Pondering Vespa

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 3 2022, 10:23 AM, updated 3y ago

194 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,

What's your opinion / experience of owning a Vespa?

Not meant for zoom zoom lah, but around maintaining it, any TLC required and etc.

Anything to look out for?
ajaibman
post Aug 4 2022, 06:46 PM

233 posts

Maintenance is more expensive than Jepunis counterpart.. u know la Italian brand even though it's Vietmoy made..

Example belts only either original or Malossi Kevlar.. so no Mitsuboshi and other alternatives

Then tayar.. special size 12.. since not many other scooter brand/model still using this size.. make the choices limited and expensive.

Aftermarket parts, also expensive than Jepunis.. Racing Boy vs Malossi, JCosta, Polini

Good side is.. Body is besi.. not much plastic cover parts.. 2nd hand price.. maintained, or even increase.. yes like gold.. haha..
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 5 2022, 08:13 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 4 2022, 06:46 PM)
Maintenance is more expensive than Jepunis counterpart.. u know la Italian brand even though it's Vietmoy made..

Example belts only either original or Malossi Kevlar.. so no Mitsuboshi and other alternatives

Then tayar.. special size 12.. since not many other scooter brand/model still using this size.. make the choices limited and expensive.

Aftermarket parts, also expensive than Jepunis.. Racing Boy vs Malossi, JCosta, Polini

Good side is.. Body is besi.. not much plastic cover parts.. 2nd hand price.. maintained, or even increase.. yes like gold.. haha..
Ah thanks... means prepare to pay more, and parts not easily available if you are at kampung.

What with the besi body? Some friend told me it's very mahkaolanfan to repair if I drop the bike, but plastic coverset can change easily.
ajaibman
post Aug 5 2022, 05:02 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 5 2022, 08:13 AM)
Ah thanks... means prepare to pay more, and parts not easily available if you are at kampung.

What with the besi body? Some friend told me it's very mahkaolanfan to repair if I drop the bike, but plastic coverset can change easily.
This frame

All besi so if you dent the back side especially, then GG.. have to go ketuk..
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 5 2022, 08:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 5 2022, 05:02 PM)
This frame

All besi so if you dent the back side especially, then GG.. have to go ketuk..
Oh boy... now I get it!

hmm... have to think think about vespa even though really like it, but like it as in handbags to woman.

Thanks for the details!

ajaibman
post Aug 6 2022, 10:10 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 5 2022, 08:10 PM)
Oh boy... now I get it!

hmm... have to think think about vespa even though really like it, but like it as in handbags to woman.

Thanks for the details!
It is a handbag disguised as a scooter

Dior

Armani

sinbaron
post Feb 15 2023, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 3 2022, 10:23 AM)
Hi sifu sekalian,

What's your opinion / experience of owning a Vespa?

Not meant for zoom zoom lah, but around maintaining it, any TLC required and etc.

Anything to look out for?
Be prepared your maintenance cost is like maintaining Myvi at official dealer its never less than 250rm. Change Belt cant be other brand . Once you have stock CVT and if you are happy with it then thats great but you will be itchy like me wanna upgrade Malossi Multivariator / Delta Clutch thats another 1.4k rm . Absorbers are all originals and not many aftermarket you will spend so much on it. But the feeling you get riding vespa is like having a luxury item and everyone around look at you as king.
lowpro
post Feb 16 2023, 06:56 PM

180 posts

There's the Justin Bieber version too now at Motoplex PJ
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Feb 16 2023, 10:34 PM

194 posts

Given up pondering Vespa 🤣
praetorion
post Feb 17 2023, 01:59 AM

289 posts

what do you want from the vespa? a second bike for fun and ride around town?

my 2 cents. it is expensive no doubt but then again it is a vespa. same comparison between R1 and panigale v4.

it is assembled in vietnam, i would say the fit and finish is not as good as local assembled bike. maybe paggio QC is not that strict. should i say not up to my expectation from the brand with that price tag. it could be due to the batch is just not so perfect. the whole bike has more metal surface than plastic. so if the paint not done properly from the factory, it will be very obvious.

ride wise, it is good, if not better than the rest of 150cc scooter. for 2 up better get the gts version.

if you intend to keep for long buy new. with proper maintenance it will last a long time. if just want to keep for a couple of years, they are used one letting go at decent price with low mileage.

and lastly, i dont get the king treatment. cars still exit the junction when i am approaching as if i am not there.
futurevision_ben
post Feb 17 2023, 02:08 AM

126 posts

i have a superb condition vespa to let go

LX150 year 2013 cream colour

Genuine mileage 5000 km only

Area Bukit Jalil KL, serious can PM me tq
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Feb 17 2023, 08:51 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(praetorion @ Feb 17 2023, 01:59 AM)
what do you want from the vespa? a second bike for fun and ride around town?

Vespa is in my heart since I was a kid.

The cuteness, the shape, the whatever jest it comes with.

Not about ride around, but being seen in one.

That's the problem with Vespa biggrin.gif

As I got more grey matters and got more practical, had to fight off the evil of "want" vs "need" of Vespa.

Of course I am looking at the VTS300 but seriously, nothing to shout about.
2kia
post Feb 18 2023, 11:46 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Feb 17 2023, 08:51 AM)
Vespa is in my heart since I was a kid.

The cuteness, the shape, the whatever jest it comes with.

Not about ride around, but being seen in one.

That's the problem with Vespa  biggrin.gif

As I got more grey matters and got more practical, had to fight off the evil of "want" vs "need" of Vespa.

Of course I am looking at the VTS300 but seriously, nothing to shout about.
Same here, bought a Vespa 1st instead of getting a car

Considered other better yet cheaper bikes but in the end there's no replacement for Vespa if u're a die-hard fan, dsn't matter if it's slower, outdated n more expensive to maintain

Get a used unit to see if u really like having/riding n if it dsn't turn up to be ur 'dream' bike as a kid, just sell it off with minimal loss
lawrencehl
post Aug 18 2023, 08:18 AM

343 posts

Hi, anyone can share ownership experience of a vespa GTS 300 HPE? The cons side?

Plan to get 1 for daily work, jam area 5km distance to office only.

This post has been edited by lawrencehl: Aug 18 2023, 08:19 AM
Jason
post Aug 23 2023, 11:22 PM

6,354 posts

Vespa.. let me throw spanner. Why not an Italjet? It’s Italian, it’s a scooter I guess.

It’s like the opposite of the Vespa.

I have no clue about it, only seen it on videos. Sure looks cool.
ajaibman
post Aug 24 2023, 11:05 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehl @ Aug 18 2023, 08:18 AM)
Hi, anyone can share ownership experience of a vespa GTS 300 HPE? The cons side?

Plan to get 1 for daily work, jam area 5km distance to office only.
HPE? cons side:

1. Small 12 inch tire diameter, less stable on high speed highway. Good thing is the top speed is 127 kmph only.
2. Since its tops 127 kmph, you can change the speed ring in the front (or back) i forgot, to the unrestricted one, then it will increase to more than 130 kmph, but remember the point no 1.

Many GTS owner changed to Gilera 13inch rims for more traction on the road.

lawrencehl
post Aug 24 2023, 03:01 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 24 2023, 11:05 AM)
HPE? cons side:
1. Small 12 inch tire diameter, less stable on high speed highway. Good thing is the top speed is 127 kmph only.
2. Since its tops 127 kmph, you can change the speed ring in the front (or back) i forgot, to the unrestricted one, then it will increase to more than 130 kmph, but remember the point no 1.

Many GTS owner changed to Gilera 13inch rims for more traction on the road.
Thanks for sharing, I think it will be not an issue for me since my average speed is just 80-100 seldom ride more than 110-120.

Not sure is that I'm still not use to it, after tested I just found out the handle is little bit heavy on low speed for narrow road u turn compared to my 250 scooter and seat slightly high for me if can be lower down 20-30mm it will be feel more confident when stopping.

Seems like very less vespa owner over here?

This post has been edited by lawrencehl: Aug 24 2023, 03:02 PM
sikongma
post Aug 24 2023, 05:09 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 3 2022, 10:23 AM)
TS, don't think too much about what others say about expensive maintenance etc. Vespa IS a lifestyle bike but like a lifestyle bike, if you only ride on weekends, maintenance is not that expensive as you won't be doing too many km per year.

Second thing, Vespa have very active community and finding parts and support is not difficult. Beats buying those shitty China bikes.

Thirdly, it's a bout style and attraction. You in Vespa, ppl look at you... think you're stylish. You in those cruisers... ppl think macho uncles, you in sportsbikes... kaki lumba. However, in a Vespa... you're just a cool dude and the attract babes factor is much MUCH higher vs cruisers/naked/sports/caferacers.
praetorion
post Aug 25 2023, 12:22 PM

289 posts

For me, the only reason GTS make sense if you always 2 up. Otherwise the 150 is good enough give you don't go fast.

The biggest flaw is the small wheel which isnt forgiving when used in motor lane in KV.

Coming from kapchai to vespa, the experience riding a vespa vs other scooter of the same capacity, overall is a better riding experience. mostly due to the metal body frame.

For daily commute, it depends if you are ok with the short service interval. 3k km as per motoplex.to me it is too short, or you can follow the official schedule.

Another downside, since the body is metal, the moment you drop or scratch, there goes the paint work.

One last thing, the led headlight not exactly bright so if you do a lot of night riding, you will need to be extra careful.

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 25 2023, 10:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(sikongma @ Aug 24 2023, 05:09 PM)
TS, don't think too much about what others say about expensive maintenance etc. Vespa IS a lifestyle bike but like a lifestyle bike, if you only ride on weekends, maintenance is not that expensive as you won't be doing too many km per year.

Second thing, Vespa have very active community and finding parts and support is not difficult. Beats buying those shitty China bikes.

Thirdly, it's a bout style and attraction. You in Vespa, ppl look at you... think you're stylish. You in those cruisers... ppl think macho uncles, you in sportsbikes... kaki lumba. However, in a Vespa... you're just a cool dude and the attract babes factor is much MUCH higher vs cruisers/naked/sports/caferacers.
Totally understand your take here.
I am, however, not a fashion guy.
Hence took me all the while pondering about getting one.
xnobys
post Aug 28 2023, 04:13 PM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

Very curious. Want to ask about CVT system in most scooters. Can I mix rollers of various weights like this:

0.0315sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:44 PM