US tobacco gaming stock

TSsgh
post May 14 2022, 12:19 PM, updated 4y ago

692 posts

Wondering if anyone invest in US tobacco and/or gaming stocks? Can share their experience of such companies growth?

Tobacco stock like MO PM BTI ?
Gaming stock like LVS MGM WYNN CZR ?

I know tobacco stocks pay good dividend but my focus is more on growth. From I am born till now reaching 50 these two industries not disappear anytime soon.

PS I already load MCD YUM so want to diversify in other category stocks that has long term growth. I interpret that as something sure got customers patronising their business for generations.
dwRK
post May 15 2022, 10:08 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ May 14 2022, 12:19 PM)
Wondering if anyone invest in US tobacco and/or gaming stocks? Can share their experience of such companies growth?

Tobacco stock like MO PM BTI ?
Gaming stock like LVS MGM WYNN CZR ?

I know tobacco stocks pay good dividend but my focus is more on growth. From I am born till now reaching 50 these two industries not disappear anytime soon.

PS I already load MCD YUM so want to diversify in other category stocks that has long term growth. I interpret that as something sure got customers patronising their business for generations.
these are not the social media darling internet influences stock of choice with tens of thousands of rabid followers... i doubt anyone here invests in them biggrin.gif

you can add weeds to your list... but last few years moon a lot liao... dunno if got second wave... have to keep touch with us politics/legislations...

ps... don't eat KFC in the US... very bad imho...

SUSTOS
post May 15 2022, 12:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 15 2022, 10:08 AM)
Why? Is the fried chicken from KFC more poisonous than McD's? laugh.gif
TSsgh
post May 15 2022, 01:15 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 15 2022, 10:08 AM)
Actually when I go for individual stock I also look at how their products services is being used by friends relatives etc around me. For MCD and YUM is becuz whenever I travel overseas mostly Southeast Asia, these two are classic icons. YUM have both KFC and Pizzahut and these two I see them often too after MCD. If Burger King also listed maybe try buy too.

Tobacco does not mean it has to be weeds. It is just cigarette or e-cigarette etc with legal leaves? Look at Spore one small packet SGD 10 with govt heavy tax still got ppl buy so this business has growth definitely. Msia is becuz govt tax low say if they raise one small packet MYR 30 see the smokers complain or not

As for gaming stock I think this need some research as it is not just casino it can be sports horse lottery etc
dwRK
post May 15 2022, 01:32 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ May 15 2022, 01:15 PM)
Actually when I go for individual stock I also look at how their products services is being used by friends relatives etc around me. For MCD and YUM is becuz whenever I travel overseas mostly Southeast Asia, these two are classic icons. YUM have both KFC and Pizzahut and these two I see them often too after MCD. If Burger King also listed maybe try buy too.

Tobacco does not mean it has to be weeds. It is just cigarette or e-cigarette etc with legal leaves? Look at Spore one small packet SGD 10 with govt heavy tax still got ppl buy so this business has growth definitely. Msia is becuz govt tax low say if they raise one small packet MYR 30 see the smokers complain or not

As for gaming stock I think this need some research as it is not just casino it can be sports horse lottery etc
sure... just saying in US the KFC chicken very small, taste not very good smile.gif

in addition to tobacco... just a suggestion you also look at weed related stocks... smile.gif

as for gaming... ebetting is quite big, especially in UK I think... my neighborhood got a big internet cafe boss... he says always full house at night ppl betting not gaming... lol

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 15 2022, 02:15 PM
TSsgh
post May 15 2022, 03:44 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 15 2022, 01:32 PM)
as for gaming... ebetting is quite big, especially in UK I think... my neighborhood got a big internet cafe boss... he says always full house at night ppl betting not gaming... lol
I think the choice of the word gaming is a more diplomatic and nicer phrase. Betting also ok but gambling would be too negative. Those are super historical longtime industries way before I was born so growth will be there but as you explain govt taxes and regulations is a big hurdle which may restrict how the companies grow.
Toku
post May 25 2022, 01:54 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ May 15 2022, 01:15 PM)

Burger King's parent company is Restaurant Brands International. Ticker is QSR. Dual listed in NYSE and TSE. If you go for dividend, go for the TSE share is not bad. In terms of burger, I like Burger King's much better than McD.

MO and PM is quite resilient. Dividend is good but all growth is from raising price, not increased volume. Kind of sunset industry. But you still can get gem when market misprice it. Too bad US dividend WHT taken 1/3 of the dividend.
SUSTOS
post May 27 2022, 09:46 PM

8,667 posts

Heard on the Street

Investors Quit Tobacco. Why Not Alcohol?

The capital markets treat booze stocks as less harmful than tobacco, even though producers of alcohol and cigarettes have more in common than investors like to admit

https://www.wsj.com/articles/investors-quit...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Jun 5 2022, 12:17 PM

8,667 posts

MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET

Altria’s Cigarette Addiction Is Becoming Unhealthier

Pressure is building on Marlboro maker to improve smoke-free brands now that spinoff Philip Morris International is eyeing U.S. market

https://www.wsj.com/articles/altrias-cigare...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Jun 23 2022, 08:28 PM

8,667 posts

Juul Ban Will Send Altria’s Strategy, and $13 Billion, Up in Smoke
FDA is preparing to remove controversial e-cigarette brand from U.S. market, complicating Altria’s push into smoke-free products

https://www.wsj.com/articles/juul-ban-will-...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Jul 20 2022, 09:56 AM

8,667 posts

Philip Morris Can Use Tobacco Taboo to Its Advantage
Activist investor Elliott may push the maker of Marlboro cigarettes to increase its $16 billion offer for Swedish Match

https://www.wsj.com/articles/philip-morris-...share_permalink
Pewufod
post Jul 20 2022, 10:10 AM

1,537 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 20 2022, 09:56 AM)

Philip Morris Can Use Tobacco Taboo to Its Advantage
Activist investor Elliott may push the maker of Marlboro cigarettes to increase its $16 billion offer for Swedish Match

thx for sharing, was just reading about the swedish company
SUSTOS
post Aug 26 2022, 11:23 PM

8,667 posts

Go Big in Vegas—Stocks, That Is
U.S. casino and online-gambling revenue is reaching a record high, while Asian gambling hub Macau is languishing—an unexpected turn of fortune

https://www.wsj.com/articles/go-big-in-vega...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2022, 05:56 PM

8,667 posts

ETF Hub: Exchange traded funds

‘Anti-woke’ and sin ETFs could get caught up in SEC rules scrutiny
The MAGA, Vice and BAD ETFs would be impacted by ESG Funds and Names Rule changes, if adopted

by David Isenberg, Ignites (6 HOURS AGO)

SUSTOS
post Oct 20 2022, 09:59 PM

8,667 posts

WSJ BUSINESS

Philip Morris Raises Offer for Swedish Match and Buys U.S. Rights for IQOS
Tobacco giant will pay $2.7 billion to regain U.S. rights for IQOS heated tobacco products from Altria

---------------------

WSJ MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET

Philip Morris Has a Plan B for America, But It Isn’t Ideal
Cigarette maker is paying $2.7 billion to end a troubled U.S. distribution agreement with Altria

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 20 2022, 10:04 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 31 2022, 07:28 PM

8,667 posts

Philip Morris Needs to Keep Swedish Match Deal Alight
Despite weak sales at the Swedish nicotine pouch maker, the cigarette company will be reluctant to walk away from its bid

--------------------

Budweiser Flows Freely, but There Are Sputters Ahead
AB InBev’s beers are becoming more popular with drinkers. Central banks and flighty investors are a bigger headache.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/budweiser-flow...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Nov 8 2022, 10:17 PM

8,667 posts

Altria Looks Like a Smoker Struggling to Quit
Tobacco company has few good options left now that Philip Morris’s $16 billion takeover of Swedish Match will go ahead

https://www.wsj.com/articles/altria-looks-l...share_permalink

SUSTOS
post Dec 2 2022, 12:36 PM

8,667 posts

Gaming real estate is hot in Las Vegas.

REAL ESTATE: COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE

Blackstone Stake Sale Values MGM Grand, Mandalay Bay at $5.5 Billion
Las Vegas deal would bring firm a profit of more than $700 million in less than three years, including rent

https://www.wsj.com/articles/blackstone-sta...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Dec 9 2022, 12:44 PM

8,667 posts

Bargain-Hunting Smokers Give Big Tobacco a Headache
Cheaper cigarette brands are taking market share from large rivals like BAT and Altria as smokers look for ways to save cash

https://www.wsj.com/articles/bargain-huntin...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Dec 15 2022, 11:07 PM

8,667 posts

I think we should include "prison" stocks in the "sin" stock list, apart from tobacco and alcohol.

So here we go.

MARKETS:HEARD ON THE STREET

Prison Stocks Get Out of Solitary
The controversial sector gets a lift from ‘Big Short’ investor Michael Burry

https://www.wsj.com/articles/prison-stocks-...share_permalink

0.0287sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:15 PM