More expensive wiper is worth it?
zak3
Aug 1 2022, 11:22 AM

bought DuraEdge wiper 5 years back. 50% discount back then at Ace Hardware for old myvi. still serving well.. that time is still lifetime warranty.. (later version down to 5 years then 2 years only) i thought this wiper worn already.. but after polishing windscreen with cerium-oxide (watermark issue).. the wiper still working very well wiping rain water..
the wiper frame rusted anyway at the joints (normal frame type).
other cars using cheap silicon frameless wipers.. usually last 3-6 months only..
This post has been edited by zak3: Aug 1 2022, 11:23 AM
zak3
Aug 25 2022, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Aug 23 2022, 04:31 PM) After reading all the comments here, it seems that the best bet is to buy cheap and replace it as needed because the top end wiper life varies with different factors. So I bought bosch advantage. RM15 for the pair. I use it for month, before suddenly the driver side become all juddery and skipping so bad that it causes the wiper to come off from the hook and left black rubbery mark all over the windshield. Upon closer inspection, it was caused by the wiper blade being 1 inch too long. This causes the edge of the wiper blade does not have the proper force pushing down on the windshield. My car is old Proton Persona, most seller says it uses 19" and 21", but I do think the driver side could use a shorter blade. Tried swapping the 19" blade on driver side, the wiper works just fine no problem. One other factor might be caused by the design of the blade. The cheap bosch advantage uses frame wiper design. Frameless wiper have better force applied on the windshield, eliminating juddering problem. i use shorter 1"-2" also on my cars. those long wiping is useless coz at the edge on windscreen (especially the top part), nobody is viewing from there..
zak3
Aug 30 2022, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Aug 26 2022, 04:23 PM) new wiper blade comes in mail... install, same thing happen. tried adjust wiper angle, little difference. use clay bar on windshield, not much change. took car shampoo and bucket of water, give the windshield a quick wash.. well what do you know... zero wiper noise. if got watermark, can polish with cerium-oxide.. proven all watermark gone.. but need polisher or power tools (cordless drill also can use.) i tried liquid, cream type watermark remover, all cannot jalan..
zak3
Sep 1 2022, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Sep 1 2022, 08:35 AM) bought and installed expensive wiper before, kena stolen and worse thing is I didnt noticed, on wiper, and there is no wiper. lucky no scratch to my windscreen but cannot use wiper during rain. SHIT after that dont date to use expensive wiper anymore. PIAA?