QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 12:39 AM)
Dear sifus, would like to ask if it is normal for different bank to give different quotation for a property value? Say for example I am looking to buy a property in outskirt place and the agent is telling me that his banker can get the property value at 900k.However when I submitted loan applications in 2 different banks (not agent’s banker), both banks told me max they can give out is 600k-650k for the same property. Just wondering if this is normal or the agent/banker is marking up the selling price as there’s a 43% difference between agent banker’s quotation and other banks’ quotation.
When buying a property, there is a different between property price and property loan.
Property price is negotiation between seller buyer. When both agreed on the price, banks cannot say both are right or wrong on the value. Buyer paid the price for the perceived value of the property and so was the seller on the selling price.
That is the reason why some people made profits and some made losses when buying properties.
Property loan is between the bank and borrower. Banks assess borrowers risk based on few factors ... property value, loan amount, borrowers risk, tenure, construction, location etc.
When banks approved a loan today, they are only interested to know whether they can recover the loan sum if borrower default tomorrow.
Buyer cannot tell seller that bank value is RMxxx and he is only willing to pay RMxxx. Any difference between the price and loan have to be topup by the buyer.....and these cases are common in property transactions as no two similar properties will have the same 'value'.
Coming to your question .... if you like the property and assuming you are willing to pay the price for whatever personal reasons, submit the loan through the agent. If is approved, then you decide whether to sign the loan offer letter or otherwise.