Will you think the property market will fall soon?, will the landed property fall in 2024?

jojolicia
post Sep 28 2022, 08:06 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 23 2022, 05:17 PM)
Nobody will believe landed in prime area like subang will fall

the most will drop few percent for those desperate seller

fall will never

high rise maybe
Sure is. Many don't realise subang has since shine to be a generation living cluster. Now, the 3rd generation of many original residents, buying in within these zone itself.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 28 2022, 08:07 PM
jojolicia
post Oct 31 2022, 09:02 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Oct 31 2022, 08:27 AM)
SetiaAlam is a gem, must keep holding to pass on to your kids.
Buy into a good township development early if you want value.
Can still remember buying SA when the sales office was at jln meru side, they drove us in 4x4 to view the first D18 at the very end of the dirt road.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Oct 31 2022, 02:27 PM
jojolicia
post Oct 31 2022, 09:58 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Oct 31 2022, 09:32 AM)
That time I focused on buying freehold landed in PJ Damansara, should be better than Klang Shah Alam
👍
I bought into SA, all because SHC sold that big land bank to SP.
Got the hint wind then.

jojolicia
post Nov 3 2022, 02:46 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Nov 3 2022, 01:39 PM)
And whenever you tell ppl you own setia alam property, ppl reply wah kaya la u, waaa ho seh liao, waaa fatt tatt lo, waaa chap dou lor..
Correct me if I m wrong...😂😂😂
No.

THOSE DAYS, whenever you said bought-ed Setia Alam then. Ppl said > siow-ar, dai-lan-gon so damn far... Pa-sang le, you know MERU? .. lok-7 lo, you go la, bye

That time, mana ade org believe new township development.

Ppl even said, that land SHC also don't want la, sell cheap cheap.

Old uncle laughed then said if ade potensi, you think ah teo will sell to ah liew meh? Think also know la, bodo.. Lol

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 3 2022, 02:50 PM
jojolicia
post Nov 3 2022, 02:56 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Nov 3 2022, 02:49 PM)
i have, but i didnt c any ho sei liao lo...now even lost money
I never said ho sei liao for setia alam like strike jackpot. SA ok la, lagi mau hiam meh.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 4 2022, 06:59 AM
jojolicia
post Nov 3 2022, 03:04 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Nov 3 2022, 02:49 PM)
i have, but i didnt c any ho sei liao lo...now even lost money
By the way, you bought which part/segment of SA lost money?
jojolicia
post Nov 3 2022, 04:32 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Nov 3 2022, 03:06 PM)
condo
SCity Residence VP-ed last 2020/21 ?
jojolicia
post Nov 3 2022, 04:59 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Nov 3 2022, 04:44 PM)
If you bought SCR, it's the most expensive psf in Klang...
Hmmmm🤔

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 4 2022, 06:56 AM
jojolicia
post May 1 2023, 01:17 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(Donchay @ May 1 2023, 09:49 AM)
The bull run is actually around 2000-2011, the rest is what we are witnessing which buyers for investment are usually purchasers in bulk , or that same group of high rollers keep on buying, which gives the impression of property prices still floating.
In fact prop agents are the one who bought some of the units because of good entry prices due to goodwill from developers ; will you be more convinced to buy from an agent who owns no or just one house , or with an agent with 4-6 houses
2011-2016 KV/Sel landed still very much doable by area.
jojolicia
post May 2 2023, 02:53 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ May 2 2023, 02:45 PM)
Loan interest of around 4% p.a. in past 12 years is a blessing, most buyers at that time took the risk and didn’t choose fixed rate of around 5%. It even went down to around 3% for some time for buyers who got BLR -2.5% or better.
Anyway loans cannot be free of charge, but in a well located property it can be easily covered by well screened good tenant.
Yup, those were the days of mortgage lending at BLR minus. I think easily 20 years ago (late 90s/early 20s). Anwar pon sudah PM now lo

The cycle may come again, no one knows for sure

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 2 2023, 03:02 PM
jojolicia
post May 3 2023, 10:11 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(ericyong @ May 3 2023, 09:41 AM)
It is true that costs have gone up a lot.

In comparison, taking just steel into account - prices per RM1900/ton preCovid, and rose to RM3500/ton in mid2021 before hovering downwards. Today, prices are still around RM3000/ton. And that is just steel - cement, concrete, glass, aluminium have all rose way above preCovid prices.

Labour costs is also another issue. Since the lockdowns and border closures in 2020/21, many foreign workers have gone back and could not come back. Then when they were allowed to come back, the costs had shot up tremendously. An Indonesian coming into Malaysia with permit and visa would cost at least RM5,000 including levy and permits. A Bangladeshi coming in costs as much as RM18k back in 2021, and prices have come down to about RM12-14k now but it is still very expensive compared to before. A carpenter used to earn RM90-110/day preCovid - today averages at least 175-200 already.

Interest rates have gone up too, causing the cost of financing to go up.
That being said, it is undeniable that the cost of construction had gone up a lot. Most of the affordable housing that you see today selling at RM250k for a 1000sqft - those are considered a bargain steal if you can qualify and get the unit because the cost of construction for these type of housing is already RM140-150psf. Taking into account consultancy and professional fees another 10%, local authority fees plus IWK TNB Syabas etc etc another 8-10%, marketing costs of say 4-5%, the cost of development without counting the cost of land is already almost RM200psf. IF the land is in a slightly more prime area, going for RM200psf, based on a plot ratio 1:5, the gross cost per sqft is already RM40 - and with say an efficiency of 80%, the cost would be RM50 already psf for land - making it already RM250psf.

Today, land cost are very much above those figures in prime areas - some are as high as RM400-500psf for areas such as Klang, Seri Kembangan and Selayang, and exceeds RM800-1000psf for areas such as Petaling Jaya. A more middle-cost type of development would cost at least RM300-350psf, and taking similar percentages, cost of such projects would easily be RM480-500psf.
ANYWAYS, property around the world have always been known as the best hedge against inflation. If you have some spare cash, or want to invest, it would be ideal to go into real estate. Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley has got a peculiar double-whammy dilemma - its highest and most luxury properties are going for RM1800psf averagely, which is USD400psf - making it still the cheapest in the region versus Jakarta, Bangkok and even Phnom Penh. Singapore's highest are way higher. So theres plenty of room to grow. The only thing keeping our properties from going much higher are due to Government initiatives to keep on pushing the affordable housing (especially those with subsidies). If KL's properties were to be more open, I believe our properties would be much high and the market value would be higher.
You are eric yong?
jojolicia
post May 5 2023, 02:38 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(ericyong @ May 5 2023, 12:43 PM)
supply and demand are rather subjective - factors to consider include price range, location etc...

but in general, i would say in areas such as Klang - supply is still considered limited versus the high demands.
In PJ, supply is aplenty, but demands are also very high.

In areas such as setapak/wangsa maju area, plenty of supply - but you'll see mostly in the affordable range, and demands are still doing okay; just that people have more time to look at more choices...
If you're looking at higher end ones... demand is rather limited for high rise high end, but landed ones are still in big demand....
n different areas, different demands... if u read an OVERALL Malaysia or Klang Valley report, the overhang situation would be many.

But going into details... you'll find that those real affordable government-restricted ones, those 250k... those who wants it for investment, overqualified. those who really want it for own stay own use, qualify but cant afford... then you have the middle-range, those 450-550k.... demand are very strong, but choices also plenty. many interesting marketing gimmicks too - cash back, rebates, free reno, free ID etc etc...
one thing though, with interest rates going up, yields are not holding up as well... so rental returns could take awhile.
I concur. Putting ones' money where it should be is always about 1)which; moveable / non moveable, 2)timing; time-line horizon.

In this respect, property (a non movable), is about asset class (type, in short) and location/ demagraphic as you mentioned. You are just being nice with your words 🤭. Well done

You are right on material/labour cost content. Well this 2 never been on the downtrend along the time horizon. It has always been on uptrend historically. The concern is the incremental rate over a time horizon. At a rate of non shock absorbency.

You did not touch on red tape/ compliance cost. Yes, its tacky to mention.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 5 2023, 05:05 PM
jojolicia
post May 5 2023, 02:40 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 4 2023, 10:53 PM)
Should be crestbuilder/mbam eric yong then based on his replies.
Yes, i first read that post, then checked on the nick.
That was why i asked.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 5 2023, 02:52 PM
jojolicia
post May 6 2023, 03:28 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(clyeoh1980 @ May 6 2023, 11:32 AM)
It’s seem like the peoples in this forum thread are caveman, don’t know what is going on !!!! Hoping the house price dropping is crazy!!!! It will never drop!!! Wake up ! Wake up ! Wake up ! Get a life !!!!! Hoping getting sweet and affirmation from this forum are ridiculous !!! What these people in the forum know anything ??? Pathetic !!!!
Takpe la bro.

Let them believe what they want. Many never even heard what is morgtage margin call, a valuation as a whole in the financial system.

You can't blame why many property crash hopeful here.

For Residential class, i bought my first during 90s at pandan indah townhouse. Its actually the 1st townhouse concept intro in the country, then usj goodyear court 10, the few first low rise apartments with lift then, to name a few during the 90s with 97 financial crisis on the background, leveraging and gearing into early/mid 2000s recovery and huge uptick, fast forward all the way till a last in 2016 (kv/sel/jb)

Of course ade jual ade beli.

Yes, many here like to say, can and better invest elsewhere stocks, btc this-that paperssss, easy to liquidate bla bla.

These ppl never had their time holding shiet value papers in hand, just put aside in the drawer (we used to call, toilet paper) and hoping on property crash. They are so clueless, which actually comes first.

You wanna hold toilet papers or old roof? No right or wrong, sendiri pilih lo, when the time comes

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 6 2023, 07:47 PM
jojolicia
post May 6 2023, 05:31 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2023, 04:47 PM)
Poorperly market need not crash for poorperly investment to be underwater.
On property perspective, i dy mentioned it in #post 622.

Highrise itself post 2014 is dy a red flag on oversupply and come 2017 clearly a big no-no due to public housing integration within blocks mainframe policy and a worsening oversupply unless you got the last few DOs just before transition (a bit of consolation la). That also is currently largely stagnant /or marginally -5% to -15% (depending on loc). Everyone knows you do not bench it against spa.

Those bought banging on future priced perspective/ vibes gets the hardest hit

P/S. Your defination 'underwater', i actually only hear this term of late. Is it holding in short the older version.

Or here in lyn, i find ppl equates rental not covering installment + maintenance (if any) is 'underwater'?? Is this what underwater really means here?

Re-edited.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 7 2023, 12:50 AM
jojolicia
post May 6 2023, 08:40 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(TrialGone @ May 6 2023, 03:49 PM)
Hopeful? Dude nobody wants prop to crash like amurica 2008. But prop pipu telling pipu or implying that ur house will worth 200% in future if buy now is deceitful and actually accelerating that crash.
Wowww nice price tag 200%! If buying is only timely for that projectile in mind is akin to.. hmmm. Mm..

Let me find and come back with the right word.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 6 2023, 08:45 PM
jojolicia
post May 7 2023, 12:17 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 7 2023, 12:01 AM)
Not all property the same and not all location is the same.

There is no one broom sweep all way of investing in property, you got to do your due diligence and put in effort and not just use common observation and derive at a conclusion that now is the right or not the right time.

From 2019 up till 2022 there is still a divergent of property returns although many say its a property glut/bear market. Some properties have gone up by quite a-lot while some stagnate or even drop due to firesales or glut.

In the end need to do own research. An example you see which property/location is sought after by buyers that has improved earnings in the past few years. Eg industrial exporters, O&G industry players, F&B owners. And next you check the supply in those area. If you see demand is strong with many of those demand coming from people with continued improve earnings vs a limited supply in the market, then probably that particular property or location will appreciate. The opposite applies to those you see real income has drop and the location they look for.

There are many variables in investing on any assets class. If you take the easy approach of a broad market view and don’t put in the detailed analysis and work, no matter which investment you do won’t yield good result. There is never a “best” / “golden” time for you to make that decision.

All investment required guts to make an informed decision under uncertain condition. If you want sure win, go for fd.
👍 Well said. I agree fully
jojolicia
post May 7 2023, 12:09 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 7 2023, 11:32 AM)
"Underwater" is the term for a financial contract or asset that is worth less than its notional value. More commonly though, the term is used in relation to a house, or another substantial asset, which has an outstanding mortgage or loan on the asset that is a larger amount than what the asset is worth.

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/u/underwater.asp
Thanks for replying. Its valuation in short.
This will trigger mortage margin call which i mentioned in one of my post.

You and me, ain't want to see that day.

Many others (commerce/ asset class) will crash along the financial system before what the hopeful wants, property crash

I did say, many are gullible and clueless on which comes (fail) first. The peoples' income or an asset class crash?

For the crash / 'bubble bust' hopeful (as i always hear here in lyn), go to foreclosure market. That's the closest you can get. Foreclosure units are there for a reason.

There is no one button, reset all to match general affordability (if what one is hoping for)

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 7 2023, 05:10 PM
jojolicia
post May 7 2023, 02:10 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 7 2023, 01:11 PM)
"Mortgage margin call" is unlikely to occur in this country unless borrower defaulted.

That is what i said, you and me ain't want to see that day.

Having said that, there is a chain to it if not careful.

So i don't get it with all these decade old topic property crash, bila bubble bust thing hopeful mindset.

Live the current time o wai. One who does not catch up, don't hope for the worst.

Merely clueless what they are hoping for.

I say it again.
There is no one button, reset all to match general affordability (if what one is hoping for). There is already the latest post 17' drag policy being implemented. Drag as in distribution of free market dev costing. (gisss better not shoot my mouth away)

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 7 2023, 02:30 PM
jojolicia
post May 8 2023, 03:51 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ May 7 2023, 10:33 PM)
Wait so long already 6-12months is nothing la. Not like you can buy today also, that’s why open thread and asking right…

But your target area also many born and bred Subang kids are earning $$$ overseas, RM is weak and if they wanna invest in hometown they can pay the high asking prices as long as the unit is nice. Now Anwar PM some more, lagi want to invest back home.
Don't forget generational living of SJ/ USJ folks here🤭

Ade beli takrak jual

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 8 2023, 04:01 PM

0.0576sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:03 PM