Renew passport MY, Questions & sharing

TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 1 2022, 09:44 PM, updated 2y ago

1,841 posts

Hi, I plan to renew my passport (first before booking my hotels and flight) but wondering on the "if did not receive any email after 3 days, can straight go to your selected branch to collect". What is that 3 days means?

Here's an example:
Monday (today) - do ntg
Tuesday (2/8/22) - submit all relevant documents to the immigration website (assuming all green light)
Wed
Thurs
Fri (5/8/22) - is this day considered "after 3 days" or I need to wait until Saturday (6/8/22) only is considered "after 3 days"?

Just need the clarification on that "after 3 days". Thanks!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Nov 14 2022, 09:44 AM
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 1 2022, 09:56 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 1 2022, 09:53 PM)
Why don’t u just call immigration dept?
Trying luck here to see if there's some good feedback from fellow forumers
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 1 2022, 09:58 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(akamaru607 @ Aug 1 2022, 09:57 PM)
Yes, you can go on Friday, remember there is long prayer break so it's either early morning or after 2pm if remember correctly
Thanks for the confirmation. Anyways, which one would you personally recommend to go as the Q may be shorter or the process is faster? (Klang Valley)
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 1 2022, 10:27 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Aug 1 2022, 10:08 PM)
Sorry I wanna tumpang tanya.

Someone said it is mandatory to print out the receipt on paper when retrieving the passport. Is this true?

I only keep soft copy for now.
Print only. I believe it's okay to produce hardcopy "evidence" to them.

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Aug 1 2022, 10:17 PM)
I just renewed mine. Just submit online and come the next day. No need to wait 3 days.
Wow! Really? Like submit today, tmr go collect already? Did u get any email from them at all?
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 1 2022, 11:33 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Aug 1 2022, 11:28 PM)
I actually went there a day before to enquire. The officer said no need to wait 3 days. It is first come first served basis anyway. Not that they are going to pre-print your passport and wait for you to turn up. They will print on the spot. So, applied online and wen the next day. No email. Took me less than 2 hours to get mine.
Interesting. May I know which outlet is this?
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 2 2022, 01:40 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Aug 1 2022, 10:01 PM)
Usually it means 3 working days.
Especially if you submit late Tuesday.
QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Aug 1 2022, 10:17 PM)
I just renewed mine. Just submit online and come the next day. No need to wait 3 days.

So I've done mine just now just a few minutes pass 12pm. Status as checked @ 1:30pm shows "Permohonan dalam process".
So, can I walk in to my selected branch this Friday?
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 3 2022, 07:23 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 3 2022, 12:55 AM)
I thought u can leave the passport number field blank when buying flight ticket? Or use the current number?
No need renew before buy ticket right?
Most airlines dont ask for passport number. In my case, the one I bought did not ask. Apparently AA also dont ask for it.

QUOTE(Dr Jan Itor @ Aug 3 2022, 02:43 AM)
TS I recommend going to Mini UTC Keramat. Less people and the staff there are quite polite and patient.
I’ve paid n chosen my branch. Saw on GMaps reviews on the place I plan to go has very good reviews + recently.
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 3 2022, 10:18 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 3 2022, 09:59 AM)
thats why the question, why u like kancheong renew passport? when u flying?
Scared cannot collect/make on time.
Next month lol.
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 9 2022, 09:25 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(pointbreak @ Aug 9 2022, 08:46 AM)
Can walk in now or still need to complete at website?
Walk in for certain criteria only - senior citizen, OKU, first timers and something else. cant' rmb
TSPoisonSoul
post Aug 9 2022, 10:47 AM

1,841 posts

Oh btw guys, I've done mine. Forgot update.
I went to Kelana Jaya's one. Quite fast. Arrived around 7. Entered @ 8-ish, serviced me around 8:20 then 8:30 got the email already to collect (officer told me once get email, wait an hour). Stroll around the area and settled for mamak. Then go in collect @ 930 +-. Done. In out in around 2.5hrs.
TSPoisonSoul
post Sep 9 2022, 01:23 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Sep 9 2022, 08:32 AM)
I paid online few days ago and got the receipt. Photo sure will reject. So far haven't received any email on collection.

How do I proceed? Do I just print the receipt and go queue? Will they take new photo on the spot? The location is based on previous passport location UTC pudu.

Edit: just checked the status online. Application is still processing.

Should I wait another week? Or just go? Earlier posts suggest that the application process should be instant.
Wait 3 days after 1st submission. If you already got the email say photo is rejected, go to the immigration where you already selected earlier. Line up and you’ll take a new photo on the spot so remember to wear passport photo appropriate attire!
TSPoisonSoul
post Nov 14 2022, 07:13 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(Horatio_D @ Nov 14 2022, 06:20 PM)
To be safe , go after 1 week. you will not received email.
funny thing is that ,i received email notification to come and collect after i hv done my passport.
Lol I already make passport, collect passport, flew to my destination, back already and now planning another one already.
TSPoisonSoul
post Feb 1 2023, 06:24 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Feb 1 2023, 03:57 PM)
where can find list of offices?
I guess its all the JIM offices?

TSPoisonSoul
post Apr 29 2023, 10:41 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(Adelyyne @ Apr 28 2023, 04:32 PM)
Hi. I'm looking to apply a passport for my mum. She's 80 years old this year and is eligible for the 50% discount, right??

Thing is she had lost her old passport and we can't find it.

Do we go to make a police report first?? Thanks.
I think that's the standard procedure right? If you lost your passport, you got to report to the police and get a police report.

As for the 50% discount and others, sorry. I don't have any idea.
TSPoisonSoul
post Mar 12 2024, 07:34 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Mar 12 2024, 06:53 AM)
Sure or not? The other day i went kelana jaya at 7 already long queue until the mamak and beyond leh.. somemore when come my turn take no have to wait 50 more ppl... waited 3 hrs plus to be my turn when my turn process the documents etc then ask to wait again another 1 hr plus for collection.. all in all half day gone..

You sure what you mention above accurate? Dont bullshit ok.. all i know and i withness my own eyes kelana jaya everytime is full and long queue one to make passport.... dont bullshit and give ppl wrong info!! The queue is super long if you dont come early.. i ask some those in the queue they say come as early as 5pm ( kiasu) and queue if you want to be below 10 in the queue...
Sir/Madam, don't simply throw accusations. See the date of when I posted it. Check your calendar and see what year it is now.

Things may have changes since then. My experience almost 2 years ago may not 100% reflect today's situation. Please always check when the post is and see if it's recently or long enough for any processes to change.

Have a good day ahead. nod.gif

0.0444sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:48 AM