PSA: Unauthorized Credit Card transaction, bootcampmind.com

Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 04:58 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Aug 1 2022, 04:48 PM)
thx for sharing. i also kena similar fraud, at first thought its exact same as yours, but i check back the screenshot its for bootcampbrain.com. luckily only for RM5.

which bank card u have? mine is maybank and i got the sms notification thats when i reported it. and i registered the card in grab, shopee and possibly tng. lets see if we can narrow down further...
All these 3 services keep credit card info. Unfortunately also these service when doing payment or topup, not verification needed right? At least need finger print scan. SMS verification is another loophole.
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 04:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 04:55 PM)
mine was citibank for USD1. hmm seems like a lot of people kena

my card was saved in shopee.

though i saved the same card in tng long time ago but have removed for quite some time
Only Shopee? Meaning this is dangerous. I got Shopee too. shakehead.gif
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 05:01 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 04:55 PM)
mine was citibank for USD1. hmm seems like a lot of people kena

my card was saved in shopee.

though i saved the same card in tng long time ago but have removed for quite some time
So, the money involved is deducted from Shopee Pay?
Zot
post Aug 1 2022, 05:12 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 1 2022, 05:04 PM)
also, there is no OTP/sms alert for my transaction.

i only realised when i do a random check on my transaction
That OTP is generated for local transaction but for international one I think no. The merchant should not keep the CVV or CVC number because once exposed, the card can be used anytime anywhere.
Zot
post Aug 15 2022, 09:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Aug 13 2022, 06:22 PM)
Be careful of these $1 transactions.

Because they can trigger recurring transactions and the banks won’t flag them since they’re recurring.

This is the same reason why when you use those Shopee pay, initially it’s like $1 then they refund you.

After that when your balance low you can easily trigger a top-up from Shopee without OTP/ additional check from your bank right?
Because the top-ups are recurring transactions.
This is why not to set auto Top-Up just because you are lazy smile.gif

0.0205sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:59 PM