Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

DM3
post Dec 17 2024, 03:57 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 17 2024, 03:39 PM)
Any new contender for all rounder like PS4?

On my second set now, previous set on previous car did 40k km, current car with current set also done 40k km, about 30% threads left. Will wish to find a similar tyre for the next car that I’m potentially getting, can’t live without UHP, saved my ass countless times.

Size should be 235/40R18. Falken FK520? PS5’s retail price is quite steep.
S1evo3 ,ps5
DM3
post Dec 17 2024, 06:04 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 17 2024, 05:07 PM)
The price difference between the two, lol. Worth trying. Thanks for the recommendation.
S1evo series been very close fight n some areas better vs PS3 since then n yes price was huge gap between 2
DM3
post Dec 19 2024, 12:21 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 19 2024, 11:09 AM)
Yeah, still happy with my second set. Wear is even and performance is consistent in most conditions.

Only gripe is tiny chunks on sipes missing especially on the outer shoulder on front wheel, rear wheel with camber then not hitting that area much. Had same issue from XM2 days  sweat.gif
Yup their trait marks, my 2 pairs front PS4 always chipped off
DM3
post Dec 21 2024, 03:36 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(Edwinlkj @ Dec 21 2024, 03:34 PM)
Hi Bros, i m currently looking for replacement for my Hankook S1 Evo 3 which is around 40k km. I got to say that Hankook S1 Evo 3 is grippy both dry and wet. My car have good soundproofing  and hence i didnt notice much noise.
I am a high mileage traveling between JB and KL. I drive between 160-200kmh and my sedan car is on the heavy side.
I wonder if there is any uhp tyres that is better than my current hankook s1 evo 3?
Size of my tyre is 245/45/R19
🙏
U need go for Ps5 already,the cheaper version is already s1evo3 damn good already
DM3
post Mar 19 2025, 07:47 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 18 2025, 11:56 PM)
Hi ts and sifus here. Looking to change my tyres and would love some feedback.

Currently using primacy 4 and i already locked my next tyres to be either bridgestone turanza t005a or hankook ventus prime 4. Any feedback between this 2?
- main priority is wet handling and braking, as i usually drive fast during rain. My cruising speed during dry days and rainy days are the same
- second priority is noise and longetivity.
- budget not an issue
- definitely wont be going back to primacy 4 as i would like to try other brands. Primacy 5 also no for now, but most likely will be next (after either t005a/vp4).

Only interested in touring tyres, not performance tyres. Thank you  notworthy.gif
VP4 is real deal fr grip n performance vs primacy n Turanza n way worth the price
DM3
post Mar 19 2025, 08:41 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 08:34 AM)
Vp4 really that good? To be honest, I never use korean or china brands before, as I am quite sceptical on those. Until now where I keep read good reviews on vp4.

Safety is most important. If vp4 really good, then I might try it.
Well many users like me started off long time ago with the V12,jus love the grip of course back then sceptical also y cheap n then their reputations/popularity grew.
I've used V12 many sets n then s1 Evo n Vp3 ,PS3,ps4,contis,bridgestone, older toyos.
Fyi I changed tyres yearly so had many try outs.

DM3
post Mar 19 2025, 01:27 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 08:58 AM)
Thanks man, then I think it’s worth the try.

Btw, what is the thread life for vp4? Since u change yearly.
So far didn't try VP4, but frm Vp3 my type of driving about 26k+ km, Ps4 20k km, Turanza/primacy can last longer 30k km
DM3
post Mar 19 2025, 02:16 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

Been asking around anyone tried Gripmax ?
DM3
post Mar 21 2025, 01:27 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 21 2025, 12:50 PM)
My experience with VP3 was frustrating. Lack of grip in wet. Very poor aquaplaning resistance.

It was fitted on 2 cars of different sizes. The driving experience was roughly similar.

Drive slow or fast also lost grip. The bad experience dettered me from using Hankook tires ever again.
Ya won't say superb,if for we u shud take S1evo3.
Btw ur tyre size?
DM3
post Mar 26 2025, 06:56 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(dijon @ Mar 26 2025, 01:03 AM)
Agree with DM3 on Hankook Ventus V12 ...it was a great tire until it was no longer in production due to end-of-life product.
I am now on Continental Ultra Contact 7 (UC7) 214/45/R17, and it is unbelievable quiet tires with it's truly engineered in Malaysia story.
Never a fan of Contis ,tried their MC,PC really bad buy yet to try UC or SC.
UC7 grips ok?
DM3
post May 28 2025, 04:22 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ May 28 2025, 04:14 PM)

Was looking to replace my old tyres (currently using Michellin XM2 & Primacy 3st) Size 215/60R16

So far quotation I got is
GitiComfort T20 - RM277
Laufenn G Fit AS - RM279
Hankook Ventus Prime 4 - RM299
Toyo CR1 - RM338

out of this 4, which one would you prefer based on priority

1. comfort
2. Safety
3. NVH
VP4 best
DM3
post Jul 1 2025, 01:08 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 1 2025, 12:25 PM)
any good this tyre model? A few recommend this model from FB group. Traction AA
I've used the PS31, crap, peel of cracked after 3mths, claim back frm kumho few hundred for 2 tyres.
DM3
post Jul 4 2025, 08:43 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

Still nobody tried Gripmaxx?
DM3
post Aug 10 2025, 02:50 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(TanJy1814 @ Aug 10 2025, 05:25 AM)
Anybody know this happen?

Michelin PS3about 4 years with ~50k mileage.

More serious the the front wheels. There is on the rear as wheel. But very minor.

Issue with the tyre(harden) or something wrong with alignment or car?

No it's the soft compound even up to PS5 all like tht
DM3
post Aug 10 2025, 04:23 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(TanJy1814 @ Aug 10 2025, 04:18 PM)
Thanks for the info.
Was little bit worried cause I do notice the tyre performance dropped.
Yeah I've used 2 pairs of PS4 with much worst condition than urs in front so now used it fr the rear only
DM3
post Aug 10 2025, 08:25 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(TanJy1814 @ Aug 10 2025, 08:09 PM)
Was driving more aggresive and fast when the car & tyre is new.
But now santai saja... So it is wearing out much slower.

Indeed it is close to the indicator.
Considering to change to a slightly more comfortable tyre like hankook vp4 or maybe cheaper performance tyre like tr1 if it is not foo noisy
Don't take Tr1, VP4 way better

0.0242sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:30 AM