Pondering Vespa

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 3 2022, 10:23 AM, updated 3y ago

194 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,

What's your opinion / experience of owning a Vespa?

Not meant for zoom zoom lah, but around maintaining it, any TLC required and etc.

Anything to look out for?
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 5 2022, 08:13 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 4 2022, 06:46 PM)
Maintenance is more expensive than Jepunis counterpart.. u know la Italian brand even though it's Vietmoy made..

Example belts only either original or Malossi Kevlar.. so no Mitsuboshi and other alternatives

Then tayar.. special size 12.. since not many other scooter brand/model still using this size.. make the choices limited and expensive.

Aftermarket parts, also expensive than Jepunis.. Racing Boy vs Malossi, JCosta, Polini

Good side is.. Body is besi.. not much plastic cover parts.. 2nd hand price.. maintained, or even increase.. yes like gold.. haha..
Ah thanks... means prepare to pay more, and parts not easily available if you are at kampung.

What with the besi body? Some friend told me it's very mahkaolanfan to repair if I drop the bike, but plastic coverset can change easily.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 5 2022, 08:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 5 2022, 05:02 PM)
This frame

All besi so if you dent the back side especially, then GG.. have to go ketuk..
Oh boy... now I get it!

hmm... have to think think about vespa even though really like it, but like it as in handbags to woman.

Thanks for the details!

TSWH4CockcooBird
post Feb 16 2023, 10:34 PM

194 posts

Given up pondering Vespa 🤣
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Feb 17 2023, 08:51 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(praetorion @ Feb 17 2023, 01:59 AM)
what do you want from the vespa? a second bike for fun and ride around town?

Vespa is in my heart since I was a kid.

The cuteness, the shape, the whatever jest it comes with.

Not about ride around, but being seen in one.

That's the problem with Vespa biggrin.gif

As I got more grey matters and got more practical, had to fight off the evil of "want" vs "need" of Vespa.

Of course I am looking at the VTS300 but seriously, nothing to shout about.
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 25 2023, 10:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(sikongma @ Aug 24 2023, 05:09 PM)
TS, don't think too much about what others say about expensive maintenance etc. Vespa IS a lifestyle bike but like a lifestyle bike, if you only ride on weekends, maintenance is not that expensive as you won't be doing too many km per year.

Second thing, Vespa have very active community and finding parts and support is not difficult. Beats buying those shitty China bikes.

Thirdly, it's a bout style and attraction. You in Vespa, ppl look at you... think you're stylish. You in those cruisers... ppl think macho uncles, you in sportsbikes... kaki lumba. However, in a Vespa... you're just a cool dude and the attract babes factor is much MUCH higher vs cruisers/naked/sports/caferacers.
Totally understand your take here.
I am, however, not a fashion guy.
Hence took me all the while pondering about getting one.

0.0175sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:15 AM