mdziaf
post Sep 21 2023, 07:55 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(ads398 @ Sep 21 2023, 05:40 PM)
Look bad for a 2 yr old tyre.

Did you do alignment?

Do tyre rotation put it to the back and use until <40% then change both 2 or all 4
Adding to this reply - if alignment is ok, you might wanna check that tire's suspension. Might be something not working correctly hence that particular tire has excessive wear.
mdziaf
post Oct 26 2023, 07:32 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jkkyhamsterboy @ Oct 26 2023, 06:42 PM)

Need advice.
Currently my Iriz front tyres also showing almost similar symptom (instead of crack, it's bald on the side thread) as the posted photo of Myvi tyres (uneven wear).
Another symptom is vibration and noise when going through uneven roads/potholes.
Sent to SC and was quoted to change below items:
1. FR absorbers ~RM1.1k
2. Stabilizer link RH, LH
3. Stabilizer bar bush
4. Steering rack ~RM1.1k

Due to budget constraint, I plan to change one of the items (either 1 or 4) quoted depending on which is more severe.
Is it compulsory to change all together at one go?
Appreciate sifu advice.

Thanks in advance.
From a purely tire longevity point of view, i would go with item 1. That would have the biggest impact to reduce uneven wear.

I dont know the condition of your steering rack. So i cant comment if this should be prioritzed or not. But item 4 will need almost all of the lower suspension components to be removed. So it might make sense to combine with item 2 and 3 since they going to remove it anyways to get to the steering rack.

So in summary you can combine item 2,3,4 as one work and item 1 as another.
mdziaf
post Nov 7 2023, 08:43 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(saltedfish @ Nov 6 2023, 05:50 PM)
Hi, currently driving vento 1.2 tsi with cpc2 215/45/r16

As it’s almost impossible to find similar size, seeking your advice on alternative size.

Is Conti UC7 205/50/r16 suitable?
205/50R16 is still within 3% of your 215/45R16. So its ok to change. Just be mindful that your speedometer will read slightly slower than your actual speed. E.g. 100kmh on speedo will be around 102 actual.

Another option is to downsize the wheels to 15inch and put on 195/55R15. It would be cheaper down the line as the 195 R15 will be cheaper compared to a 205R16. But you need a bigger upfront cost to change the wheels.
mdziaf
post Nov 9 2023, 04:39 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Nov 9 2023, 10:58 AM)
Ori spec is 185 55 16 if I change to 205 55 15 will it be within spec?
Use this website Tire Size Calculator. Use the size comparison to see the size difference. You want your diameter to be at most +/-3% difference from your original size. If bigger than this you have issues with your speedometer and most likely have clearance issues in the wheel well.

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Nov 9 2023, 11:02 AM)
my tyre punctured by iron nail once and repaired. after that when try to pump air pressure no response, mean tyre kong alrdy?
If fully deflated already, at the pump theres a third button that you need to press for the pump to inflate a fully deflated tire. BUT if its already deflated and you already drive with the tire deflated, theres a high chance that your sidewall could be damaged.
mdziaf
post Nov 27 2023, 06:54 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Nov 27 2023, 05:31 PM)
Hi Sifus, I'm currently using a Atlas Batman (china car, china tyre) size 215/55R18. Thinking of changing the tyre to Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 size 235/60R18.

That seems to be the 'almost similar' size to the original size I feel.
Can this fit well? Is it a good choice? Any better alternatives?
Use this site to find out if the size are similar or not.

Generally speaking if you are going wider, you need to use a lower profile tire

mdziaf
post Dec 6 2023, 07:19 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(plc255 @ Dec 1 2023, 05:05 PM)
I read about Proton S70 review mentioned that the entry level uses a 205/55R16 tyre.

I had a old camry which I had just changed very recently for 4 * 205/65R15 tyre.

Using this tyre model I had done some checking, Toyo CR1, I found that the

205/55R16 - Price RM272 per pc
205/65R15 - Price 245 per pc.

Both shopee online competitive price from the same shop.

However it seems to me that 205/55R16 is a slightly smaller tyre as per the following :-

The question I had in my mind is 205/55R16 tyre costlier to manufacture than a comparable 205/65R15 tyre ???
Isnt 205/65R15 more costly to manufacture cost wise since it had a slightly bigger lump or rubber & perhaps metal??? Same width, more sidewall and a slightly higher tyre overall than  205/55R16

Or the cost is mostly similar (or very small difference) but the marketing decided that  205/55R16 will price higher than 205/65R15 since as per your statement above, R16 must have better margin than R15 regardless???
This wont be an exact answer, but its more generic. In manufacturing the overall cost of an item depends on the volume of the item being produced. As the volume of a particular item being manufactured increases, the cost of it will reduce. This is call the economics of scale. The same applies for the various tire sizes.

A more common tire size like myvi's 175/65R14 would cost less per tire to produce compared to a more uncommon size. Depending also on the market segment, tire manufacturers can either pass on these savings to the customers by pricing their products competitively or pocket the savings as more profit for the company.
mdziaf
post Apr 12 2024, 03:15 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 12 2024, 03:00 PM)

how long will this last?

not mine... biggrin.gif
not long.. get that person to change asap.. and unfortunately its gonna have to be a tire replacement as you cant patch that area..
mdziaf
post Apr 12 2024, 10:09 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 12 2024, 03:33 PM)
some rando parked next to me... im quite observant... couldn't resist to snap a pix...

i think patching from inside may be possible but not with noodle/worm...

anyways is quite new ps4... maybe des why...
I would not be patching that area. That is very close to where loads are acting on the tire. Give it time, cracks will propagate from that area and can cause catastrophic failure of the tire.
mdziaf
post Jul 24 2024, 07:07 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Jul 24 2024, 01:09 PM)
Coz im currently running 4 RF & thinking to change 2 of my tyres to normal tyre but just checking if there will be issue if i mix them.

result from google mentioned it will impact handlng. rclxub.gif
yes, because runflats are stiffer compared to normal tyres.

if you run normal fronts and rear runflats, you’ll make the car stiffer at the rear which can result in easier oversteer. conversely running runflats at the front and normal rears will make the fronts stiffer, and resulting in more understeer.

but it really depends on the car. if the existing setup is already leaning to oversteer, putting the runflats in the rear can make it very prone to oversteer. But if your car is already understeering then it may not be apparent if anything has changed. Though honestly this will only be a concern if you are driving on the limit, which you shouldn’t on public roads.
mdziaf
post Dec 31 2024, 02:38 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(frozz@holic @ Dec 19 2024, 11:49 AM)
what constitute a silent tyre that are silent on the road both at high & low speed regardless of performance on any condition ?
also what is the main factor, and brands/model for example ?
Tire manufacturers will only optimize their tires according to whatever regulations their tires are subjected to. Main ones are the EU Tire Labels (which has noise restrictions) which is regularly cited in other countries' label including those in south east asia.

So depending on the tire line, some manufacturers will set up label goals as their requirements. In Malaysia EU R117 regs are not yet implemented but last I heard is being considered and if implemented will be applied as one or the SIRIM tire requirements.
mdziaf
post Oct 6 2025, 09:36 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(audionutter @ Oct 3 2025, 06:50 AM)
The only ones I can find so far after asking around is Michelin and Pirelli

I would like to use Continental or Bridgestone, anyone knows if runflats are available in this size?
Run flats u might need to make order from the shop.. usually the bigger shop can request for these sizes to be brought in.. runflats of these size is around 1k per piece so they'll have you to put a deposit if the could be bothered ordering

0.0189sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:25 PM