Johor Bahru - What to eat ?

TSnihility
post Jul 25 2022, 07:07 PM, updated 3w ago

1,595 posts

Started this thread after can”t find much opinion on JB”s foods.

JB”s people like to eat duck because a lot of Teo Chew”s descendants among the Chinese community locally. Hence 1st location going to suggest JB”s Baliban Braised Duck 八哩半卤鸭 .

Must order braised duck.

Braised pork knuckle , also another signature dish.

Braised mix organ ( intestine, tongue, ear & egg)

Bean curb

Duck horfun

Don’t ask me the pricing , I contributed by eating only this round 😄.

This post has been edited by nihility: Jul 25 2022, 07:22 PM
TSnihility
post Jul 25 2022, 10:09 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Jul 25 2022, 07:23 PM)
looks good? how's the taste?
It was good. Among all the dishes , the pork knuckle the most flavourful (8.5/10)

The other dishes , duck & mix organ , the flavour not so heavy (7/10).

The horfun (8/10).
TSnihility
post Jul 25 2022, 10:22 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(khreve @ Jul 25 2022, 08:03 PM)
that's popular(same as that noodle fish ball) but not for my tastebud,  but uncle roger might love it though(as always the M**)

i would drive 5minutes away(Tun Aminah area), eat abalone bee hoon soup or bitter guard soup better, or a cafe that serve nice burger & pasta....

15minutes away get you claypot BKT(clear soup but not SG peppery type), laksa(curry noodle), ayam penyet(original taste)

further away another very popular laksa(curry noodle), claypot BKT(black soup), ikan bakar(stingray), bitter guard soup, hokkien porridge and many more

you need try ask ask locals(i mean true local), all above in business more than 20 year(except ayam penyet), some i never been their shop before but my ex colleague tapau(ate many times) for me....
I felt the MSG content not heavy , I’m sensitive toward MSG & usually will feel very thirsty for water if the food contain excessive amount of MSG, after the meal , surprisingly I didn’t felt any thirst for water.

BKT don’t want , Klang & Kepong got so many BKT, no need go all the way to JB to waste the quota 😄. I’m interested in the abalone bihun soup near HSA , what is the shop name ? Google map is showing Ah Piaw @ Taman Sri Tebrau, it is not near HSA.
TSnihility
post Jul 25 2022, 10:35 PM

1,595 posts

2nd place to fill the stomach quota for today was at Restoran Ah Meng @ JB.

See the sign board, must order the signature wok fried bihun.

SanLou Bihun, close eye order only.

Got enough wok hei.

Best eaten hot, don’t let it get cold.

Clay pot salted fish pork belly

Red snapper fish head curry

Signature tofu - I think so so only .

French bean - also average this one.

The above average were the bihun, curry fish head & pork belly.

Don’t ask me the price , other ppl pay I eat only.
TSnihility
post Jul 26 2022, 09:17 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jul 26 2022, 12:54 AM)
Ah Meng used to be really good and one of my favourite restaurants. Unfortunately, I feel that their standard has dropped a lot....

Their kam heong fish slices is still quite good though.
Thank you for the feedback, I’ll keep that for the future revisit. Not going back so soon, got other places to go to fill the daily food quota.

In between Ah Meng vs Ah Kaw, which one is better in your opinion ? Got ppl told me Ah Kaw is the oldest outlet offering such dishes.

This post has been edited by nihility: Jul 26 2022, 09:33 AM
TSnihility
post Jul 26 2022, 08:50 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(DurianSamurai @ Jul 26 2022, 01:56 PM)
Don’t waste time with JB’s food. Nothing great in JB.
Hahaha, don’t say like that. Pity me abit, I have to go to JB quite frequent for many moons to come .

No good food also need to go eat the best out of the “nothing great” options .
TSnihility
post Jul 27 2022, 09:24 AM

1,595 posts

3rd places - Restoran Woon Kian for the Kueh Tiau Kia (local name, actually it was a hor fun soup + braised meat).

Spend RM 44 for 2 pax dine in. Average about 22/pax for dinner. Food taste - the hor fun & the cuttlefish cake tasted good only. Other only average but just don”t know why the crowd so big.
TSnihility
post Jul 27 2022, 07:30 PM

1,595 posts

Some simple Wantan Curry Mee meal at We We Kopitiam @ Ulu Tiram. Tried also their steam bun & kopi pheng.

The Curry Wantan Mee was good - flavour enough & coconut milk creamy enough - rated 8.5/10.

Steam bun & kopi was slightly above average , not enough to give lasting impression.
TSnihility
post Jul 30 2022, 07:18 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jul 30 2022, 03:59 AM)
Woon Kiang is really popular with locals & Sinkies because it is inexpensive and portions are quite big. Friday/Sat/Sun might have long queues due to the influx of Sinkies.
But yeah, I agree that the taste is only so-so.

Best Kuay Teow Kia in JB is still Hai Wan (aka Neptune), in Taman Pelangi, Jalan Sri Pelangi, two shops away from a 7-Eleven.
Their kuay teow is smooth and has great texture. 
The pig skin/egg is well braised, much tastier.
Tofu is silky smooth, can't find it anywhere else.
Lean meat or pork belly doesn't have the "pork" smell.
It is considerably more expensive than Woon Kiang, but tastes much better (imo).
Thanks , will keep this location for the next round of outstation visit.

Nearby Hai Wan, there is one restaurant named Sze Zai Hiong, they said eat shark fish . What is your opinion on this ? I haven’t visit yet .

Also got some contractors said if want to drink kopi at JB must go Ulu Tiram drink kopi. Claimed Ulu Tiram kopi the best in JB & kaw enough but didn’t give me any shop name . Got any insight on the location?
TSnihility
post Jul 30 2022, 04:57 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jul 30 2022, 12:57 PM)
I've been to Sze Zai Hiong a number of times, but never eaten shark there. My family members usually order their signature deep fried tilapia (非洲魚) in sauce, I'm not a fan of tilapia though. I just eat the stir-fry dishes like vege and meat etc. The food is not bad, it's quite a popular place. Air-conditioned and clean.
I'm pretty sure I know which Ulu Tiram coffee shop those contractors are referring to. Sunshine Coffee (previously known as Sunshine Kopitiam)
1, Jalan Beladau 19,Taman Puteri Wangsa, 81800 Ulu Tiram,Johor

There's a stall selling nice HK style chee cheong fun (char siew/prawns/mixed). The kopi-C, teh-C and toast are good. Wantan mee is ok.

Previously, they used to be in a old and big corner lot kopitiam. The food/drink was REALLY good then.
Some years back they moved to a newer and smaller shop. Food standard seems to have dropped. Maybe my taste buds are demanding.
Thanks for your reply. Will take note on the Sunshine Coffee on my next trip.
TSnihility
post Nov 14 2022, 07:09 PM

1,595 posts

Visited Sunshine Kopitiam. Ordered the Laksa (Curry Mee), half boil eggs, Kopi Peng , toast.

Laksa - 7/10, I tasted better one before.
Kopi - 7/10, I tasted better one before.
Half Boiled Eggs - 9/10
Kaya Butter toast - 6/10

Above average but not enough to give lasting impression.
TSnihility
post Nov 17 2022, 07:14 PM

1,595 posts

Breakfast at Kin Hua @ JB.

Overall experience around 6/10. The JB kopi tasted lighter compared to Klang Valley or northern region. I still prefer northern region kopi taste.

Only good thing you can see at JB, you can see a lot of Malay friends dining in Chinese operated Kopitiam.
TSnihility
post Nov 18 2022, 12:40 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Nov 18 2022, 11:41 AM)
You didn't try the HK style chee cheong fun? I think that's the only food that stands out there.
😅, no. By the time I reached there, could only see the Johor”s laksa still operating. Cannot order too much foods for the daily food quota as I”m ordering the coffee, kaya toast & half boiled eggs also. Maybe next time if I ever pass there again.

Want to ask your opinion about Ikan Bakar Tampin. How will you rate the experience there ? I went last week but because the waiting time was 1 1/2 hours, I decided to opt for other.
TSnihility
post Nov 19 2022, 09:58 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Nov 18 2022, 01:07 PM)
Can't help you with that one! Haven't been there, not a big fan of seafood. If the queue is 1.5hrs I would also look for another place.
I going to make another attempt for Ikan Bakar Tampin 😄, this round will go early.

You any locations worth to visit for breakfast & lunch ?
TSnihility
post Dec 23 2022, 09:38 PM

1,595 posts

Ya Wang @ JB for the roasted duck. Reached early morning , hence ordered the wantan noodle with Char Siew & Roasted Duck Drumstik. Costed RM 22/plate.

Abit dissapointed on the roasted duck. The taste was not the same like 10 years ago anymore. Last time the herbs flavor was very deep into the roasted duck. Still rated around 7/10 nevertheless .
TSnihility
post Dec 23 2022, 09:42 PM

1,595 posts

Lunch at Tong Guan @ JB . It was located at the other end of Kin Hua Kopitiam. 10 years ago, this shop does not exist yet.

Tried their kopi pheng & seafood laksa ( it was a curry mee) .

The kopi pheng was good, I think they added palm sugar into the kopi. Rated 9/10, it was selling at RM 9.90/ glass.

The seafood laksa was selling at RM 19.90/ bowl. Tasted above average . Rated 7/10.

TSnihility
post Jan 4 2023, 12:03 PM

1,595 posts

Tai Hong Kopitiam @ JB. This one highly recommended. Really caught me by surprise. Worth for revisist.

Ordered Mee Rebus & kopi ping. The mee rebus looked differrent & tasted amazing. The kopi ping kau & sweetness level just nice ( not too sweet ). 👍👍

TSnihility
post Jan 5 2023, 09:10 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Jan 4 2023, 03:12 PM)
I visit this place for lunch quite often, usually eat the leicha/hamcha or Penang laksa.

The yong tau foo is quite good as well. You can select what you want, and ask to add accompanying dry/soup noodles if you want.

There's one more branch in Taman Sentosa, they have the exact same menu. There is an air-conditioned section, more comfortable.
I went to the branch at Taman Sentosa this morning, it was a corner shop lot. Unfortunately it was closed.

Any other eatery like this? Not the tourist trap. A lot places here already get used to pancung Singaporean”s.
TSnihility
post Jan 5 2023, 10:26 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2023, 10:01 AM)
dont say like tat, during covid, no sporean come in, johoreans also kena pancung

they have another branch at permas jaya, which is not too far from sentosa

if you in town, you can go to taman Maju jaya (aka newspaper street) there should have a few for your to try in the morning
bkt, ktk, dimsum ( personally nothing to shout about), otak+ nasi lemak+ mee siam, Teochew old school noodles( only weekends) and a few others
Don”t get me wrong. Tai Hong is worth the value & the foods is great ( not a tourist trap).

What I means was the other locations. Later I will post some example with the food prices & the quality 😅.

Thanks for the recommendation , will make the effort to visit all the locations stated.
TSnihility
post Jan 5 2023, 10:32 AM

1,595 posts

Breakfast at Restorant Yee Swee for the Laksa ( it was a curry actually ).

The laksa was rich with the coconut milk flavour, flavorful , less spicy type. My only complaint was there seems to be price mismatched with the serving portion. This bowl cost RM 11.00/ bowl with the serving portion like Penang”s hawkers serving standard.

It tasted good but I won”t make any revisit as I personally think it is not worth the value.

0.0240sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:23 AM