6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Traffic Light at Roundabout - Bayan Baru Penang, Apa kelentongan 10km route = 1 hour jam

FusionXY
post Jun 14 2022, 11:21 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(old_and_slow @ Jun 14 2022, 11:20 PM)
stay next to office
This.
oe_kintaro
post Jun 14 2022, 11:33 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 14 2022, 10:15 PM)
Well saw posting cheap rent, condo ok,
I saw map, saw near airport can fly back to KLIA2 any time I want, saw near Golden Triangle/Elite Avenue/Promenade/SPICE Cafe should have plenty of good food to eat.

Check Google Maps thought 15mins to work either Airport or Roundabout route should be ok and flexible.
Boi I was wrong.  shakehead.gif
If staying Sg Ara you need to leave by 630. Makes a huge difference in commute time. I laugh seeing 15mins. laugh.gif 15mins is only for retirees and NBTD who come out during non-peak hours/days. In Penang, you have to try to avoid rush hour, which means going to and returning from work, start and end of school, and long weekends.
SUSipohps3
post Jun 14 2022, 11:46 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jun 14 2022, 11:33 PM)
If staying Sg Ara you need to leave by 630. Makes a huge difference in commute time. I laugh seeing 15mins. laugh.gif 15mins is only for retirees and NBTD who come out during non-peak hours/days. In Penang, you have to try to avoid rush hour, which means going to and returning from work, start and end of school, and long weekends.
how about for those travelling from Batu Kawan to Bayan Lepas? at what time should they leave house to office?

Drian
post Jun 15 2022, 12:02 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 14 2022, 08:29 PM)
I just moved up to Penang for work and realize how messed up the traffic in Penang around Bayan Lepas area, can cause 1 hour jam for a short distance of 10km, despite leaving home around 6.45am...
Too many traffic lights and illogical right lanes, somemore high volume motor flow...  rclxub.gif

Haven't included those drivers who doesn't give signal in Penang shakehead.gif

The most illogical part is how and why they wanted to implement traffic lights in a round about which is causing a major jam for those wanted to make a U Turn... shakehead.gif

Anyone got any recommendation on where else to stay  mega_shok.gif

Ok done rant.
Semua Salah LGE bad urban planning.

Oh ya, haven't get me started on the giant square longkangs in middle of the some roads
They Increase the Tar Road thickness, but don't bother to lift the longkang lid up, making a giant dangerous dent there...  sweat.gif
You're definitely wrong if you think removing the traffic light will improve the traffic.

lawliet88
post Jun 15 2022, 12:09 AM

995 posts

office at these hot congestion zone (include goddam kl) should adjust more flexible working hour imo
solstice818
post Jun 15 2022, 12:11 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 15 2022, 12:02 AM)
You're definitely wrong if you think removing the traffic light will improve the traffic.
He hasn't seen Penang traffic without traffic light / with malfunction traffic light. tongue.gif
kesvani
post Jun 15 2022, 12:13 AM

956 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 14 2022, 08:34 PM)
Well mungkin I live nearby KL-Seremban highway as a kid, always had a perception that 10km route 20 mins can reach.  shakehead.gif
Ayam daily travel Georgetown to Bayan lepas ok je. 15 minit reach already. If midnight full throttle 6-10 can reach liao but i use motor lar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Angry Clerk
post Jun 15 2022, 12:15 AM

253 posts

u stay relau that deadlock area ofc GG la
Raexim

75 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 14 2022, 09:36 PM)
well the office is nearby the end of Penang 2nd bridge.
Majority of the time wasted might be due to parents sending their kids to school around the SPICE area.

There are two routes:
(i) Airport route has shit tons of motors, shorter distance 8.2km. But has like 10 traffic lights. Needs JPJ to control traffic. Very hard to change lanes.

(ii) The route I shown 10km distance, majority of the time is stuck at SPICE to Bkt Jambul to the roundabout at Bayan Baru, afterwards smooth 10 min traffic to office.
Should have find somewhere in Batu Maung instead of Sg Ara since you are nearby 2nd bridge. doh.gif
kesvani

956 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 14 2022, 09:08 PM)
JKR did exactly this thing in sabah
after a while, nobody follow the traffic lights anymore because it creates unnecessary jam at the roundabout instead of letting it free flow

genius invention
Do you actually see this area before. All 4 way is major road. if no traffic light one side confirm more jam or more accident
zerorating
post Jun 15 2022, 12:21 AM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

meanwhile bulatan pahang, why no traffic light.
maprocks
post Jun 15 2022, 12:23 AM

267 posts

Imo jam in penang is almost same as the ones in KL
Try crossing penang bridge at 7am or commuting around bayan lepas or even mainland areas

Makes no difference btw

Just couldn’t figure out why the f penang ppl complain KL jam but can live with jam in Penang
Topkek penang ppl who are still living in cave

Habis ranting
TSiSean
post Jun 15 2022, 12:30 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 15 2022, 12:02 AM)
Then I no idea, build more flyovers? Or wait LGE make underground tunnels laugh.gif

TSiSean
post Jun 15 2022, 12:36 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Jun 15 2022, 12:15 AM)
Should have find somewhere in Batu Maung instead of Sg Ara since you are nearby 2nd bridge. doh.gif
rclxub.gif what to do, see how la, if I found another cheap place to stay at Batu Maung would move to there la.
Because majority of the time is finding a place with food that is the problem la sweat.gif

But my friends claims that area very ulu, not for human one lol. Majority malay food only scared I wouldn't survive rclxub.gif
If Sg Nibong Bus Station / Summerton area I ok, just problem is no one renting out rooms.
Drian
post Jun 15 2022, 12:37 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 15 2022, 12:36 AM)
rclxub.gif what to do, see how la, if I found another cheap place to stay at Batu Maung would move to there la.
Because majority of the time is finding a place with food that is the problem la  sweat.gif

But my friends claims that area very ulu, not for human one lol. Majority malay food only scared I wouldn't survive  rclxub.gif
If Sg Nibong Bus Station / Summerton area I ok, just problem is no one renting out rooms.
why you never use batu maung road to access the highway from sg ara?

TSiSean
post Jun 15 2022, 12:45 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 15 2022, 12:37 AM)
why you never use batu maung road to access the highway from sg ara?
Ahh. Because there also sibeh many schools and traffic light...? Need pass by Pantai Hospital kan...?
Add another 5km also.
ChipZ
post Jun 15 2022, 01:25 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 15 2022, 12:36 AM)
Because majority of the time is finding a place with food that is the problem la  sweat.gif

But my friends claims that area very ulu, not for human one lol. Majority malay food only scared I wouldn't survive  rclxub.gif
Still working in Intel, bro?
SUSipohps3
post Jun 15 2022, 01:55 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Jun 15 2022, 01:25 AM)
Still working in Intel, bro?
lucky Intel no retrenchment yo. other tech companies like Tesla announced retrenchment liao.
kaffra
post Jun 15 2022, 04:47 AM

643 posts

trust me you want those traffic lights smile.gif
without it or even the flyover it was much worse
shikimori
post Jun 15 2022, 05:45 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(-H20- @ Jun 14 2022, 10:37 PM)
penang people go work in kl jb singapore oversea

kampung people go work in penang.
if you are a local penang kia and working in penang, then have an open heart.

you are the one slacking.
It was a joke you boomer. A lot of company now have hybrid schedule you can opt working from home.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0204sec    1.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:41 PM