Have U seen this before an OIL COMPUTER, Oilcomputer

songbo
post Nov 25 2007, 12:09 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE([W]ee[D] @ Oct 28 2007, 09:26 AM)

They were using mineral oil, very effective, and they did try it with an older version of pc before they use the mid setting pc.
there's an experiment where their using ocean salt water, with turns out badly
lol.. put bubbles somemore laugh.gif
amazing work
nelienuxe_sara
post Nov 26 2007, 04:10 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

ya it works since oil didnt conduct electricity
it physics dude
i saw it long time a go
from tom's hardware i think
Liuteva
post Nov 26 2007, 08:16 AM

Empty.
2,991 posts

Any forumers dare try it? lolz .. biggrin.gif
[W]ee[D]
post Dec 10 2007, 10:36 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Nov 4 2007, 11:07 PM)
hdd should b ok to put in rite? since its airtight inside.

btw, izit better cooling? or worse?

cleaning, clean it with those detergent use for dishes then dry them properly under the sun or let it dry really properly and fast.

i wash my tnt2 few months after i bought it new at rm600 (yea it was the 1st 32mb graphic card...hahahah)...hahaha, it was still working then for few years till i change pc! duno abt now, i sitll wrap it nice nice
dont think putting your HDD in any liquid would be a good move, you can see from the vid's i posted there were no Hdd or Dvd-Rom inside the tank
the items maybe located on top of the tank, hidden inside the black cover
Noodles
post Dec 10 2007, 10:55 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Nov 25 2007, 12:09 PM)
lol.. put bubbles somemore  laugh.gif
amazing work
damn nice. add some light would be great tongue.gif
reflection_C
post Dec 13 2007, 01:25 PM

403 posts

Impressive experiment. Imagine if it turns into boiling oil lol
ongbs
post Dec 15 2007, 08:09 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

saw a web site, a guy used baby oil to soak the whole PSU unit, included the cooling fan sweat.gif
pang5_kiro
post Apr 28 2008, 12:02 PM

:useless person is useless:
2,009 posts

its my 1st time see those kind of PC,
wonder if is works..
dj.eRicZzz
post Apr 29 2008, 01:49 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

hmm i have some oooollllldddd parts...anyone can sponsor mobo n psu? then we can try try do experiment tongue.gif
overclockalbert
post Apr 29 2008, 04:58 AM

1,058 posts

very old story
ThinWai
post Apr 29 2008, 05:26 AM

474 posts

yes saw b4 at youtube.com. damn nice. but ur mobo don have 2nd hand value liao
angelic88
post Aug 21 2008, 11:46 PM

325 posts

it is good to "sustain heat" not to really cool it , lol
after a long hour it will continue to store heat only ...

u will still need thing like water cooling radiator / pump to really cool it efficiently , lol

they say cooking oil will build up something after a long time too @@
CHiNO730
post Sep 4 2008, 02:53 AM

526 posts

QUOTE([W�)
ee[D�],Oct 28 2007, 09:26 AM]

They were using mineral oil, very effective, and they did try it with an older version of pc before they use the mid setting pc.
there's an experiment where their using ocean salt water, with turns out badly
Salt water is electrically conductive, not to mention extremely corrosive on sensitive computer parts - I don't even know why anyone would try that.

But mineral oil is not electrically conductive, non-corrosive, and pretty much inert stuff. As far as physical properties - high specific heat, like water or glycol based coolants, so as long as you have a good radiator, I guess it should work.

Of course, you can submerge anytihng with non-moving parts and it should work, the viscosity isn't going to help with anything moving faster than 1RPM =)

It would be a major PITA to change parts though with all that oil. Not really practical IMO.

Imagine trying to sell a graphic card covered in oil - no way to really clean it, since solvents that can remove the oil would mess up the card too. sad.gif
general453
post Oct 9 2008, 06:45 PM

13 posts

LOL... put oil still can work?
no harm to hardware?
can put some fries too... hehe
dan137
post Oct 9 2008, 11:03 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

this is old story ma...
i saw this on THG website loooooong time ago..
they only used cooking oil je..
lg murah...
krizalid88
post Oct 13 2008, 01:43 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(dan137 @ Oct 9 2008, 11:03 PM)
this is old story ma...
i saw this on THG website loooooong time ago..
they only used cooking oil je..
lg murah...
if put on da oil,how psu fan & other fans rotate?
_707027_
post Oct 13 2008, 01:59 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(krizalid88 @ Oct 13 2008, 01:43 PM)
if put on da oil,how psu fan & other fans rotate?
nope.
eg the hsf.u need to make sure it is above the oil level. u dont submerge all the components into the oil.
and also,the psu and all the drives is outside,not submerged it also.build them on separate area.

dan137
post Oct 13 2008, 03:29 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 13 2008, 01:59 PM)
nope.
eg the hsf.u need to make sure it is above the oil level. u dont submerge all the components into the oil.
and also,the psu and all the drives is outside,not submerged it also.build them on separate area.
yup...thanks for answering on my behalf..

plus, the hsf doesn't have fan..only the cooling fin
leong0507
post Oct 14 2008, 09:06 PM

59 posts

Best cooling method....but bad looking
CHiNO730
post Oct 17 2008, 02:33 AM

526 posts

FAIL.

repost from two years ago.