Cheaper or bigger unit of the same project?, Similar layout, different size & parcel

TSSonnet Porky
post Jul 20 2022, 12:21 PM, updated 4y ago

108 posts

Hi sifus, need your opinions to decide on two units of the same project or wait for the newer phase to launch, the purpose is to own stay but I'm not sure if I want to to take exit strategy into consideration.

Option A: 1200 sqft
- similar layout to 1400 sqft unit.
- north facing outside the project, almost top floor.
- about RM 2700 instalment + RM 400 maintenance.

Option B: 1400 sqft
- similar layout with 1200 sqft unit.
- south facing the facility but not facing any other block, middle floor.
- about RM 3000 instalment + RM 500 maintenance.
- comes with about 100 sqft storage room at car park level, without electricity.

Option C: wait for newer phase launch
- layout unknown, but about 1100-1300 sqft.
- about 5% higher per sqft compared to Option A & B.

They all have 3 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms. So, putting the project itself aside, do you any opinions or suggestions? Would you pay about RM 400 more each month to have a 200 sqft bigger unit + extra storage at car park level? Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif
PAChamp
post Jul 20 2022, 12:36 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(Sonnet Porky @ Jul 20 2022, 12:21 PM)
Hi sifus, need your opinions to decide on two units of the same project or wait for the newer phase to launch, the purpose is to own stay but I'm not sure if I want to to take exit strategy into consideration.

- comes with about 100 sqft storage room at car park level, without electricity.

They all have 3 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms. So, putting the project itself aside, do you any opinions or suggestions? Would you pay about RM 400 more each month to have a 200 sqft bigger unit + extra storage at car park level? Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
My strategy has always been to buy the smallest unit which suits my requirements. 1200 sq ft is big enough for a small family. This is because the appreciation for smaller units are usually higher than the bigger units being cheaper in price overall.
thickface
post Jul 20 2022, 01:27 PM

170 posts

Investment wise - go for cheaper unit. Feelings wise - I will see how big my family is and what level/heading which I love.

For your case, I prefer looking outside than facilities. I will choose the cheaper unit. Better ask your family too which one they like
Cavatzu
post Jul 20 2022, 01:38 PM

2,834 posts

If the bigger unit had 4 rooms/3 bath I’d say go for that. But for the same number of rooms then it’s just extra living space then you decide if that’s important for you. More storage etc is always welcome particularly for own stay.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jul 20 2022, 01:41 PM
claudetan
post Jul 20 2022, 02:08 PM

711 posts

They all have 3 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms. So, putting the project itself aside, do you any opinions or suggestions? Would you pay about RM 400 more each month to have a 200 sqft bigger unit + extra storage at car park level? Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
if number of room are same, i will take smaller, if bigger have more room, i go for bigger

btw, your actual size of option B might be 1300sqft only, developer might include the additional storage room to your actual size. There's a rumawip include the carpark size to the unit size .... lol

This post has been edited by claudetan: Jul 20 2022, 02:08 PM
firef0x
post Jul 20 2022, 02:21 PM

215 posts

Both also not for investment. If we are looking at same project. Opt A and B has the same layout. B rooms are bigger if you need bigger rooms.

If you need additional toilets, just wait for new phase.
Jimmy2022
post Jul 20 2022, 02:23 PM

169 posts

Almost top floor means which level ?

For own stay, higher floors can be unfavourable for families with elderly people, and normally there have premium pricing for the upper floors, you might have to spend more, I hope you already know this.

Wish u good luck.

Daylight_walker
post Jul 20 2022, 05:20 PM

155 posts

personally i will go to A, 1200sqft is decent enough for me.

u did mentioned 4 things here, house size, facing direction, level, and monthly installment.

house size - like others mentioned, make no sense if both also 3b2b. personal perference. bigger room/ living vs smaller room/living.

facing direction - A will be better, B might still have some noise from facility floor.

level - up to ur preference, also take into considration if u stay middle level, the lift might get full before go down to ur level.

monthly installment - i believe ts afford 3k for installment, extra 400 wont makes any different. another way of saying it, if u get 1200sqft house, u r paying 1400sqft house and free maintenance. then this way ts will know which to choose.
nexona88
post Jul 20 2022, 07:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

Personally Option A would fit for me rclxms.gif
TSSonnet Porky
post Jul 21 2022, 10:14 AM

108 posts

Thanks for all the advices! Yeah I think only go for bigger units if it has more rooms make sense. Forgot to mention they are sort of 3 + 1 in a way that there's this +1 space that can be turned into a room if you really want to, by putting a sliding door maybe, the +1 area for 1400 sqft unit is slightly bigger, it has bigger master room, balcony, and yard too. I reversed the 1200 sqft unit in the end but still keeping my options open, the SA told me it's ok to switch before signing SPA.
monkeybigcrab
post Jul 21 2022, 10:26 AM

23 posts

Sounds like a premium project, since own stay should buy the most suitable to your needs
firef0x
post Jul 21 2022, 11:09 AM

215 posts

Since affordability is not an issue, so you might consider following which is your priority in mind, according to your needs and interior design.

1. Bigger space more flexibility.
2. High rise building skyline view or facility and little private forest view.
terencelbh
post Jul 21 2022, 11:13 AM

54 posts

Is it Kaia Heights? tongue.gif

For me if ownstay, the bigger the better
Cavatzu
post Jul 21 2022, 11:24 AM

2,834 posts

Might be helpful to let us know the development and/or layout. We can look at it a bit more critically.

Nowadays 1400 sqft for 3 bed/2 bath is almost non existent and 1200 would be luxurious.

When every inch count nowadays, space planning and efficiency is a real thing.

ggdoggycom
post Jul 21 2022, 11:35 AM

39 posts

If 200 sq ft is based on net floor area of the house and not include car park storage room. I think 1400 sq ft is a good choice because more comfortable for own stay.
C_ST
post Jul 21 2022, 12:04 PM

319 posts

If $$ is not a factor, and not for investment purpose...
Own stay of coz go for the bigger unit.. more space more storage, got money can find part time maid come clean house

0.0184sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:20 PM