What happened to Real World Issues section?

TScshong
post Jul 7 2022, 10:10 PM, updated 4y ago

3,927 posts

Suddenly, many new threads appear in Real World Issues section. Many threads look like being moved from other sections. Some of these threads look like news thread in kopitiam section. Some threads even discuss similar things. Many of these threads are not like debatable topics.

Why?
Hamsom
post Jul 7 2022, 10:18 PM

447 posts

im still hung up on hnggggh section removed

This post has been edited by Hamsom: Jul 7 2022, 10:18 PM
martianunlimited
post Jul 8 2022, 07:43 PM

The original Martian
1,521 posts

Have you been to RWI in the last 2 years? the level of discussion in RWI is no different from Kopitiam
TScshong
post Jul 11 2022, 05:04 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(martianunlimited @ Jul 8 2022, 07:43 PM)
Have you been to RWI in the last 2 years? the level of discussion in RWI is no different from Kopitiam
But, some of the "kopitiam style" threads look like being moved from other section.
R0ADTAX
post Jul 12 2022, 11:38 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Jul 11 2022, 05:04 PM)
But, some of the "kopitiam style" threads look like being moved from other section.
some kopitiam topic are moved to RWI due to the nature of the post

politic post in kopitiam goes to politic part of the forum

whilst religious, race posts are moved to RWI after a few days or reports been made
martianunlimited
post Jul 13 2022, 05:40 AM

The original Martian
1,521 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Jul 11 2022, 10:04 PM)
That's what I mean, we have all these "rules"
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/138133

and even this warning whenever anyone starts a topic on RWI

** REAL WORLD ISSUES NEW TOPIC R&R **

Please take note that you're opening a topic in the Real World Issues section and will be subject to strict moderation. Should your topic be deemed to be not suitable for this section, a mandatory 3 days suspension will be issues to your account.

Please delete this message before posting your topic.

** END OF NOTICE **
None of it is ever enforced, (at least not in the last 8 years), so effectively RWI is just the politics/"sensitive" issues subforum of Kopitiam. and now that the more "sensitive" topics in Kopitiam just gets auto-migrated into RWI just cements the state of RWI. AS to your original question "why?" it is because it just the natural evolution (or devolution) of RWI.

Edit: this was my rant and my (arguably) prophetic/apocalyptic vision of what RWI would end up as https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3568308 that I posted 8 years ago, looks like I was right on the money

This post has been edited by martianunlimited: Jul 13 2022, 05:45 AM

0.0177sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:55 PM