Source: insights.stackoverflow.com/survey/2021#developer-profile-key-territories
2021 StackOverflow Developer Survey
It is never too old to become programmers (applicable to USA
American programmers median age 43.5
Jun 6 2022, 05:21 PM, updated 4y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Validating
139 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Jun 6 2022, 05:47 PM
423 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
how did they get that number? a quick estimate using the bar chart bottom shows its likely to be lesser than 43.5..
a lot of companies are not hiring American programmers anymore because of their high wage Thats actually how i got my job...XD |
Jun 6 2022, 06:14 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
636 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(15cm @ Jun 6 2022, 05:47 PM) how did they get that number? a quick estimate using the bar chart bottom shows its likely to be lesser than 43.5.. It's in the link:a lot of companies are not hiring American programmers anymore because of their high wage Thats actually how i got my job...XD "2021 StackOverflow Developer Survey" https://insights.stackoverflow.com/survey/2...odology-general QUOTE This report is based on a survey of 83,439 software developers from 181 countries around the world. This is the number of responses we consider “qualified” for analytical purposes based on time spent on the full, completed survey; another approximately 172 responses were submitted but not included in the analysis because respondents spent less than three minutes on the survey. Nope, I didn't bother with stackoverflow surveys. I fed it to the toaster. http://www.catb.org/jargon/html/koans.htmlThis post has been edited by angch: Jun 6 2022, 06:16 PM |
Jun 6 2022, 09:48 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 7 2022, 03:42 PM
Validating
139 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
QUOTE(15cm @ Jun 6 2022, 05:47 PM) how did they get that number? a quick estimate using the bar chart bottom shows its likely to be lesser than 43.5.. There is no relation between the two sources, I forgot to say. The second chart shows age groups from many countries like USA and India, while the first screenshot is only about USA.a lot of companies are not hiring American programmers anymore because of their high wage Thats actually how i got my job...XD I read one post from yours in Kopitiam that you got fired (because of browsing this forum) and got hired with the help of a forum member. Nice! Is your new job web developer? QUOTE(angch @ Jun 6 2022, 06:14 PM) It's in the link: To make the toaster "happy" as well, "2021 StackOverflow Developer Survey" Nope, I didn't bother with stackoverflow surveys. I fed it to the toaster. QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jun 6 2022, 09:48 PM) Consider that many started the career 20-30 years ago, so its not surprising that the median is high. Yes, I have read it somewhere too that USA started the IT trend earlier than Asia, e.g. China, so there is a grain of truth in what you said. |
Jun 7 2022, 04:10 PM
2,354 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Actually its making sense, IT field are not flourish until 20-30 years back.
The legend said programmer are for the youth, old programmer will be eliminated after late 30 or 40, hence most company are full with young developer. But the fact is that's not many older and good developer in the market right now, considering some of them change career path or change to non-technical role make it even rarer. |
Jun 7 2022, 09:24 PM
423 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
QUOTE(FlierMate1 @ Jun 7 2022, 03:42 PM) There is no relation between the two sources, I forgot to say. The second chart shows age groups from many countries like USA and India, while the first screenshot is only about USA. lol the details of my story is modified slightly to prevent people spotting the details and "outing" meI read one post from yours in Kopitiam that you got fired (because of browsing this forum) and got hired with the help of a forum member. Nice! Is your new job web developer? but yes my new job is a web developer and i got paid 2X more than my previous job FlierMate1 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0131sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:38 AM |