open la....
sallyyp
Oct 19 2007, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 11 2007, 04:47 PM) I think I cancel off this plan first, or I'll do this later.  Added on October 11, 2007, 4:50 pmHehe, I saw there are a few houses doing this as well. But I think I'll do this last/later. Might just change the original gate to some stylish wooden gate. No need auto open also nevermind ler.  What gate are you using? The steel/alumminium type cost around RM10K+ <--- too pricey, depending on design. I saw a wooden one also belly nice, where you can flip. I think this is the latest trend now.  wow... expensive..
zeist
Oct 21 2007, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(chloelew @ Oct 19 2007, 10:16 AM) auto gate can be manually open wan no problem. usually most comes with a key, so when no power, use the key to open the bottom lock mechanism. but only 1 side can open la.... I see, thanks for the info.  Added on October 21, 2007, 1:03 amQUOTE(sallyyp @ Oct 19 2007, 08:25 PM) wow... expensive..  Life is like that lor, you want nice stuff, you need to spend more. This post has been edited by zeist: Oct 21 2007, 01:03 AM
marchkingdom
Oct 22 2007, 04:20 PM
wow, great to know ppl are discussing this. I found 2 websites about autogate in M'sia, reasonable price. My contractor adviced me to use "MAG" quoted me RM1700* w 1 year waranty. But I asked for a straight quote from MAG is only Rm1600*. He said he's using this brand for 3 years w no prob. http://www.magnet.com.my/products/Autogate...uct/AG_main.htmThen I found out another one from the newspaper, seems popular, said to be reputable Taiwan Brand. This one with installation is about RM2K +. Hav not get quotation. This model quite interesting coze comes with Alarm. http://www.jackpro.com.my/Anyone, using any of the 2 brand above? Or any frens/relatives, got any feedback? product repu good not? * excluding wiring Added on October 23, 2007, 9:25 amQUOTE(marchkingdom @ Oct 22 2007, 04:20 PM) alrite, Jackpro quoted me Rm1700 w installation (no wiring work). This one comes w Alarm sensor + Hitachi backup batt. Quite atractive.... but never heard of this brand from frens wor. Anybody out there can share? This post has been edited by marchkingdom: Oct 23 2007, 10:16 AM
adrianocy
Oct 23 2007, 11:29 AM
MAG more reliable
Added on October 23, 2007, 11:52 amMAG more reliable
This post has been edited by adrianocy: Oct 23 2007, 11:52 AM
nj922
Mar 30 2008, 11:52 AM

Which type of autogate more reliable? 1. folding gate 2. swing gate 3. sliding gate
and how are the price range for these 3?
zeist
Mar 30 2008, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(nj922 @ Mar 30 2008, 11:52 AM) Which type of autogate more reliable? 1. folding gate 2. swing gate 3. sliding gate and how are the price range for these 3? My opposite neighbour using folding gate, I think is pretty chunted. IMO, go for swing or folding. Sliding is freaking old and will give alot of problems.
Jenn77
May 3 2008, 02:47 AM
Wow I think I must lepak here more often... got so many stuff I ngam also.. btw, anybody installed the auto gate with those stainless steel arm type? Which is more durable? Coz I've seen my neighbors doing sliding and arm type, but my neighbor said usually he request the technician to service the sensor panel and the arms once a every year.. so far no problem, but he refused to recommend me.. funny
Puffy_M
May 3 2008, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 3 2008, 02:47 AM) Wow I think I must lepak here more often... got so many stuff I ngam also.. btw, anybody installed the auto gate with those stainless steel arm type? Which is more durable? Coz I've seen my neighbors doing sliding and arm type, but my neighbor said usually he request the technician to service the sensor panel and the arms once a every year.. so far no problem, but he refused to recommend me.. funny  My bf's business is installing autogate and alarms/CCTV. Wanna get more details bout the durability email me at panda_lim85@yahoo.com
aiyish
Jul 18 2008, 04:59 PM
hi, my dad's lighting business includes MAG autogate. RM1700 includes conceal wiring and everything. Pm me if interested, sorry for the hijack.
Stainless steel is more durable coz when its raining, it won't get rusty.
tr|n|ty
Jul 18 2008, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 12 2007, 11:53 AM) Oww... So there are 3 types of steel gate. - Normal Steel - Wraught Iron - Stainless Steel What about wood made gate? Those steel gate are too belly expensive, spending on gate alone RM10K+ is insane, that's why I'm considering wood gate now, they look belly nice too. No point spending so much on gate it is just some ornamental thing and it is placed outside of the house somemore.  sorry to spoil your mood, wooden gate is quite expensive which on par as wrought iron gate.  you know why, the woods are not those normal cheap woods. imagine the wooden gate is made from cheapo woods, after few months if weeks, there will be mushroom growing already.
3dassets
Nov 7 2008, 05:28 PM
I have taken over the web design to Jackpro and will recreate a 3D version web display, incidentally, I should answer a question about the manufacturer is Malaysia and Taiwan.
For your info, their expertise is to combine both security alarm & auto gate, the uniqueness is the gate system that utilize less parts thus less troublesome.
One thing I know is that if you have ever use an auto gate before, you will doubt its reliability after 2 years, and you will give up on the concealed type that one component failure will lead to another due to related mechanism.
The owner used to be just an installer to the older type but has re-invented a new system with Taiwanese engineer because local manufacturer is old and dictate the market in the past.
So, if you are going to use auto gate in your life, you may try a few in the span of 10 years and found yourself settle on one type but I am not promoting any brand here.
As a 3D web campaign designer, it is my job to study client history and conceive the best possible website commercial for my clients, stay tune in two months from now and see the what 3D website look like.
hackwire
Nov 10 2008, 09:57 AM
wow cool! i think they have the best features for now. they even have safety features. Last time i heard gates also crush people and kids. Freak accidents still happens. Jackpro is good since they have all the features.
adrianocy
Nov 24 2008, 03:17 PM
which type of swing type auto gate better? those which underground or arm type better?