PSA: Unauthorized Credit Card transaction, bootcampmind.com

TSlytros
post Aug 1 2022, 04:35 PM, updated 4y ago

401 posts

Recently i was just doing a periodic check on my credit card transactions and identified one transaction which i don't recognize. The amount was RM98 to bootcampmind.com. No sms notification received for this transaction.

Website also look very sus, looks like a front for scamming.

So, immediately i contacted my bank to report the unauthorized transaction and cancel the card. Now need to wait for new card to be issued and need to update whatever autodebit i had before.
In terms of credit card info stored by merchants, so far i saved the credit card info with Steam, Shopee, TnG. Boost, Grab.

So just a reminder to everyone, do check your credit card transactions from time to time, even before the monthly statement is issued.

Sekian laporan saya.
tomato people
post Aug 1 2022, 04:42 PM

Tomato fan
1,730 posts

Lucky mine just 1 usd from cerebralgeniusportal

Quickly call bank for unauthorized transaction
c00lbeans P
post Aug 1 2022, 04:48 PM

Probation

thx for sharing. i also kena similar fraud, at first thought its exact same as yours, but i check back the screenshot its for bootcampbrain.com. luckily only for RM5.

which bank card u have? mine is maybank and i got the sms notification thats when i reported it. and i registered the card in grab, shopee and possibly tng. lets see if we can narrow down further...
TSlytros
post Aug 1 2022, 04:51 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Aug 1 2022, 04:48 PM)
thx for sharing. i also kena similar fraud, at first thought its exact same as yours, but i check back the screenshot its for bootcampbrain.com. luckily only for RM5.

which bank card u have? mine is maybank and i got the sms notification thats when i reported it. and i registered the card in grab, shopee and possibly tng. lets see if we can narrow down further...
Mine was HSBC. The transaction was a week ago. Scary weh. Lucky only one transaction.
4eyeco
post Aug 1 2022, 04:55 PM

184 posts

mine was citibank for USD1. hmm seems like a lot of people kena

my card was saved in shopee.

though i saved the same card in tng long time ago but have removed for quite some time

This post has been edited by 4eyeco: Aug 1 2022, 04:56 PM
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 04:58 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Aug 1 2022, 04:48 PM)

All these 3 services keep credit card info. Unfortunately also these service when doing payment or topup, not verification needed right? At least need finger print scan. SMS verification is another loophole.
TSlytros
post Aug 1 2022, 04:58 PM

401 posts

Good if others also share their experience and where were their CC info saved.
RallyNight
post Aug 1 2022, 04:59 PM

1,125 posts

I got feels is shopee, cause my friend said they didnt use grab and other, we both used boost but no such transaction among us. Had same shit unknown .com on charging usd1
Both of us had card saved in shopee, maybank juga.

This post has been edited by RallyNight: Aug 1 2022, 05:02 PM
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 04:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 04:55 PM)

though i saved the same card in tng long time ago but have removed for quite some time
Only Shopee? Meaning this is dangerous. I got Shopee too. shakehead.gif
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 05:01 PM

7,938 posts

So, the money involved is deducted from Shopee Pay?
4eyeco
post Aug 1 2022, 05:03 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 1 2022, 05:01 PM)
So, the money involved is deducted from Shopee Pay?
no, deducted straight from my credit card. the transaction details do not indicate shopee pay
4eyeco
post Aug 1 2022, 05:04 PM

184 posts

also, there is no OTP/sms alert for my transaction.

i only realised when i do a random check on my transaction
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 05:12 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 05:04 PM)

That OTP is generated for local transaction but for international one I think no. The merchant should not keep the CVV or CVC number because once exposed, the card can be used anytime anywhere.
danieln
post Aug 1 2022, 05:15 PM

1,307 posts

same here. kena on saturday evening on my hsbc. lucky RM5 only.

it was from flewershop.com.
ycs
post Aug 1 2022, 05:25 PM

4,229 posts

few months back kena USD1 on citibank, got sms, then immediate cancel/replace card
Ichibanichi
post Aug 1 2022, 05:43 PM

327 posts

I kena 5 transactions totaling about USD113. All happen on same date. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSlytros
post Aug 1 2022, 06:10 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Aug 1 2022, 05:43 PM)
I kena 5 transactions totaling about USD113. All happen on same date.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Ouch. Managed to get back the money?
Singh_Kalan
post Aug 1 2022, 07:04 PM

2,033 posts

I kena RM98 too (eastplaystore).
HSBC CC. Got save card info on Shopee, Foodpanda
ahhann
post Aug 1 2022, 07:07 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

Same kena, MYR400 at some china site for cheap smart watch. Recieved MAE notification right when the transaction trigger. No save card any where. Summary is our card info leaked. Some transaction do not need OTP. Just need card number and CVV number, which whole Malaysia info leaked don't know how many times Dee.
moiskyrie
post Aug 1 2022, 07:11 PM

3,217 posts

Mine last time maybank, fee hundred usd....damn....
That time mco pulak...
ZeneticX
post Aug 1 2022, 07:15 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

this is why i no longer save cc info during checkout nowadays

rather have that few secs of inconvinience entering cc everytime rather than the bigger inconvinience of having to call up your bank, cancel your card, wait for new card etc
andrekua2
post Aug 1 2022, 08:16 PM

13,472 posts

Credit card also not so scary. The most scary is maxis mobile number payment. My dad kena RM800 in his maxis mobile billing from an unknown merchant. Usually it will appear Google name with transaction id if buying from play store. However it shown another name and only by calling maxis then only provided Google transaction id. However both maxis and google were both not helpful at all. Google denied any wrongdoings and refused to refund. Maxis reiterate must deal with Google and despite me filling an mcmc report along with screenshot of email conversation with Google, screenshot of my dad Google account with no purchase history, screenshot of my dad Google pay with zero payment information, maxis still refused to budge. So all of you with maxis postpaid better call them to disabled this Google Pay thing that's enabled by default.

I think this is the improved version of the sms registration which rake up hundreds in billing.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Aug 1 2022, 08:19 PM
Johannlo
post Aug 1 2022, 08:53 PM

Kuli
372 posts

I also just kena. Citibank card 5 times USD 0.00 transactions one shot.

Called and report, they blocked my card and reissue me new card. Aihh.

My card was binded in a lot of website. Shopee, AIA, Lazada, airasia, etc. so can’t pinpoint which system is compromised.

delphine.88
post Aug 1 2022, 08:58 PM

143 posts

Same issue with Citibank card. Multiple attempt to charge my card but they key in wrong cvv.
Success attempt usd100 on onlyfans lol.
Terminate the card directly.

Card saved in tng eWallet and shopee only
Cyberman2
post Aug 1 2022, 09:10 PM

327 posts

Ya. I also kena recently with iqbraingame.com for RM98

Just reported via dispute transaction form.

Maybe i need to cancel the current card and get new one also
TSlytros
post Aug 1 2022, 10:13 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(Cyberman2 @ Aug 1 2022, 09:10 PM)
Ya. I also kena recently with iqbraingame.com for RM98

Just reported via dispute transaction form.

Maybe i need to cancel the current card and get new one also
Might as well cancel, already compromised. Similar style ah, charge to this dubious websites.
eddievh
post Aug 1 2022, 11:48 PM

3,218 posts

Me too kena yesterday, rm5 use it at agilitytraining.com , only store for grab usage. Shopper and Lazada got used this card but didn't store it.
xHj09
post Aug 2 2022, 12:04 AM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

wife kena from blademeal.com

in USD, early last month. after conversion RM400+

cc not used for any online transactions, online transaction usually use another lower limit card.

i think it's random?
sl!mer
post Aug 2 2022, 11:17 AM

24 posts

kena last month from fb.me/ads
few transaction for rm87
maybank visa, card saved lazada/shopee
cancel card, get new card. all amount refunded by bank
TrialGone
post Aug 2 2022, 11:41 AM

603 posts

Those likely charges to verify ur cc only. After that they will refund back.
4eyeco
post Aug 2 2022, 11:51 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(TrialGone @ Aug 2 2022, 11:41 AM)
Those likely charges to verify ur cc only. After that they will refund back.
i dont think so.

if to verify cc no only, it will happen the first time i saved the cc info.

this charge is by some random training website. so most likely is unauthorised transaction
TrialGone
post Aug 2 2022, 12:25 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 2 2022, 11:51 AM)
i dont think so.

if to verify cc no only, it will happen the first time i saved the cc info.

this charge is by some random training website. so most likely is unauthorised transaction
I'm just saying. Some sites do charg USD1 just to confirm. I think apple also do same thing.
Cyberman2
post Aug 2 2022, 01:00 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 1 2022, 10:13 PM)
Might as well cancel, already compromised. Similar style ah, charge to this dubious websites.
Just called my bank to cancelled and bank immediately cancelled my card.

Thanks for bring up this issue.. thumbup.gif
Avangelice
post Aug 2 2022, 01:09 PM

5,272 posts

From the looks of it most issues stem from shopee
TSlytros
post Aug 2 2022, 02:30 PM

401 posts

There are also cases no CC info saved to any platform, so it may also be our CC info has been leaked. One reason why i decided to stick to one credit card only. Easier to monitor and manage.
Twins10
post Aug 2 2022, 03:11 PM

919 posts

My shopee cash n coins disappeared for 3 days, kept showing network error. Just got it back yesterday. I thought stolen already. Gonna avoid loading unless I buy something.
Hobbez
post Aug 2 2022, 03:44 PM

1,231 posts

So looks like the culprit is Shopee? And possibly TNG.

May be more than one.

For those of you kena and using Shopee, are you using their wallet? They request sensitive info from you to activate.

I know this advice won't be accepted by most people, but it's best to avoid all e-wallets.

This post has been edited by Hobbez: Aug 2 2022, 03:45 PM
toiletwater
post Aug 2 2022, 03:47 PM

531 posts

Mine kena UniversalStudiosJapan. Been there once back in 2019. Dunno why they charge me again in 2021.

beverlykho
post Aug 3 2022, 11:22 AM

501 posts

My fraud was with Google Bigo Taiwan at the end of May. 2 transactions totalling RM10.34.

Now still fighting HSBC to get the transactions refunded. Over the last two months, have had to make multiple fraud reports with HSBC because when I follow-up on my report, the Telephone Banking agent keeps telling me they can't find it.

If HSBC can't settle this by the end of August, I'm cancelling my HSBC cards and reporting to BNM.

This post has been edited by beverlykho: Aug 3 2022, 11:23 AM
Alternate Gabriel
post Aug 3 2022, 11:34 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(sl!mer @ Aug 2 2022, 11:17 AM)
kena last month from fb.me/ads
few transaction for rm87
maybank visa, card saved lazada/shopee
cancel card, get new card. all amount refunded by bank
Previously a lot of users in Kopitiam provided awareness on fraud related to saving the card in shopping platform. U didn’t read about it?

TSlytros
post Aug 13 2022, 12:14 PM

401 posts

These cases can also be due to the ipay88 data leak which was in the news recently. I remembered doing payments via this gateway, but cannot remember for what already.
fluotone
post Aug 13 2022, 01:01 PM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

data leaks… data leaks everywhere. honestly isn’t there a way to enforce tac/code for all transactions??
RallyNight
post Aug 13 2022, 04:11 PM

1,125 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Aug 13 2022, 02:01 PM)
data leaks… data leaks everywhere. honestly isn’t there a way to enforce tac/code for all transactions??
The shit is the tac only available in malaysia but not oversea, so people could steal your card and use it without tac.
KopiChia
post Aug 13 2022, 04:11 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 1 2022, 07:04 PM)
I kena RM98 too (eastplaystore). 
HSBC CC.  Got save card info on Shopee, Foodpanda
Seems panda won't allow removal of cc/debit unless you replace with another card if not mistaken 2 month ago I chasing them to fix this issue. They even call me acknowledged the issue but claim will close report and fix when they can. But they didn't. Now I given up chasing them because I lost my card 😅 so I leave it there but instead I am using boost to pay no info recorded.
cfyong2020
post Aug 13 2022, 05:34 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 1 2022, 04:35 PM)
Recently i was just doing a periodic check on my credit card transactions and identified one transaction which i don't recognize. The amount was RM98 to bootcampmind.com. No sms notification received for this transaction.

Website also look very sus, looks like a front for scamming.

So, immediately i contacted my bank to report the unauthorized transaction and cancel the card. Now need to wait for new card to be issued and need to update whatever autodebit i had before.
In terms of credit card info stored by merchants, so far i saved the credit card info with Steam, Shopee, TnG. Boost, Grab.

So just a reminder to everyone, do check your credit card transactions from time to time, even before the monthly statement is issued.

Sekian laporan saya.
Wuut I have the same rm98 from similar website from cyprus...hsbc cc as well. Is a nightmare to call their Cs, phone on hold for 3 hours...open loud speaker, even need to charge halfway
bigduck
post Aug 13 2022, 05:36 PM

156 posts

i kena 100usd from this site called fitnezio

ysc
post Aug 13 2022, 06:22 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(tomato people @ Aug 1 2022, 04:42 PM)
Lucky mine just 1 usd from cerebralgeniusportal

Quickly call bank for unauthorized transaction

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 1 2022, 04:58 PM)
All these 3 services keep credit card info. Unfortunately also these service when doing payment or topup, not verification needed right? At least need finger print scan. SMS verification is another loophole.
QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 05:04 PM)

Be careful of these $1 transactions.

Because they can trigger recurring transactions and the banks won’t flag them since they’re recurring.

This is the same reason why when you use those Shopee pay, initially it’s like $1 then they refund you.

After that when your balance low you can easily trigger a top-up from Shopee without OTP/ additional check from your bank right?
Because the top-ups are recurring transactions.
NarcSurvivor P
post Aug 13 2022, 06:36 PM

Probation

I had similar issue during TNG reload back in July 31, it failed but my card got charged Rm98 instead to some random website called greasymind.com. Had to call bank to dispute the charge and stopped my bank card.

Posted to ask on TnG ewallet thread but received near-no response (post #13797)

Only used TnG (didn’t use any other ewallet apps) and didn’t saved any card info because I wanted to avoid problems like this. Suspected something is wrong with TnG servers or their app itself.
Zot
post Aug 15 2022, 09:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Aug 13 2022, 06:22 PM)
Be careful of these $1 transactions.

Because they can trigger recurring transactions and the banks won’t flag them since they’re recurring.

This is the same reason why when you use those Shopee pay, initially it’s like $1 then they refund you.

After that when your balance low you can easily trigger a top-up from Shopee without OTP/ additional check from your bank right?
Because the top-ups are recurring transactions.
This is why not to set auto Top-Up just because you are lazy smile.gif
andrekua2
post Aug 15 2022, 11:00 AM

13,472 posts

I checked my gmail and found that many are using services from this company. Most of the transactions were related to parking app namely Flexiparking which also responsible for SmartSelangor parking app.

Even my car insurance renewal with AXA also went through this.

TSlytros
post Aug 19 2022, 12:02 PM

401 posts

Update on my unauthorized transaction, HSBC has offset the amount after 3 weeks of my dispute report.
sjz
post Aug 21 2022, 04:28 PM

3,875 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 15 2022, 11:00 AM)
I checked my gmail and found that many are using services from this company. Most of the transactions were related to parking app namely Flexiparking which also responsible for SmartSelangor parking app.

Even my car insurance renewal with AXA also went through this.

even you buy movies GSC is using this stupid gateway doh.gif doh.gif
iXora.ix
post Aug 22 2022, 08:00 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

mine kena
hsbc 22usd cccamshop
pbb rm5 eshoptalent.com (supp kena, pbb cs call supp )
affin wothoshop.com usd 1

most likely saved card from tngd shopeepay and autodebit ipay88
poweredbydiscuz
post Aug 22 2022, 08:07 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Aug 22 2022, 08:00 AM)
mine kena
hsbc 22usd cccamshop
pbb rm5 eshoptalent.com (supp kena, pbb cs call supp )
affin wothoshop.com usd 1

most likely saved card from tngd shopeepay and autodebit ipay88
Wow you kena from 3 bank's cc? Was it within a short period of time?
iXora.ix
post Aug 22 2022, 08:10 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Aug 22 2022, 08:07 AM)
Wow you kena from 3 bank's cc? Was it within a short period of time?
yep. with 1-2 days. mostly card is saved card from shopeepay tngd. the affin one mostly for bigpay and other ipay88 gateway
poweredbydiscuz
post Aug 22 2022, 08:20 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Aug 22 2022, 08:10 AM)
yep. with 1-2 days. mostly card is saved card from shopeepay tngd. the affin one mostly for bigpay and other ipay88 gateway
That's just crazy.

Speaking of shopeepay, I always remove the card after payment, so the saved card was always empty. BUT one day when I try to make payment in checkout page, it suddenly shows a card that I used before. I immediately check the saved card setting and there's nothing there. When I go back to checkout page again the card is gone. Really scary stuff.

Now I highly doubt that our saved card was really ever "removed" in these apps.
gundamsp01
post Aug 22 2022, 08:43 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 19 2022, 12:02 PM)
Update on my unauthorized transaction, HSBC has offset the amount after 3 weeks of my dispute report.
just curious, you can only raise dispute report after the amount has been posted to your statement right?
TSlytros
post Aug 22 2022, 08:58 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Aug 22 2022, 08:43 AM)
just curious, you can only raise dispute report after the amount has been posted to your statement right?
Yes, i believe this is correct.
iXora.ix
post Aug 22 2022, 09:11 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Aug 22 2022, 08:20 AM)
That's just crazy.

Speaking of shopeepay, I always remove the card after payment, so the saved card was always empty. BUT one day when I try to make payment in checkout page, it suddenly shows a card that I used before. I immediately check the saved card setting and there's nothing there. When I go back to checkout page again the card is gone. Really scary stuff.

Now I highly doubt that our saved card was really ever "removed" in these apps.
right... all has one in common, already in used in ipay88 and also shopeepay/tngd. maybe its my bad luck though doh.gif
snow
post Aug 22 2022, 11:19 AM

785 posts

DYNAGADGETSONLINECOM 90+ USD. Public bank card. Credit card was used in online websites using ipay88 before. Disputed and amount is offset in around one week.
raymondwong1808
post Aug 22 2022, 11:59 AM

283 posts

2 or 3 years back. I noticed my card being swiped for few time at hotel in paris for about near to 2k EUR when i cross check my statement on web. There is no way i am having that few transactions since all this while i never been to europe. immediately call the cc center to lodge a claim report. The company cancelled all my credit card and issue me another new cards. At the same time reimbursed those cost back to me. What a relieved.

This post has been edited by raymondwong1808: Aug 22 2022, 11:59 AM
toyperson
post Aug 30 2022, 09:03 AM

49 posts

just kena rm75.. this card saved in shopeepay....bodoh punya ipay88
TSlytros
post Aug 30 2022, 10:51 AM

401 posts

Ya, with the amount of scams and information leaks nowadays, just make it a habit to check banking transactions once a week at least.
SUSjvcpcv55
post Aug 31 2022, 10:20 PM

627 posts

joice11
post Sep 1 2022, 03:43 PM

870 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 19 2022, 12:02 PM)
how u contact them to report the dispute and cancer card, been call and chat, no answer and reply?
TSlytros
post Sep 1 2022, 09:41 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Sep 1 2022, 03:43 PM)
how u contact them to report the dispute and cancer card, been call and chat, no answer and reply?
I called their CS a month ago. So maybe they were not too occupied then?

0.0354sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:15 AM