[WTA] bank’s value, Huge gap between different bank’s value

TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 12:39 AM, updated 4y ago

41 posts

Dear sifus, would like to ask if it is normal for different bank to give different quotation for a property value? Say for example I am looking to buy a property in outskirt place and the agent is telling me that his banker can get the property value at 900k.However when I submitted loan applications in 2 different banks (not agent’s banker), both banks told me max they can give out is 600k-650k for the same property. Just wondering if this is normal or the agent/banker is marking up the selling price as there’s a 43% difference between agent banker’s quotation and other banks’ quotation.

This post has been edited by cheokchuanyi: May 4 2022, 12:42 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post May 4 2022, 12:43 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 12:39 AM)
Dear sifus, would like to ask if it is normal for different bank to give different quotation for a property value? Say for example  I am looking to buy a property in outskirt place and the agent is telling me that his banker can get the property value at 900k.However when I submitted loan applications in 2 different banks (not agent’s banker), both banks told me max they can give out is 600k-650k for the same property. Just wondering if this is normal or the agent/banker is marking up the selling price as there’s a 43% difference between agent banker’s quotation and other banks’ quotation.
Im not sure if u know max loan offered is based on your paying ability, and how many properties u currently have.

In other words, bank thinks u can only afford to pay for 650K value property.
MrBaba
post May 4 2022, 02:27 AM

2,506 posts

If u aiming for those buy house get cash from housing loan thing don't do it.
mini orchard
post May 4 2022, 07:08 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 12:39 AM)
Dear sifus, would like to ask if it is normal for different bank to give different quotation for a property value? Say for example  I am looking to buy a property in outskirt place and the agent is telling me that his banker can get the property value at 900k.However when I submitted loan applications in 2 different banks (not agent’s banker), both banks told me max they can give out is 600k-650k for the same property. Just wondering if this is normal or the agent/banker is marking up the selling price as there’s a 43% difference between agent banker’s quotation and other banks’ quotation.
When buying a property, there is a different between property price and property loan.

Property price is negotiation between seller buyer. When both agreed on the price, banks cannot say both are right or wrong on the value. Buyer paid the price for the perceived value of the property and so was the seller on the selling price.

That is the reason why some people made profits and some made losses when buying properties.

Property loan is between the bank and borrower. Banks assess borrowers risk based on few factors ... property value, loan amount, borrowers risk, tenure, construction, location etc.

When banks approved a loan today, they are only interested to know whether they can recover the loan sum if borrower default tomorrow.

Buyer cannot tell seller that bank value is RMxxx and he is only willing to pay RMxxx. Any difference between the price and loan have to be topup by the buyer.....and these cases are common in property transactions as no two similar properties will have the same 'value'.

Coming to your question .... if you like the property and assuming you are willing to pay the price for whatever personal reasons, submit the loan through the agent. If is approved, then you decide whether to sign the loan offer letter or otherwise.

bryan_x00
post May 4 2022, 07:38 AM

1,228 posts

Means you are over paying for your prop.

My suggestion is to look elsewhere.
TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 09:19 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 4 2022, 12:43 AM)
Im not sure if u know max loan offered is based on your paying ability, and how many properties u currently have.

In other words, bank thinks u can only afford to pay for 650K value property.
I am referring to the bank’s value.the property agent insist his banker can get the property value at 900k but other banks can quoted the value max at 600k so they only only give out the loan at that value.
TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 09:27 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 4 2022, 07:08 AM)
When buying a property, there is a different between property price and property loan.

Property price is negotiation between seller buyer. When both agreed on the price, banks cannot say both are right or wrong on the value. Buyer paid the price for the perceived value of the property and so was the seller on the selling price.

Coming to your question .... if you like the property and assuming you are willing to pay the price for whatever personal reasons, submit the loan through the agent. If is approved, then you decide whether to sign the loan offer letter or otherwise.
Thanks for explaining the difference between property price and value. Perhaps I am not being clear on my question. I am just puzzled that how come property agent banker’s insisting the property is valued at 900k but few other banks told me their valuer can only give a price of RM600k.Are they using different standard when valuing a property?

This post has been edited by cheokchuanyi: May 4 2022, 09:28 AM
TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 09:29 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(bryan_x00 @ May 4 2022, 07:38 AM)
Means you are over paying for your prop.

My suggestion is to look elsewhere.
Yes this for sure,but I just think that something is not right on the agent and banker.
Calvin Seak
post May 4 2022, 12:02 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 09:29 AM)
Yes this for sure,but I just think that something is not right on the agent and banker.
Where is the property that you’re looking at and how many Sq ft is it?
TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 12:16 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ May 4 2022, 12:02 PM)
Where is the property that you’re looking at and how many Sq ft is it?
Some ulu place in NS. Land area 6175 sq feet with built up area 3842 sq feet.
Calvin Seak
post May 4 2022, 12:53 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 12:16 PM)
Some ulu place in NS. Land area 6175 sq feet with built up area 3842 sq feet.
I see, that's really huge! Maybe the valuer based past transaction as it's not really a popular area. Which bank did you looked it?

Or maybe this is your 3rd prop? 70% financing 900 x 70% = 630k

Cheers and all the best
Icehart
post May 4 2022, 06:51 PM

14,906 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ May 4 2022, 02:27 AM)
Why?
TScheokchuanyi
post May 4 2022, 07:44 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ May 4 2022, 02:27 AM)
Nope I am buying for my parents to stay.
MrBaba
post May 4 2022, 07:59 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 4 2022, 06:51 PM)
Why?
U get cash lump-sum but interest is insane
MrBaba
post May 4 2022, 08:02 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 07:44 PM)
Nope I am buying for my parents to stay.
Try few more bank
icemanfx
post May 4 2022, 08:23 PM

21,459 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 09:27 AM)
Thanks for explaining the difference between property price and value. Perhaps I am not being clear on my question. I am just puzzled that how come property agent banker’s insisting the property is valued at 900k but few other banks told me their valuer can only give a price of RM600k.Are they using different standard when valuing a property?
Until poorperly agent's bank give you letter of offer, is hearsay.

Thasmita
post May 4 2022, 08:52 PM

758 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 4 2022, 08:23 PM)
Until poorperly agent's bank give you letter of offer, is hearsay.
My thoughts exactly
icemanfx
post May 4 2022, 10:51 PM

21,459 posts

After suffering losses at auctions, some banks no longer allowed developer to dictate new launch value i.e offer loan to valuer's report. hence, there could be substantial different between developer's price and loan.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 4 2022, 10:52 PM
bobiq
post May 5 2022, 09:49 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ May 4 2022, 09:27 AM)
Property agents can sometimes promise the sky in order to get you to put down a deposit. By then, it'll be too late if you wanna pull out.

As others has pointed out, its all just hearsay until you see the actual paperwork.

0.0197sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:12 PM