~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V4 now..., Honda, the power of dream...

Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 7 2007, 10:22 AM

1,704 posts

Hi guys, noob here, would like to ask, how to use the steermatic function? What's the benefits?
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 24 2007, 01:48 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(cooler123 @ Oct 24 2007, 01:35 PM)
cannot see the image

Looks nice drool.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 12:33 PM

1,704 posts

Is it okay to change gear (D/S/L) while pressing the accelerator? How about the steermatic?
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 01:12 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Oct 26 2007, 12:38 PM)
no problem to do so
QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 26 2007, 12:38 PM)
Ya, y not?? sure okay la...U never drive auto car b4 ar???  tongue.gif
Aight thanks! I just got my license last month ma, only drive parents' City and Wira (manual). So dunno alot of things lor.. Never use the steermatic also, but looking the comments here I feel like trying it out ph34r.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 01:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 26 2007, 01:16 PM)
Ohh...congratulations! P driver ar...must be careful whn driving wo.  biggrin.gif  Yaya, go try tat 7 "Fun" mode... thumbup.gif
What's so fun? laugh.gif Just shift up and down like normal manuals issit?
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 01:36 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 26 2007, 01:30 PM)
Yaya, at least u can still got the "manual" feel lo whn using tis 7 Fun mode...smile.gif

I see I see.. Gonna try it out next time.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 03:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Oct 26 2007, 02:45 PM)
U be careful dude.. i only try the 'stop-go' boost when the road is clear (i.e no imminent traffic ahead). the CT WILL REALLY accelerate very fast if you use the method i told b4. Be safe ok! tongue.gif

try it out at laaate night after u come back frm mapley brows.gif
Really? Hmm.. That urges me to try it even more! laugh.gif laugh.gif Mapley? huh.gif Btw, mine is idsi, not vtec, same effect? tongue.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Oct 26 2007, 05:25 PM)
Go ahead dude, Try..  thumbup.gif  but for the 1st time b4 you get used to the technique, better do it on empty roads ok? safety first  icon_idea.gif really shiioookk wooo!  brows.gif 

But better practice 1st, coz quite hard to prcisely release the 7speed at 5.5K RPM as you hv to keep youre eye on the road and also your meter at the same time...  sweat.gif

soo sorry, wrong words.. mapley = mamak stall lorr.. smile.gif

Mine is of idsi wooorr...  icon_rolleyes.gif

i think the vtec accel a bit slower coz the i-dsi engine has max torque at low RPM (2.7K RPM?).. so it accelerates a little faster, but lacks top speed like the vtec.... when the vtec hits 100++km/h youre in another dimension  cool2.gif
Hmm, yeah it'll be hard to keep an eye on both sweat.gif Hmm.. I always see ppl post v-tec kicks in at high rpm, what does the kicks in mean? huh.gif A sudden power increase?
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 26 2007, 10:28 PM

1,704 posts

Whew! I just tried the steermatic, that was fun laugh.gif Tried Fasap's take-off technique, that was fast mellow.gif Btw, I don't really understand now.. S and L is for lower gears? Couldn't drive real smooth with steermatic, not used to it, but imma play more.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 27 2007, 12:03 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Oct 27 2007, 12:25 AM)
Heh.. told you so.. nice rite? you feel a slight boost when you revert to s-mode..  thumbup.gif Use wisely..  brows.gif

S-mode is quoted as the 'sports' mode as it lets the engine rev higher before each transmission variance. In other words, your engine boost more power for each change in the transmission compared to D-mode.. In the CT manual, its called the 'second' gear

L-mode is the low-gear mode, forgot the characteristics thou, but this also lets the engine rev higher (?).. mostly used to climb steep slopes/hill/mountain roads where std gears arent revving enough.. its not designed for speed but to deliver maximum torque and power for climbing..
Ah.. I see.. Last time I thought that S mode would only go to the first two gears whereas L mode uses the first gear only laugh.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif doh.gif So S mode is still capable to go up to like the 5th gear and so right? Whenever I activate steermatic I'll feel a slight jerk, is it normal? Oh and, if I activate steermatic, but I don't shift (as in, keep it auto, not manual), any difference with the steermatic off? huh.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 27 2007, 12:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Oct 27 2007, 12:19 PM)
the difference in L and S mode is:

when you are in L mode, your 1st and 2nd gear will go higher RPM, should change gear at 4000-4500rpm instead of in D Mode it will change gear around 2200rpm

when you are in S mode, your 3rd and 4th gear will go higher RPM, should change gear at 4000-4500rpm instead of in D Mode it will change gear around 2200rpm
Ah, I see.. So after 1st and 2nd for L, and 3rd and 4th for S, the gear change would be at normal RPM? and basically L is for uphill and S for..acceleration? flex.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 28 2007, 10:40 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Oct 28 2007, 01:16 AM)
L mode, caters for very low gears, i.e 1->2.. you cant go speeding with L.

On the other hand, the S-mode is like D-mode, you get the full blow, and not just 3rd and 4th gears only, its only that in s-mode, RPMs that are developed are way higher 4K++.

Yes, you get a jerk when you turn on the 7spd, its due to the CVT--->ECU switching the car to go for higher RPMs. When you feel the jerk, you can see your RPM meter go way up faster to >3K RPMs

D-mode RPM: 1.5K-2.7K - Best for smooth engine load and good FC
S-mode RPM: 4K - 4.5K - Best for burst of power, greater engine load, higher FC
7speed RPM: 3K - 4.5K - Best of both, adequately high RPM (3K+) for good spd, and not so bad FC

Ah I see. How about the difference between 7-speed in D and 7-speed in S? I found out that the gear 1 changes to gear 2 at 4k+ RPM while in D and steermatic set to manual, whereas S can use your method of take off (5.5k). Also, any difference between D/S steermatic deactivated and D/S steermatic activated on auto?

Thanks notworthy.gif

Added on October 28, 2007, 10:56 amOh and, I don't really need to downshift unless I want the acceleration, right? I notice that the gear downshifts by itself even on manual according to the speed.

This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Oct 28 2007, 10:56 AM
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Nov 2 2007, 01:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(stevenfah @ Nov 2 2007, 11:43 AM)
CONGRATS!!! rclxms.gif
Taken off the plastic from the seats & sunshield or not... brows.gif
Very well investent made...
Get TS 2 add ur name into the Owner's Hall of Fame... rclxm9.gif
I experience 1 door TIL (Temprary Intelligence Lapse) as well, back left, need to close a bit hard.
U oredi tested the seats for water-proofing??? drool.gif
Of course, u need to tear out the plastic bags first... rclxm9.gif
Cheers, happy motoring & welcome to the club... notworthy.gif
BH... Sparkle Grey some more... **jealous**
My parents' City also back left door need harder than the other 3 doors blink.gif

0.0216sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:47 PM