Johor Bahru - What to eat ?

rx330
post Jul 26 2022, 09:42 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jul 26 2022, 09:17 AM)
Thank you for the feedback, I’ll keep that for the future revisit. Not going back so soon, got other places to go to fill the daily food quota.

In between Ah Meng vs Ah Kaw, which one is better in your opinion ? Got ppl told me Ah Kaw is the oldest outlet offering such dishes.
ah kaw also selling the similar san lou mee hoon
food should be quite similar
rx330
post Jan 5 2023, 10:01 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 5 2023, 09:10 AM)
I went to the branch at Taman Sentosa this morning, it was a corner shop lot. Unfortunately it was closed.

Any other eatery like this? Not the tourist trap. A lot places here already get used to pancung Singaporean”s.
dont say like tat, during covid, no sporean come in, johoreans also kena pancung

they have another branch at permas jaya, which is not too far from sentosa

if you in town, you can go to taman Maju jaya (aka newspaper street) there should have a few for your to try in the morning
bkt, ktk, dimsum ( personally nothing to shout about), otak+ nasi lemak+ mee siam, Teochew old school noodles( only weekends) and a few others
rx330
post Jan 5 2023, 10:34 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 5 2023, 10:26 AM)
Don”t get me wrong. Tai Hong is worth the value & the foods is great ( not a tourist trap).

What I means was the other locations. Later I will post some example with the food prices & the quality 😅.

Thanks for the recommendation , will make the effort to visit all the locations stated.
yea, tai hong still ok
the son still make sure everything is all right daily at all the outlets
rx330
post Jan 5 2023, 12:07 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jan 5 2023, 11:35 AM)
Maju Jaya/Newspaper Street

Otak Shiduoli (Storey, they used to be at Jln Storey), their nasi lemak, mee siam and otak is quite good. They open very early, around 7.30~8?

Soon Chiang BKT, dark soup type. They also have pig stomach pepper soup. Pretty good, I come here for lunch sometimes.

Yi Bao mee hoon kueh, another popular lunch destination, they are usually packed, and close by 4+ They have various types of noodles to choose from, I like the "you mian".

Ka Ka (Jia Jia) dim sum, pretty generic dim sum, can find better ones.

KTK, I don't like it because it has the "porky" smell, but some people like my cousin prefer it.

Further down the street (away from Plaza Pelangi) there is also a beef noodle store run by a China lady, it's not bad too, eaten there a few times.
tats my fav ktk in the world vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
hahahaha order the lean meat if u do give it a try again, this ktk older or same age as me hahahah

oh ya, another femes one is the soon lee mee Hoon kueh, diff from yi Bao right

itu bkt also my favourite......

mana its beef noodle, higher up the slope?
rx330
post Jan 6 2023, 09:28 AM

11,808 posts

I go gerai Yoong la, stall 30

cedar point also not cheap ler... yea stingray is expensive

chitchat I did went back to old shop before, regardless of apa rumour outside, their otak diff, not the so called storey otak, and for decades their nasi lemak were never in house made hahahahah , all outsourced
rx330
post Jan 9 2023, 01:39 PM

11,808 posts

SmokeyTheBear
today I pass by, only I notice yibao = soon lee mhk
hahahah its the same, just we both name it differently

chitchat I prefer the maju jaya one dy, morning went bungkus
itu Yit hoe one of my favourite

the night time wtm got 20 years liao ar? I dont think got so long, operation time used to be 8/9pm to 4am, then covid, now I think back to 8pm open

was famous for the Thai god/ Thai lady boss
this one is Thai style wtm

dunno sporean fav or not la, but last time is for party goers

nihility
is the nasi lemak still there? tat one is the femes one, the seafood macam not really good la
rx330
post Jan 9 2023, 03:42 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 9 2023, 02:56 PM)
Nasi lemak? which post you are referring to? Permas Jaya? I saw the seafood only, no nasi lemak la.
yea at the senibong village there one, on stilts one
rx330
post Jan 10 2023, 10:47 AM

11,808 posts

actually I haven't been to yibao for decades hahahha
warm like hell there in the afternoon
rx330
post Jan 14 2023, 11:17 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 10 2023, 04:53 PM)
I just clarified the with the person who told me about the wantan mee with 20+ years history. According to the source, no, it is not the one. It is Woon Five Nine. My source told me he used to travel to JB when he was young. Will patron the that wantan mee at night.
59 was ikan bakar at Tebrau market , then they venture into the mee soup
the mee soup they open beside ah piao wtm, is it possible he mistook it as ah piao
those days they are side by side, with tables sharing on the roadside
ah piao wtm was supplied by Yick hoe those days until ah piao sales shoot up till not enough mee I heard, then they produce their own
ah piao has quite a few branches after that, but then u know la, with branches dy the main shop hype slow down already

another old school wtm is ho Seng Kee, but They upmarket dy , shift to city square
those days need to wait 90 minutes for a bowl of wtm at the old shop, crazy
rx330
post Jan 16 2023, 09:56 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jan 14 2023, 10:34 PM)
I always ate at Ho Seng Kee at the old shop too! It was sometimes a 30~40 min wait in the morning around 8~8.30, didn't encounter 90 mins before.

Ate a few times at City Square, it started at 10.90, but it's really pricey now, one bowl is 14 I think. Haven't been there since.
maybe I exaggerated tongue.gif but weekends is bad those days

yea rm 14 easily, I still buy from there on n off if I drop by CS, my old old folks like it
every time I swipe the card is rm 100 Plus for a lunch doh.gif
rx330
post Jun 22 2023, 10:20 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(yong_c3po @ Jun 17 2023, 05:20 PM)

Any good fish and chips to recommend in Johor Bahru?
I only know of Edwards, Fish & Co, Manhatten Fish Market and George and Dragons.

Any other eateries to recommend?

Thanks!
can try lavender fish n chips
but pricing not cheap

@nihility
kulai prices seems not tat bad, town prices quite crazy nowadays

MD2 pineapples are very nice

rx330
post Jun 30 2023, 10:09 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(yong_c3po @ Jun 27 2023, 03:25 PM)

The Lavender is it situated in Taman Pelangi? Near Giant Pelangi?

Thanks! =)
yes, somewhere near there
its actually jln serampang, just nearby Giant pelangi
rx330
post Jul 6 2023, 10:57 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jul 5 2023, 03:08 PM)
Yes, it is at Jalan Serampang, Pelangi. The bakery is downstairs, with a small area for cafe seating. The Lavender restaurant L. Cafe, is up the stairs on the left after you enter the main door.

The restaurant is pricey and has (had? not sure whether they still enforce it) a minimum one food order per customer policy.

Seems like the policy, which led to a lot of complaints, was added by the owner's daughter, who happens to be my ex-classmate from primary school.
I think that policy still applies hahahha
and the food if u want to eat at the cafe downstairs, u need to takeaway from upstairs hahahah
need to pay extra for tapao too

one of the reason I did not really went to L cafe was because of that policy

rx330
post Jan 17 2024, 12:44 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 16 2024, 02:13 PM)
Kedai Makan Jadi Baru Botak (JB Botak Asam Fish)

(This image was taken from Google)

This traditional shop operated by the Chinese owner but all races are coming to dine in. Can see the photo of TMJ when he was young & grown up taken with the owner of the restaurant  being displayed on the wall with a few other famous politician. They didn't serve pork & employed muslim staffs.

The assam fish in my opinion was acceptable slightly above average but the one so memorable was their fried senangin fish. The fried senangin appearance was below average in presentation but the moment you put it into your mouth, wah! so flavorful & crispy.

This one ppl brought me go eat , don't ask me how much.
yea this one femes, next door is the femes bkt
this lumba kuda is where the femes food began, cathay laksa, beef noodle and the 2 mention above

the only time I go to eat was during covid, no crowd

nowadays shud be packed gila
rx330
post Jun 12 2025, 03:58 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 5 2025, 01:45 PM)
My crazy work-related associates keep telling me every day that JB wantan mee is amazing, and that Klang Valley's wantan mee no way to match. Sibeh beh tahan—I finally gave in and followed them to try the JB version.

Tampoi Ah B Wanton Noodles
Located in: 利顺茶餐室(Restoran Lee Soon)
Address: 34, Jalan Dato Muthuthambi, Taman Tampoi, 81200 Johor Bahru, Johor Darul Ta'zim
Only operate during lunch hour only.

Ambient : 6/10 - naturally ventilated.

Food : 9.5/10 - I have to admit, it was really good the Wantan Mee. They are using pork lard for the noodle - please consume moderately.

Value : 10/10  ( < RM 15/ pax average including drink )
ehhh how come is mee pok one, normally order mee kia

ada see the ladyboss bo brows.gif
rx330
post Jun 17 2025, 03:00 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 17 2025, 02:48 PM)

Seriously ? normal only....
laugh.gif laugh.gif
deflated liao
rx330
post Jun 18 2025, 11:09 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 18 2025, 10:05 AM)
Lol, so previously was inflated or something changed to your eye sight?

Go eat wantan mee, you all go there for other reason.
fren say punya, tat shop inconvenient for me to go tongue.gif tongue.gif
I stick to others wanton mee

the femes ho seng kee, move out from city square already, now at harimau tarum

one of the oldest wanton mee in jb

I saw in mid valley, I think hk femes michelin wanton mee also coming, but theirs is soup one la
rx330
post Jun 18 2025, 05:19 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 18 2025, 11:31 AM)
Lol, why is the JB's people so proud of their wantan mee?  They even come to Klang Valley and ask if there is any good wantan mee ! unbelievable

Thanks for the intro, will drop by next location next time.
comfort food kut

jb food tat can be proud off ar, johor laksa, cathay laksa, KTK, thats mostly johor itself punya and some Teochew mee
rx330
post Nov 4 2025, 02:21 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Oct 28 2025, 03:31 PM)
Breakfast at Mok Jiu (Beef Noodle) @ Kulai. Also adjacent to Aeon @ Kulai.

I tried the dry version with mixed beef organs and tendon, along with mixed pork innards.

Taste : 9/10
Price : 9/10
Ambient : 8/10

Total cost around RM 20/ pax (including drink)

u now base kat senai ke, so many kulai stores hahahah

senai got 2 to 3 femes near the stretch to airport, 1st the bitter gourd soup next to econsave, then further down the next exit, the Indian rice, my personal fav, but try avoid lunch time or friday lunch time, and upon exiting a femes chicky rice on ur left, same row have Korean also, but not too sure sedap or not

0.0217sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:13 PM