Technical PSP GPS System, technical discussion thread

slickz
post May 15 2007, 08:50 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

been a while since I checked in here.... haha! finally interest in the gps started blooming biggrin.gif Yeah I got my psp-290 GPS unit at SG Wang. Despite their less than ok reputation I got one from there anyway. It was hard to find the last time I went there. Only got mine at the 4th or 5th shop I went. Tu pun last unit.

slickz
post May 15 2007, 11:09 PM

2,149 posts

around 210 I think.
slickz
post Dec 25 2007, 12:28 AM

2,149 posts

well check your GPS unit if it is connected properly, if you inspect the bottom part of the unit, you should see two gold pins on left and right of the USB connector. If one of them dont make contact into the unit then the unit does not receive power.

if one of them are shorter than the other try pulling it gently down a little to even out the lengths.

to get the map for KL, just use the GMDL (Global Map Downloader Tool) supplied in the Mapthis download RAR file. Open the Global Map Download Tool.exe in the /Debug folder of the GMDL folder. Create an empty directory on your desktop with a name that starts with _ . i.e, (_KL). Then in the space above the map tool state that directory. Make sure you are connected to the internet to download the map (duh). The program will automatically open up Google Maps, navigate to the area you want to download and then click Download this map at the top left. It will then slowly load the area you selected in google maps. Confirm your selection and then proceed with the download.

IMPORTANT! you need 2 or 3 system files from your psp firmware (usbacc.prx, (something else).prx and one more that I cant remember. Without those the program will not start.

I still havent got the psp to tell me to turn left or right when on the road, I bought the Dragon car stand to fit my GPS but it doesnt fit. Still need to mod the car stand to make it fit. sweat.gif Other than that yeah the GPS works fine in malaysia now, thanks to google maps updating our roads! icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by slickz: Dec 25 2007, 12:37 AM
slickz
post Dec 26 2007, 08:48 AM

2,149 posts

glad to know u did fine smile.gif

Can anyone tell me if the download tool eats up bandwidth until other users cant use? Is there a way to set the download bandwidth?
slickz
post Dec 27 2007, 08:55 PM

2,149 posts

it can work anywhere u can get GPS. That means nearly worldwide coverage

slickz
post Dec 27 2007, 09:09 PM

2,149 posts

not so simple man, a map the size of penang is probably 500 MB - 1GB! ur better off downloading the maps on ur own using GMDL.
slickz
post Dec 27 2007, 11:33 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Dec 27 2007, 10:55 PM)
I'm talking about a map of penang that's functioning with psp
yes that is EXACTLY what I am talking about. Dark Kai is right.
slickz
post Jan 9 2008, 02:11 PM

2,149 posts

paper map doesnt have an arrow showing YOU ARE HERE and updates in real time. For me that is good enough. I think the ability is there just that we havent found out yet. I know it can record our path.
slickz
post Jan 13 2008, 08:19 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(chiacy @ Jan 13 2008, 07:24 AM)
Why not we put up maps to share.

Got PSP290 yesterday from play-asia.com and works perfectly with slim.

I have Klang valley map.

Will be making few more set of maps covering the whole country.

If you guys are interested, I will post to a site where you can download.

Rgds,
chiacy
yes please
slickz
post Dec 19 2008, 02:49 PM

2,149 posts

got mine for RM210 or so like a year back. It's not as sensitive as a dedicated gps unit. Far from it I would say. Maybe new firmware for psp improved it but I doubt it.

0.0237sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:24 AM