Herniated disc because of lifting weight, L4-L5 L5-S1 herniation

TSmobc1990
post Jun 24 2022, 12:34 PM, updated 4y ago

83 posts

Hello guys,I have been lifting for a few years and always had back stiff issue since I started using weight and have been sort of dealing with pain since two years ago but I tried to work through it.Two months ago I have had enough,and my parent help me pay for a visit to a orthopaedic and the doctor help me do a MRI and said my pain was due to lifting weight and He told me to not do any weight lifting and just swim.So I Went back home and started swimming for 2 weeks,but it’s very inconvenient and so I started doing bodyweight exercise and for 2 month everything is good and normal.

Four days ago out of boredom I started to use my home gym again,but was avoiding exercise that I am sure will compress my spine or cause my herniated disc to worsen.I avoided overhead movement and also bent over(I did do staggered row though),today back is a little bit uncomfortable,I thought if two more days I still feel not comfortable I will just return to bodyweight since my body cannot take the intensity of weight lifting…I really hope it can though
Armesh
post Jun 25 2022, 01:13 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(mobc1990 @ Jun 24 2022, 12:34 PM)
Hello guys,I have been lifting for a few years and always had back stiff issue since I started using weight and have been sort of dealing with pain since two years ago but I tried to work through it.Two months ago I have had enough,and my parent help me pay for a visit to a orthopaedic and the doctor help me do a MRI and said my pain was due to lifting weight and He told me to not do any weight lifting and just swim.So I Went back home and started swimming for 2 weeks,but it’s very inconvenient and so I started doing bodyweight exercise and for 2 month everything is good and normal.

Four days ago out of boredom I started to use my home gym again,but was avoiding exercise that I am sure will compress my spine or cause my herniated disc to worsen.I avoided overhead movement and also bent over(I did do staggered row though),today back is a little bit uncomfortable,I thought if two more days I still feel not comfortable I will just return to bodyweight since my body cannot take the intensity of weight lifting…I really hope it can though
Many people with 0 back pain have herniated disc.
World champion weightlifters also have herniated disc.

You must see a good physio, do physiotherapy maybe 5 sessions so heal your problem. You got some tightness/imbalance thats why back pain.
After that you can continue try lift weights.

Don't work through any pain ever.
Always Be a pussy and work around when it comes to pain.

Im an intermediate lifter, i always spend hundreds in good physio to resolve any nagging pain, however minor it might be.
Im big muscular pussy.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Jun 25 2022, 01:13 AM
SupermanLick
post Jun 26 2022, 11:24 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,454 posts

Stretching too much?This is yoga woman common injury
Don't pelvic tilt like a woman, showing her big sexy butt
TSmobc1990
post Jun 27 2022, 11:54 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jun 26 2022, 11:24 PM)
Stretching too much?This is yoga woman common injury
Don't pelvic tilt like a woman, showing her big sexy butt
Maybe been playing too many woman,I should limit myself😂😂

This post has been edited by mobc1990: Jun 27 2022, 11:55 AM
SupermanLick
post Jun 27 2022, 08:05 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,454 posts

QUOTE(mobc1990 @ Jun 27 2022, 11:54 AM)
Maybe been playing too many woman,I should limit myself😂😂
Unleash the deadpush piap, don't break the stick
ticke
post Jul 30 2023, 11:46 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

not enough recovery/rest, always the same workout, overdoing, using overweight/ego lifting, wrong technique...the list goes on.

u probably did a combo of those.
SupermanLick
post Aug 4 2023, 11:03 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,454 posts

Secret treatment for disc herniation without surgery drilling holes
Is to riding motorbike on off-road, the shock bounce on 2 butts release the bubbles inside the disc. Big bubble big popping
Kar Weng
post Sep 6 2023, 01:35 AM

Kar Weng | Physiotherapist
840 posts

QUOTE(mobc1990 @ Jun 24 2022, 12:34 PM)

This is a common misconception. Whatever you see on the MRI may not reflect the actual situation. When you scan the spine of an adult, you will most likely see some form of degeneration, it's part of natural ageing, and that's not a valid reason to quit lifting. When you see wrinkles on an elderly skin, is that something you want to waste your time fixing?

Having signs on MRI does not mean having symptoms (pain, numbness etc.). And most of the time they are poorly correlated with one another. Your pain is likely due to the "stiff back issue" that you mentioned. If you're lifting with correct forms, there's really no reason to avoid continuing (or maybe you already did, since the post has been a year).

Feel free to contact me or my colleague if you'd want some insights/advices on fixing your pain and avoiding unnecessary surgery. You can even visit our rehab centre if you're near KL/PJ.
Armesh
post Sep 11 2023, 01:20 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Sep 6 2023, 01:35 AM)
This is a common misconception. Whatever you see on the MRI may not reflect the actual situation. When you scan the spine of an adult, you will most likely see some form of degeneration, it's part of natural ageing, and that's not a valid reason to quit lifting. When you see wrinkles on an elderly skin, is that something you want to waste your time fixing?

Having signs on MRI does not mean having symptoms (pain, numbness etc.). And most of the time they are poorly correlated with one another. Your pain is likely due to the "stiff back issue" that you mentioned. If you're lifting with correct forms, there's really no reason to avoid continuing (or maybe you already did, since the post has been a year).

Feel free to contact me or my colleague if you'd want some insights/advices on fixing your pain and avoiding unnecessary surgery. You can even visit our rehab centre if you're near KL/PJ.
This is true. Even if you MRI a person who is completely pain free, you can find scar tissue, tendon tear, or slightly herniated disc and the person can be totally normal pain free.

0.0173sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:01 PM