Q&A Myvi 1.5 H service question ❓, Battery died, but not sure how much

TSPedojacko
post May 3 2022, 02:36 PM, updated 4y ago

45 posts

Is the price normal to change the battery for a myvi h or I had overpaid for the battery?

To add on:
By the way, the perodua service centre did mention different version of myvi use different battery as I heard of, for myvi h and myvi ad use different battery because the so called "hybrid" that's why is expensive?

This post has been edited by Pedojacko: May 3 2022, 02:59 PM
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 02:37 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

expensive and overpriced but that's the price to pay for having auto start stop laugh.gif

change it outside, start from RM300

This post has been edited by MR_alien: May 3 2022, 02:38 PM
-H[20]-
post May 3 2022, 02:37 PM

162 posts

battery 500, you so rich
ericangtzeann
post May 3 2022, 02:38 PM

123 posts

Wow, 500 so cheap 😑 my last battery change cost me 1.3k
areszues92
post May 3 2022, 02:39 PM

168 posts

of cos they potong u, should have got from outside
pretty23
post May 3 2022, 02:40 PM

1,791 posts

can let me change 2x NS70L battery.
max_cavalera
post May 3 2022, 02:45 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 03:37 PM)
expensive and overpriced but that's the price to pay for having auto start stop laugh.gif

change it outside, start from RM300
Walai bateri rm500 ohmy.gif

What kinda batery is that?

Even hond kity baru rm260+
Chaud
post May 3 2022, 02:47 PM

1,119 posts

perodua service center all premium price one
SUSNew Klang
post May 3 2022, 02:47 PM

4,998 posts

2x century maintenance free
Lucas0323
post May 3 2022, 02:48 PM

808 posts

400 outside Bosch
degraw19
post May 3 2022, 02:48 PM

345 posts

knn 500 last year i changed battery outside even half price compare with TS

inb4 battery premium kecian TS kana cutthroat price

lel

This post has been edited by degraw19: May 3 2022, 02:49 PM
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 02:50 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 3 2022, 02:45 PM)

honda city don't have auto start stop bruh
a normal battery for myvi without auto start stop is below RM200 only
a car that has auto start stop needs AGM battery and that itself is expensive laugh.gif
outside start from RM300

this is why i keep saying p2 is heading to the wrong direction laugh.gif KineticKill
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 02:52 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(degraw19 @ May 3 2022, 02:48 PM)
knn 500 last year i changed battery outside even half price compare with TS

inb4 battery premium kecian TS kana cutthroat price

lel
TS definitely kena cut throat but it's not a whole lot cheaper outside as well
RiriRuruRara
post May 3 2022, 02:54 PM

1,011 posts

WTA is it normal when I called up service center to ask how much they charge for new absorber they refused to tell me the price until I give them car no. Plate number??

TSPedojacko

45 posts

QUOTE(areszues92 @ May 3 2022, 02:39 PM)
of cos they potong u, should have got from outside
I had always bring to perodua worshop there for service but never question the price😅 how this happen because one day my car sometime cannot push start the car and feel like one day it will die on me, so i decided to call the perodua and asked what happen. So they just tell me that my car battery not enough and need to change. So I just bring to their workshop to change the battery and also service my car together. but didn't expect the battery can be this expensive 😅
dares

834 posts

tu lah....fuyoh cheap car also got high tech features damn worth it.

Then when it comes to maintenance and repairs / replacements KPKB kenape harga bangsawan??

Wait til the LED headlamp bulb burn lah.
ayamxxx

4,057 posts

Change outside la or via apps for battery, standard price at apps. UMW also another SC charged cut throat for battery at SC. Vios Dugong at rm600 battery replacement
dares
post May 3 2022, 02:55 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 3 2022, 02:54 PM)
I had always bring to perodua worshop there for service but never question the price😅 how this happen because one day my car sometime cannot push start the car and feel like one day it will die on me, so i decided to call the perodua and asked what happen. So they just tell me that my car battery not enough and need to change. So I just bring to their workshop to change the battery and also service my car together. but didn't expect the battery can be this expensive 😅
Next time these wear and tear items like wiper, brakepads, battery etc..... ask price first.
PJng
post May 3 2022, 02:56 PM

12,047 posts

Last time, my viva sc quote me 180 battery
I say no need, change out site
teslaman
post May 3 2022, 02:56 PM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 3 2022, 02:36 PM)
Is the price normal to change the battery for a myvi h or I had overpaid for the battery?

battery just rm150

u can change new every year for rm500
WaCKy-Angel
post May 3 2022, 02:57 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Perodua price maaaa. outside buy max RM200
TSPedojacko

45 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ May 3 2022, 02:40 PM)
can let me change 2x NS70L battery.
Is the battery for the myvi 1.5 h? Because at the perodua service center mention that there is different battery that can be used for H and Ad version. I am also confused what battery and just listen to them that the battery they recommend me 😂

By the way, my battery just last 4 year, not sure is this normal?
jmas

I can edit title???
830 posts

battery for car with auto start/stop function, quite expensive even for the cheapest outside
degraw19

345 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ May 3 2022, 02:54 PM)
WTA is it normal when I called up service center to ask how much they charge for new absorber they refused to tell me the price until I give them car no. Plate number??
what car ur using myvi also? diu last time i everydei call the service center farking busy line kek
darren486
post May 3 2022, 03:00 PM

153 posts

the 2018 myvi batter is slightly bigger then the normal RM200 battery, mine is the Adv 2018 myvi, changed my battery last year, about RM400, but i changed outside lah, not in perodua service center, inside service center, they quoted me RM700 also, so i just go outside change 1 for RM400 maintenance free punya
RiriRuruRara
post May 3 2022, 03:03 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(degraw19 @ May 3 2022, 02:57 PM)
what car ur using myvi also? diu last time i everydei call the service center farking busy line kek
Me bezza only.
TSPedojacko
post May 3 2022, 03:05 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ May 3 2022, 03:00 PM)
the 2018 myvi batter is slightly bigger then the normal RM200 battery, mine is the Adv 2018 myvi, changed my battery last year, about RM400, but i changed outside lah, not in perodua service center, inside service center, they quoted me RM700 also, so i just go outside change 1 for RM400 maintenance free punya
May I know which service center or workshop you can recommend? Maybe next service I will bring it to outside instead perodua centre 😅
fantasy1989
post May 3 2022, 03:05 PM

4,707 posts

EFI battery will be more expensive than normal

i change my gf 1.3L maivi

Varta Silver M42L RM350 siap pasang thru bateriku

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: May 3 2022, 03:07 PM
fantasy1989
post May 3 2022, 03:07 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 3 2022, 03:05 PM)
May I know which service center or workshop you can recommend? Maybe next service I will bring it to outside instead perodua centre 😅
you can order from bateriku or carput ..they will have rider come n install for u

you also can compare price and brand
darren486
post May 3 2022, 03:08 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 3 2022, 03:05 PM)
i'm still servicing my car at the perodua service center due to warranty, just minor item changes like battery and these i go to a shop near my house in klang lah, just go to any mechanic i think they can help you
azbro
post May 3 2022, 03:09 PM

4,403 posts

Must be using gold and diamond parts inside.
pretty23
post May 3 2022, 03:15 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 3 2022, 02:57 PM)
Is the battery for the myvi 1.5 h? Because at the perodua service center mention that there is different battery that can be used for H and Ad version. I am also confused what battery and just listen to them that the battery they recommend me 😂

By the way, my battery just last 4 year, not sure is this normal?
NS70L too big to fit inside mybi. Not even altis can fit it too.
TSPedojacko
post May 3 2022, 03:20 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ May 3 2022, 03:07 PM)
you can order from bateriku or carput ..they will have rider come n install for u

you also can compare price and brand

Okay... Thanks for recommend me the site , and I just checked , it really is cheaper a lot compare to the perodua service centre 😅
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 04:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

normal
say like i call proton, i say saga
they also need to know which version of saga

saga BLM/FL/FLX/VVT

QUOTE(teslaman @ May 3 2022, 02:56 PM)
battery just rm150

u can change new every year for rm500
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 3 2022, 02:57 PM)
Perodua price maaaa. outside buy max RM200
EFB/AGM battery isn't that cheap...it starts from RM300 cheapest

This post has been edited by MR_alien: May 3 2022, 04:25 PM
teslaman
post May 3 2022, 04:21 PM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 04:10 PM)
normal

saga BLM/FL/FLX/VVT
EFi/AGM battery isn't that cheap...it starts from RM300 cheapest
Why need AGM? Cheap battery lasts equally long
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 04:24 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ May 3 2022, 04:21 PM)
Why need AGM? Cheap battery lasts equally long
because the car has auto start stop
if the car is the old 4AT, lower variant thn can use normal battery but this is a 1.5H
zerorating
post May 3 2022, 04:30 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

meanwhile i am using wet rm105 ns40zl, 2.5 years already
WaCKy-Angel
post May 3 2022, 05:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 04:10 PM)
normal

saga BLM/FL/FLX/VVT
EFB/AGM battery isn't that cheap...it starts from RM300 cheapest
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 04:24 PM)
if the car is the old 4AT, lower variant thn can use normal battery but this is a 1.5H
most ppl disabled the auto start stop isnt it?

Furthermore frequent start stop will cause more damage to battery and/or engine (piston?) compared to no auto coz our fuel is still dirt cheap.
understandable for some countries the fuel is sibeh expensive so auto start stop makes sense but here?
teslaman
post May 3 2022, 06:00 PM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 04:24 PM)
1.5H?
MR_alien
post May 3 2022, 06:00 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 3 2022, 05:28 PM)
most ppl disabled the auto start stop isnt it?

Furthermore frequent start stop will cause more damage to battery and/or engine (piston?) compared to no auto coz our fuel is still dirt cheap.
understandable for some countries the fuel is sibeh expensive so auto start stop makes sense but here?
disable and remove is different
u disable it, the system is still there active
u still need to use AGM battery regardless

actually no matter how expensive your fuel is, it's not worth it
i see some people the car just stop thn the light turns green...release brake pedal become start engine rclxub.gif laugh.gif
the more traffic light, the higher the frequency shocking.gif
ssmui
post May 3 2022, 07:28 PM

89 posts

Idle-stop is a feature to qualify the Myvi as an EEV vehicle, got some tax exemption.
6942nole
post May 3 2022, 07:34 PM

346 posts

why student car @king of the road is so expensive to maintain?
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2022, 08:46 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

To add on:
By the way, the perodua service centre did mention different version of myvi use different battery as I heard of, for myvi h and myvi ad use different battery because the so called "hybrid" that's why is expensive?

https://shopee.com.my/M42-M42R-60B20L-R-Var...fb-2b2f3f434bf9

M42 / M42R | 60B20L/R Varta Silver EFB Dynamic | Start & Stop Engine (Idle Stop) Car Battery Bateri Kereta | Myvi Bezza No trade in

RM313.00

clearly you already kana chopped sweat.gif

also, they chopped your head again for the UNNECESSARY rm24.00 injector cleaner

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 3 2022, 08:49 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2022, 08:47 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ May 3 2022, 07:34 PM)
why student car @king of the road is so expensive to maintain?
since when Rm50K+ car is qualified as a student car?

rm25K axia manual is a student car

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 3 2022, 08:48 PM
6942nole
post May 3 2022, 09:47 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 3 2022, 08:47 PM)
since when Rm50K+ car is qualified as a student car?

rm25K axia manual is a student car
got one auntie said to her dotter one biggrin.gif
ihavenoidea
post May 3 2022, 09:56 PM

1,300 posts

Perodua once told me my bat dying, i end up using it for another 1y+
hafiez
post May 3 2022, 09:56 PM

2,980 posts

Itu EFB battery memang harga macam tu ler

Normal price for me if u ask

AGM battery much more exp than that. Twice. Or even thrice.
TSPedojacko
post May 4 2022, 07:18 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 3 2022, 08:46 PM)
https://shopee.com.my/M42-M42R-60B20L-R-Var...fb-2b2f3f434bf9

M42 / M42R | 60B20L/R Varta Silver EFB Dynamic | Start & Stop Engine (Idle Stop) Car Battery Bateri Kereta | Myvi Bezza No trade in

RM313.00
clearly you already kana chopped  sweat.gif

also, they chopped your head again for the UNNECESSARY rm24.00 injector cleaner
Yea... I checked the carput.my, is cheaper compare to perodua service center. But thanks for the link too!

But year, definitely will go outside workshop for service already since my warranty is already over way long already...
TSPedojacko
post May 4 2022, 07:24 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ May 3 2022, 09:47 PM)
got one auntie said to her dotter one  biggrin.gif
That's 富二代 privilege. Lower income, I don't think can afford. 😅
But for me I get myvi because of convenient parking in KL area lol.

This post has been edited by Pedojacko: May 4 2022, 07:25 AM
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 07:39 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 4 2022, 07:18 AM)
Yea... I checked the carput.my, is cheaper compare to perodua service center. But thanks for the link too!

But year, definitely will go outside workshop for service already since my warranty is already over way long already...
Great idea as that will save you a couple of bucks definately, however please do update us all when you run into electrical problems after the battery install.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 4 2022, 08:04 AM
6942nole
post May 4 2022, 09:34 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 4 2022, 07:24 AM)
That's 富二代 privilege. Lower income, I don't think can afford. 😅
But for me I get myvi because of convenient parking in KL area lol.
ha, you guys missed the auntie story. biggrin.gif

Quantum Geist
post May 4 2022, 09:38 AM

109 posts

lol, more expensive than mazda 2 & 3 battery
paskal
post May 4 2022, 09:41 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ May 3 2022, 09:56 PM)

Deswai bike battery is expensive as hell
Cost more than normal car battery 🤮
KineticKill
post May 4 2022, 07:08 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 07:50 AM)
a car that has auto start stop needs AGM battery and that itself is expensive laugh.gif
outside start from RM300

this is why i keep saying p2 is heading to the wrong direction laugh.gif  KineticKill
That auto start stop can be disabled?
fireballs
post May 4 2022, 07:13 PM

5,650 posts

Disable the auto start stop
Buy normal 180 battery
MR_alien
post May 4 2022, 07:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 4 2022, 07:08 PM)
That auto start stop can be disabled?
disable =/= remove
every car has a button to turn it off but the system is still there...it's not removed hence u still need an AGM battery
there are method to permanently disable it, same story
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 08:39 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ May 3 2022, 03:00 PM)
Why was the quote Rm700 ? That can't be battery alone.

Were there other electrical problems that required the additional cost ?
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 08:40 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 4 2022, 07:17 PM)
disable =/= remove
every car has a button to turn it off but the system is still there...it's not removed hence u still need an AGM battery
Bro., Stop-Start cars uses EFB Battery. Not AGM.

nasiayam
post May 4 2022, 08:55 PM

668 posts

eh, i thought if car still under warranty, battery must changed at p2 service center, if not will void warranty?
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 08:56 PM

3,520 posts

The very reason why battery prices are higher in Service Centers for EFB battery compared to outside resellers is because of the high investment of diagnostic analyzers that must be accompanied with EFB batteries management which outside resellers are not burdened with.

Senang cerita y'all form 2 groups

1. Loyal to Service Centers
2. Loyal to Outside Resellers, without such diagnostic analyzers

Overtime 5, 10, 15 years then compare notes which is more economical including both direct and indirect costs.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 4 2022, 08:58 PM
:3mushy:3
post May 4 2022, 08:58 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 08:40 PM)
AGM is far superior to EFB. EFB due to being cheaper is used widely in lower range cars. Higher range cars use AGM, plus dedicated capacitor (auxiliary battery) to further complement the power requirement..
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:00 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 4 2022, 08:58 PM)
AGM is far superior to EFB. EFB due to being cheaper is used widely in lower range cars. Higher range cars use AGM, plus dedicated capacitor (auxiliary battery) to further complement the power requirement..
Correct. But are those inferior vehicles electrical charging system designed for AGM's ? Obviously not.
post May 4 2022, 09:02 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:00 PM)
Correct. But are those inferior vehicles electrical charging system designed for AGM's ? Obviously not.
There are variables but in theory you can.

It is your "Bro., Stop-Start cars uses EFB Battery. Not AGM." that intrigues me as it is very inaccurate.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: May 4 2022, 09:03 PM
herojack41
post May 4 2022, 09:03 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 3 2022, 02:54 PM)
tu lah....fuyoh cheap car also got high tech features damn worth it.

Then when it comes to maintenance and repairs / replacements KPKB kenape harga bangsawan??

Wait til the LED headlamp bulb burn lah.
entire assembly....rm600+

same goes to those who buy aruz/ativa kete ada gaya...rims start at 17"

Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:06 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 4 2022, 09:03 PM)
entire assembly....rm600+

same goes to those who buy aruz/ativa kete ada gaya...rims start at 17"

Not Rm1,000+ meh ? Rm600 like harga runtuh leh. Siapa cepat siapa dapat.
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:08 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 4 2022, 07:13 PM)
Disable the auto start stop
Buy normal 180 battery
Disable Stop-Start can.
Use NS40ZL cannot.
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:10 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(nasiayam @ May 4 2022, 08:55 PM)
eh, i thought if car still under warranty, battery must changed at p2 service center, if not will void warranty?
If battery kong not during SC working hour how ? Wait until they open ?
SUSnasiputih
post May 4 2022, 09:15 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ May 3 2022, 02:38 PM)
Wow, 500 so cheap 😑 my last battery change cost me 1.3k
rm1.3k? that price of a escooter.
fireballs
post May 4 2022, 09:15 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:08 PM)
Disable Stop-Start can.
Use NS40ZL cannot.
Why not
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:20 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 4 2022, 09:15 PM)
Why not
Good question. The SOP says cannot. I just follow SOP only.

Those who had tried NS40ZL with Myvi Eco-Idle, please update us all, was it a good move or a bad move.
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:23 PM

3,520 posts

To add on:

Apa la hybrid ?

EFB stands for Enhanced Flooded Battery tu je. EFB-M42
RFB stands for Regular Flooded Battery iaitu NS40ZL

Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:28 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 3 2022, 02:50 PM)
outside start from RM300

this is why i keep saying p2 is heading to the wrong direction laugh.gif 
KineticKill
Later everyone heading in the same direction then you know. Developed countries most manufacturers have gone in that direction Stop-Start. Cukur la here under-develop so it may still take awhile but it is unavoidable, I think.
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:32 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 3 2022, 02:54 PM)
Change outside la or via apps for battery, standard price at apps. UMW also another SC charged cut throat for battery at SC. Vios Dugong at rm600 battery replacement
Rm600 for NS40ZL battery ?
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 09:34 PM

3,520 posts

Obviously you are not familiar with SC SOPs.
MR_alien
post May 4 2022, 09:36 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 08:40 PM)
don't know what's the difference because i don't drive such car
just setting example...all those non-conventional battery are all equally expensive

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:28 PM)
Later everyone heading in the same direction then you know. Developed countries most manufacturers have gone in that direction Stop-Start. Cukur la here under-develop so it may still take awhile but it is unavoidable, I think.
there are still manufacturer that aren't heading to that direction
plus if they all do, i've been prepared laugh.gif
i already gave up buying new car already...and if the new myvi officially switched to 1.0L turbo CVT....p2 lineup of cars is officially doomed to me
fireballs
post May 4 2022, 09:36 PM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:20 PM)
Good question. The SOP says cannot. I just follow SOP only.

Those who had tried NS40ZL with Myvi Eco-Idle, please update us all, was it a good move or a bad move.
If use startstop then maybe cannot. Frequently discharge will kill battery earlier.
scorptim
post May 4 2022, 09:37 PM

700 posts

Baik topup sikit beli bmw 5 years free serbis
herojack41
post May 4 2022, 09:44 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:06 PM)
Not Rm1,000+ meh ? Rm600 like harga runtuh leh. Siapa cepat siapa dapat.
eh wait....that was last gen myvi reflector unit.

yeah...the led probably 1k+
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 10:26 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 4 2022, 09:44 PM)
eh wait....that was last gen myvi reflector unit.

yeah...the led probably 1k+
Reflector unit ? Teruk la kau ni. 😂😂😂
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 10:33 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 4 2022, 09:36 PM)
don't know what's the difference because i don't drive such car
just setting example...all those non-conventional battery are all equally expensive
there are still manufacturer that aren't heading to that direction
plus if they all do, i've been prepared laugh.gif
i already gave up buying new car already...and if the new myvi officially switched to 1.0L turbo CVT....p2 lineup of cars is officially doomed to me
I think the 3rd Gen Myvi with that botox is with the CVT, if I am not mistaken.

Actually I also dont know what was Perodua thinking when they decided going with Stop-Start. Other manufacturers who has operations in developed world already know it is a negative judging from their clients comments so they are withholding doing here, unless the brain dead in Parliament says its the law.

I have a customer who bought a Myvi Gen 3 not the botox one but it came without Stop-Start but according to him, he really had to wait for it, as they were all pushing the Stop-Start units only that time. His only gripe was he had to settle for a smaller engine.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 4 2022, 10:34 PM
herojack41
post May 4 2022, 10:33 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ May 3 2022, 09:56 PM)

not sure why AGM battery is in this discussion.

we aint living in extreme weather and the pony 1.3 ~ 1.5L engine need AGM? laugh.gif

which expert brings that up
Roman Catholic
post May 4 2022, 10:45 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 4 2022, 09:36 PM)
If use startstop then maybe cannot. Frequently discharge will kill battery earlier.
That I am not sure also if that is possible. I just service a client's Myvi early this month, never imagined that the Myvi had so many indicators in its dash. Kejap when I come across the video again on EFB batteries and the number of electrical loads that it has to support is really mind blowing, will share it with you.

Well I guess one could look at it this way, to hell with the vehicle's warranty, since this car will be on the 2nd hand market, so yeah. Your money, your ride, who are we to comment betul ? I have not personally checked with my friends in SC how much would it costs to replace a faulty ASA system if the fault was due to an incompatible battery use.

I know a damaged infotainment due to battery replacement can set me back by a minimum of Rm150 quote from P2 SC directly, not Authorized SC. Maximum amount I don't even want to know. Profit from battery sale, also not enough cover minimum damages to infotainment. 😨😨😨

What I do know is, the more electrical sensors it has, the more sensitive they are. Cars these days are getting more and more complicated. This is just 12V system. Wait till those EV vehicle become mainstream, those batteries dunno how many volts ? If kena dunno can die onot ?

One thing i have noticed is that there are more and more cars coming in with electrical problems at the mekanik bawah pokok operation. What does that tell us ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 4 2022, 10:54 PM
hafiez
post May 5 2022, 12:30 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 4 2022, 10:33 PM)

we aint living in extreme weather and the pony 1.3 ~ 1.5L engine need AGM? laugh.gif

Post #12

He just stated, but doesnt conclude anything lah..
fireballs
post May 5 2022, 12:52 AM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 10:45 PM)
That I am not sure also if that is possible. I just service a client's Myvi early this month, never imagined that the Myvi had so many indicators in its dash. Kejap when I come across the video again on EFB batteries and the number of electrical loads that it has to support is really mind blowing, will share it with you.

Well I guess one could look at it this way, to hell with the vehicle's warranty, since this car will be on the 2nd hand market, so yeah. Your money, your ride, who are we to comment betul ? I have not personally checked with my friends in SC how much would it costs to replace a faulty ASA system if the fault was due to an incompatible battery use.

I know a damaged infotainment due to battery replacement can set me back by a minimum of Rm150 quote from P2 SC directly, not Authorized SC. Maximum amount I don't even want to know. Profit from battery sale, also not enough cover minimum damages to infotainment. 😨😨😨

What I do know is, the more electrical sensors it has, the more sensitive they are. Cars these days are getting more and more complicated. This is just 12V system. Wait till those EV vehicle become mainstream, those batteries dunno how many volts ? If kena dunno can die onot ?

One thing i have noticed is that there are more and more cars coming in with electrical problems at the mekanik bawah pokok operation. What does that tell us ?
The main draw will still be engine starting. Efb battery allows heavy repeated drawing of current before have a chance to get charged. Esp during start stop traffic.

The sensors takes miliamps and should not affect much. Ecus have heavy filtering so voltage fluctuation would not affect it.

Infotainment damage is possibly from terbalik terminal. Likely shorted the polarity protection diode.

In any case, disabling the startstop should prolong the lifespan of the battery, efb or normal.

Ultimately is customer decision

Ev is another story. High voltage side is typically 600 to 800v. There is a DC DC converter that gives 12v for charging a conventional lead acid battery to power up the infotainment, fans, aircond compressor etc.

SUSnasiputih
post May 5 2022, 01:36 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 10:45 PM)

the pokok guud business fongshui

This post has been edited by nasiputih: May 5 2022, 01:36 AM
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 06:57 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(nasiputih @ May 5 2022, 01:36 AM)
the pokok guud business fongshui
I would think so judging by the ever increasing number of people awaiting their services. There is a place business so good until many clients decides not to take their ride home. Dah jadi macam junkyard already. Don't know whether the mekanik managed to collect the payments or owners themselves decides to leave their cars permanently under the sifu custody all because of unresolved electrical problems.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 5 2022, 06:58 AM
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 07:32 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 5 2022, 12:52 AM)
The main draw will still be engine starting. Efb battery allows heavy repeated drawing of current before have a chance to get charged. Esp during start stop traffic.

The sensors takes miliamps and should not affect much. Ecus have heavy filtering so voltage fluctuation would not affect it.

Infotainment damage is possibly from terbalik terminal. Likely shorted the polarity protection diode.

In any case, disabling the startstop should prolong the lifespan of the battery, efb or normal.

Ultimately is customer decision

Ev is another story. High voltage side is typically 600 to 800v. There is a DC DC converter that gives 12v for charging a conventional lead acid battery to power up the infotainment, fans, aircond compressor etc.
If silap pasang I dont think only the infotainment will be the only problem, there will be bigger and more expensive problems.

OK here is what happened. 1st time I tested this Myvi Gen3, I immediately told to owner not to use the vehicle anymore, until I had done the battery replacement. It was a Bad Cell status. Since they have another car, use that first.

The following day, the owner drove to Jusco, no issues. On their way home, a strange 2" bar appeared across the screen. The owner immediately came to see me and showed me the bar. I also damn stupid, never whipped out the phone to record the damn bar. Panic sial, owner also sad already, saying really sakit hati stuff, like dunno this brand can trust onot. Told the owner no worries, go back first and will drop by an hour later.

Dropped by and we went on a test drive. This time armed with the stupid phone to record the strange bar for my HQ and my contacts at Perodua SC. KNN this time the bar never appeared again, until today. I had done a couple of battery replacements for this Myvi G3 but nothing quite like this ever happened before.

Since that incident, now I am very fussy about calls asking for battery assistance. If owners dont listen to their SC and wants my assistance in time of their need, I will usually give some stupid excuse. Surely got some other hidden problems brewing already.

Clients who allows me to do diagnostic test before their battery dies, then I know what exactly I am dealing with and I will be to help. Out of the blue new clients, I just send them back into the blue aje lah. Orang lain pun mahu untung ma.

Definately sounds snobbish but hey at least I dont have to incur any stupid repair bills later and most importantly loss of goodwill towards my Principal Co. batteries and me.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 5 2022, 07:36 AM
MR_alien
post May 5 2022, 07:34 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 10:33 PM)
I think the 3rd Gen Myvi with that botox is with the CVT, if I am not mistaken.

Actually I also dont know what was Perodua thinking when they decided going with Stop-Start. Other manufacturers who has operations in developed world already know it is a negative judging from their clients comments so they are withholding doing here, unless the brain dead in Parliament says its the law.

I have a customer who bought a Myvi Gen 3 not the botox one but it came without Stop-Start but according to him, he really had to wait for it, as they were all pushing the Stop-Start units only that time. His only gripe was he had to settle for a smaller engine.
yes
myvi gen 3 only the 1.3L 2 lowest variant doesn't come with it
the rest of the lineup came with it

for me, i can accept CVT...nothing wrong with it
but i can't accept 3 pot...so right now, myvi is left that is still worthy to buy
once myvi changed to 1.0L 3 pot turbocharged, it's no longer worthy anymore
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 07:39 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 5 2022, 07:34 AM)
yes
myvi gen 3 only the 1.3L 2 lowest variant doesn't come with it
the rest of the lineup came with it

for me, i can accept CVT...nothing wrong with it
but i can't accept 3 pot...so right now, myvi is left that is still worthy to buy
once myvi changed to 1.0L 3 pot turbocharged, it's no longer worthy anymore
Sorry bro., what is pot ?

In some videos, there are some who are complaining about strange noises coming from the CVT. They are saying the 4AT is better. I don't la, thats what they claim only. Not interested to find out in detail.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 5 2022, 07:41 AM
SUSMuchafaka
post May 5 2022, 07:41 AM

Battery that suppork auto start stop is expensive...
ihavenoidea
post May 5 2022, 07:42 AM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 5 2022, 07:39 AM)
Cylinder.
If me 1.0 3 cylinder masi ok la, if 1.5 3 cylinder a no no
MR_alien
post May 5 2022, 07:48 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 4 2022, 10:33 PM)

don't really know the difference between AGM and EFB because i don't use it
but to say we don't live in extreme weather, that's wrong
there's a reason why our battery only lasted an average of 1.5-2 years

furthermore, u do notice EFB battery only given a warranty of 12 months while conventional battery give warranty of 18 months
MR_alien
post May 5 2022, 07:49 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 5 2022, 07:39 AM)

In some videos, there are some who are complaining about strange noises coming from the CVT. They are saying the 4AT is better. I don't la, thats what they claim only. Not interested to find out in detail.
3 pot is conventionally called 3 cylinder
fireballs
post May 5 2022, 07:56 AM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 5 2022, 07:32 AM)
If silap pasang I dont think only the infotainment will be the only problem, there will be bigger and more expensive problems.

OK here is what happened. 1st time I tested this Myvi Gen3, I immediately told to owner not to use the vehicle anymore, until I had done the battery replacement. It was a Bad Cell status. Since they have another car, use that first.

The following day, the owner drove to Jusco, no issues. On their way home, a strange 2" bar appeared across the screen. The owner immediately came to see me and showed me the bar. I also damn stupid, never whipped out the phone to record the damn bar. Panic sial, owner also sad already, saying really sakit hati stuff, like dunno this brand can trust onot. Told the owner no worries, go back first and will drop by an hour later.

Dropped by and we went on a test drive. This time armed with the stupid phone to record the strange bar for my HQ and my contacts at Perodua SC. KNN this time the bar never appeared again, until today. I had done a couple of battery replacements for this Myvi G3 but nothing quite like this ever happened before.

Since that incident, now I am very fussy about calls asking for battery assistance. If owners dont listen to their SC and wants my assistance in time of their need, I will usually give some stupid excuse. Surely got some other hidden problems brewing already.

Clients who allows me to do diagnostic test before their battery dies, then I know what exactly I am dealing with and I will be to help. Out of the blue new clients, I just send them back into the blue aje lah. Orang lain pun mahu untung ma.

Definately sounds snobbish but hey at least I dont have to incur any stupid repair bills later and most importantly loss of goodwill towards my Principal Co. batteries and me.
Bad cell status is reported by the dashboard? Or your battery tester?
The 2"bar got give any obd code? Any check engine light?

Since u represent battery company, sure u have full range of efb agm right? The myvi case you replace with is efb as well?

Sorry to hijack this post for my curiosity
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 08:06 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 4 2022, 12:17 PM)
disable =/= remove
If disabled, then the battery should last longer right?
post May 5 2022, 08:13 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 08:06 AM)
You have to understand the benefits of Start-stop (for the lack of uniformed word) other than the hippie-serving emission reduction. It can save your fuel. Many people do not know that the car system will not turn off your engine if the battery health is weak (depends on how good the sensor is from car to car).

There is no evidence or study that correlate start-stop with engine wear and tear as well, in fact it is quite the opposite.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: May 5 2022, 08:14 AM
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 08:15 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 01:13 AM)
You have to understand the benefits of Start-stop (for the lack of uniformed word) other than the hippie-serving emission reduction. It can save your fuel. Many people do not know that the car system will not turn off your engine if the battery health is weak (depends on how good the sensor is from car to car).

There is no evidence or study that correlate start-stop with engine wear and tear as well, in fact it is quite the opposite.
Is the fuel saving justified by the price of the battery you have to change every so often?
post May 5 2022, 08:28 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 08:15 AM)
Is the fuel saving justified by the price of the battery you have to change every so often?
First, every car varies. Second, the equipment in every car varies, so is the way the driver use them (some people love to blast the speakers really loud, add backseat monitors etc).

For this you have to get to know your requirement yourself, no one can accurately advise you.

And define change battery 'every so often'. I'm still on my factory-fitted AGM battery for years and the voltage is still good. If you change your normal MF battery every two years, then you shouldn't expect anything much more beyond that with your EFB.
SUSandylyc
post May 5 2022, 08:51 AM

27 posts

Under warranty? No choice, let Perodua potong your leher.

Outside shop can get from RM230 to RM250.
lotussgot
post May 5 2022, 08:52 AM

44 posts

disable auto start stop

use a NS60 battery, rm210 only

warranty 12mths

after 18mths just buy another new battery and sold off the used battery for rm30, sure got buyer
ihavenoidea
post May 5 2022, 09:10 AM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 08:06 AM)
I feel like the starter would survive longer if disable it

post May 5 2022, 09:15 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(andylyc @ May 5 2022, 08:51 AM)
Under warranty? No choice, let Perodua potong your leher.

Outside shop can get from RM230 to RM250.
If battery alone, there should be no problem to change outside because it is a consumable item.
StorMx
post May 5 2022, 09:18 AM

143 posts

Whats the model of yoyr battery before we continue
misaka
post May 5 2022, 10:03 AM

452 posts

Waterfish topkek 500 for myvi battery
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 10:39 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 5 2022, 07:56 AM)
Bad cell status is reported by the dashboard? Or your battery tester?
The 2"bar got give any obd code? Any check engine light?

Since u represent battery company, sure u have full range of efb agm right? The myvi case you replace with is efb as well?

Sorry to hijack this post for my curiosity
It was displayed on the tester.
Battery was 4 years old & mileage was 18,000+ only. Owned by a elderly.
If I remember correctly, the voltage was 12.2~12.3V & CCA was less than 210.

Of course bro., an EFB-M42 battery into the Myvi Adv Gen3.
If a NS40ZL was installed, I guarantee you that the client automatically loses the battery's warranty and also Perodua's warranty.

Nothing appeared on the dash etc etc. That is because to me when a Bad Cell was detected, everything else stops, until a new battery is replace, before further testing is done to the car. I remember I had to wait for more than a week for the EFB battery to arrived for this client.

Bro., if you can figure out how the bar came about that would be really great. Until today I still cannot figure out properly what the hell had happened. But I can guarantee you, I don't want to be caught in that situation again.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 5 2022, 10:40 AM
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 03:28 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 01:28 AM)
First, every car varies. Second, the equipment in every car varies, so is the way the driver use them (some people love to blast the speakers really loud, add backseat monitors etc).

For this you have to get to know your requirement yourself, no one can accurately advise you.

And define change battery 'every so often'. I'm still on my factory-fitted AGM battery for years and the voltage is still good. If you change your normal MF battery every two years, then you shouldn't expect anything much more beyond that with your EFB.
I think this tered is discussing myvi 1.5 H
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 03:29 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ May 5 2022, 02:10 AM)
I feel like the starter would survive longer if disable it
You mean the carbon brush?
RiriRuruRara
post May 5 2022, 04:25 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 4 2022, 09:34 PM)
Obviously you are not familiar with SC SOPs.
I already told him year and variant of the car..
post May 5 2022, 04:33 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 03:28 PM)
I think this tered is discussing myvi 1.5 H
It's still valid, about how much fuel you could potentially save, it won't help if you conserve your electrical load but drive 120kmh all the times.

In theory, auto start-stop may ease fuel consumption.
ihavenoidea
post May 5 2022, 05:08 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 03:29 PM)
You mean the carbon brush?
Yep, but people say those start stop car use different type starter thus no issue. So.. xtau la.
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 05:58 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 09:33 AM)
It's still valid, about how much fuel you could potentially save, it won't help if you conserve your electrical load but drive 120kmh all the times.

In theory, auto start-stop may ease fuel consumption.
In theory.

But in smaller cars like myvi, does it actually help fuel consumption. They’re fuel-savvy as it is.
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 06:00 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ May 5 2022, 10:08 AM)
Yep, but people say those start stop car use different type starter thus no issue. So.. xtau la.
I dunno too. I guess we’ll see in 4-5 years’ time when the final report card for this version of myvi is out.
post May 5 2022, 06:09 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 05:58 PM)
In theory.

But in smaller cars like myvi, does it actually help fuel consumption. They’re fuel-savvy as it is.
Yes, theoretically. My point is even if you have two identical Myvi, there are so many factors that will produce different results.

They may be fuel savvy as you said but they may be more fuel savvy. There is no straight answer to your question because no one has conducted proper studies with empirical evidence for either argument, so you do what you believe is best for you.
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 06:15 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 11:09 AM)
Yes, theoretically. My point is even if you have two identical Myvi, there are so many factors that will produce different results.

They may be fuel savvy as you said but they may be more fuel savvy. There is no straight answer to your question because no one has conducted proper studies with empirical evidence for either argument, so you do what you believe is best for you.
I was wondering because if the myvi is fuel-savvy to begin with, any fuel consumption reduction from auto start stop system might be too small to offset the battery life reduction and probably will end up costing more.

Other cars I dunno.
post May 5 2022, 06:27 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 06:15 PM)
I was wondering because if the myvi is fuel-savvy to begin with, any fuel consumption reduction from auto start stop system might be too small to offset the battery life reduction and probably will end up costing more.

Other cars I dunno.
The battery life is about the same if you use the default specifications approved/recommended by the manufacturer. EFB and AGM are designed to be more reliable than normal battery..

If a normal battery can last two years in a car without auto start-stop function, you can expect the factory-fitted EFB or AGM battery to last about the same in a car with auto start-stop function.

Your car system will determine if it is safe to activate auto start-stop, e.g. in overcharged state or insufficient current.

KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 06:31 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 11:27 AM)
The battery life is about the same if you use the default specifications approved/recommended by the manufacturer. EFB and AGM are designed to be more reliable than normal battery..

If a normal battery can last two years in a car without auto start-stop function, you can expect the factory-fitted EFB or AGM battery to last about the same in a car with auto start-stop function.

Your car system will determine if it is safe to activate auto start-stop, e.g. in overcharged state or insufficient current.
Assuming normal battery lasts as long as EFB or AGM battery, will the cost of replacing such battery offset the saving gained from the auto start stop function? Because EFB or AGM battery is more expensive than normal battery.
blek
post May 5 2022, 06:34 PM

720 posts

Kesian drive myvi but pay BMW price value for that battery
post May 5 2022, 06:42 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 06:31 PM)
Assuming normal battery lasts as long as EFB or AGM battery, will the cost of replacing such battery offset the saving gained from the auto start stop function? Because EFB or AGM battery is more expensive than normal battery.
The thing is you cannot, or rather, should not replace EFB/AGM battery with normal battery. Potential saving or loss you may get is the least of your worry when your car electrical system may be at risk and rendering the warranty void.

I just don't understand the idea of buying a car designed as it is but buyer intend to skimp here and there for meager saving. Almost similar to how people would get a different tyre profile without knowing the effect it could incur.
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 06:45 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 11:42 AM)
The thing is you cannot, or rather, should not replace EFB/AGM battery with normal battery. Potential saving or loss you may get is the least of your worry when your car electrical system may be at risk and rendering the warranty void.

I just don't understand the idea of buying a car designed as it is but buyer intend to skimp here and there for meager saving. Almost similar to how people would get a different tyre profile without knowing the effect it could incur.
That’s the point of discussion between me and MR_alien. I was wondering whether it’s worth it to put auto start stop system in myvi when they’re already very good, judging from their track record.

Putting the system in and requiring expensive, specialised battery seems inefficient when the old system is fuel-savvy enough.

This post has been edited by KineticKill: May 5 2022, 06:46 PM
post May 5 2022, 06:49 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 06:45 PM)
That’s the point of discussion between me and MR_alien. I was wondering whether it’s worth it to put auto start stop system in myvi when they’re already very good, judging from their track record.

Putting the system in and requiring expensive, specialised battery seems inefficient.
Your 'very good' is relative, maybe to Perodua it was not good at all.

The original conception of auto start-stop is in relation to reducing carbon emission primarily, hence why in many countries the act is under environment-related legislative. Efficiency potential may be secondary, however the science and the working circumstantial seem solid.
KineticKill
post May 5 2022, 06:51 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2022, 11:49 AM)
Your 'very good' is relative, maybe to Perodua it was not good at all.

The original conception of auto start-stop is in relation to reducing carbon emission primarily, hence why in many countries the act is under environment-related legislative. Efficiency potential may be secondary, however the science and the working circumstantial seem solid.
At the end of the day, it’s customer’s choice to vote with their wallet. It might be a bad move by p2.

I understand the theory behind it, but I suspect it is premature to be incorporated in a myvi.
post May 5 2022, 06:55 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 06:51 PM)
At the end of the day, it’s customer’s choice to vote with their wallet. It might be a bad move by p2.

I understand the theory behind it, but I suspect it is premature to be incorporated in a myvi.
Don't think premature is the right word, it's not like people change battery every year. Mass consumers want all the bells and whistles that conti cars have, they are not possible with conventional power source setup.
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 08:49 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ May 5 2022, 04:25 PM)
I already told him year and variant of the car..
I am sorry, they are trained to follow certain procedures and they have to abide by it. If that means taking down your vehicle registration number entering into their stock system to check for parts availability and listed prices. That is how their computer system is programmed. If I am not mistaken other SC also operate the same way car number first. The worst was at a Honda dealership, I got my client car number and wanted to buy a certain spare part but they said I am not the owner. WTF ??? Maybe my Rm is valueless I think.
Roman Catholic
post May 5 2022, 08:54 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 5 2022, 06:00 PM)
I dunno too. I guess we’ll see in 4-5 years’ time when the final report card for this version of myvi is out.
The 1st release of Myvi G3 ought to have passed 4 years. Starter Motor not yet kong yet like in my client's car.
KineticKill
post May 6 2022, 02:04 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 5 2022, 01:54 PM)
The 1st release of Myvi G3 ought to have passed 4 years. Starter Motor not yet kong yet like in my client's car.
How about fuel saving vs. cost of battery replacement?
skulless
post May 6 2022, 02:21 PM

Over rated general
958 posts

Get Yuasa, the original batt in Myvi G3, 1st batch all made in Japan, now all in Thailand, shopee around 290. Best one to get is Yuasa.
Varta is from Korea but maintenance free.
Amaron is from India.
bigmac999
post May 6 2022, 02:53 PM

685 posts

cheap
Roman Catholic
post May 6 2022, 06:53 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 6 2022, 02:04 PM)
How about fuel saving vs. cost of battery replacement?
I am sorry, I don't own this model. So cannot comment on fuel saving.

I don't focus on the cost of an EFB battery alone but what I would focus on, is how to extend the life of the battery as much as possible, thereby reducing the costs of battery replacement in the long run. That is what I do for my clients.

Anyway fuel and battery costs are generally inversely related. Either you incur fuel and save on battery costs or incur higher battery costs and save on fuel. Take your pick. I am talking about good quality batteries, not some substandard batteries.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 6 2022, 07:02 PM
Roman Catholic
post May 6 2022, 06:58 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ May 3 2022, 09:56 PM)
Perodua once told me my bat dying, i end up using it for another 1y+
I am curious, what is your average battery life span ?
Is the average battery life span getting shorter and shorter over the years with each battery replacement ?
TSPedojacko
post May 8 2022, 09:56 AM

45 posts

Update:

I just found out after they change the battery, my idle/stop is not working, going to call the service centre and ask about it
KineticKill
post May 8 2022, 01:36 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 6 2022, 11:53 AM)
I am sorry, I don't own this model. So cannot comment on fuel saving.

I don't focus on the cost of an EFB battery alone but what I would focus on, is how to extend the life of the battery as much as possible, thereby reducing the costs of battery replacement in the long run. That is what I do for my clients.

Anyway fuel and battery costs are generally inversely related. Either you incur fuel and save on battery costs or incur higher battery costs and save on fuel. Take your pick. I am talking about good quality batteries, not some substandard batteries.
Hence my point:

For a very fuel-savvy car like myvi, does the fuel-saving gained from auto start stop outweigh the cost of EFB/AGM battery replacement?

If not, then p2 should reverse.
Kytz
post May 8 2022, 02:33 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 8 2022, 01:36 PM)
Hence my point:

For a very fuel-savvy car like myvi, does the fuel-saving gained from auto start stop outweigh the cost of EFB/AGM battery replacement?

Car manufacturers are just thinking about marketing numbers when they introduced this auto start stop. Primarily petrol consumption and emission numbers.

But as a whole it's bad for the consumers and the environment. With the extra stress on the batteries, alternator and engines required it's actually a terrible feature to put into the car.
Roman Catholic
post May 8 2022, 04:08 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 8 2022, 01:36 PM)
Hence my point:

I was not referring to your point. What I meant is when one drives, the car will consume fuel but, at the same time that recharges the battery hence extending the battery life span.

However I do understand your point, unfortunately to even come close to such a real life data on fuel-saving gained from Stop-Start function against battery cost is a tough one, as too many variables are involved.

Why not just focus on trying to increase the EFB battery life span instead ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 8 2022, 04:09 PM
KineticKill
post May 8 2022, 08:26 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Kytz @ May 8 2022, 07:33 AM)
Car manufacturers are just thinking about marketing numbers when they introduced this auto start stop. Primarily petrol consumption and emission numbers.

But as a whole it's bad for the consumers and the environment. With the extra stress on the batteries, alternator and engines required it's actually a terrible feature to put into the car.
Yea, that’s what I was thinking as well. Can’t really sell a car that’s just as good as the previous version. Must put something else, even if that something is a step back that is marketed as progress.
KineticKill
post May 8 2022, 08:29 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 8 2022, 09:08 AM)
I was not referring to your point. What I meant is when one drives, the car will consume fuel but, at the same time that recharges the battery hence extending the battery life span.

However I do understand your point, unfortunately to even come close to such a real life data on fuel-saving gained from Stop-Start function against battery cost is a tough one, as too many variables are involved.

Why not just focus on trying to increase the EFB battery life span instead ?
I don’t think recharging the battery extends the lifespan of the battery itself.

Unfortunately that’s a much a larger field outside of the scope of this tered which is myvi.
johnnycp
post May 8 2022, 08:38 PM

600 posts

If it is AGM battery then for me rm500 is reasonable
Roman Catholic
post May 8 2022, 08:50 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 8 2022, 08:29 PM)
I don’t think recharging the battery extends the lifespan of the battery itself.

Unfortunately that’s a much a larger field outside of the scope of this tered which is myvi.
Are you saying that when the alternator recharges the battery, it does not extends the battery life span ? Please explain maybe I did not get you properly.

I think many can vouch that putting the battery on an external charger itself already extends the battery life, though not many owners Myvi Gen3 did that yet, I presume.

No worries I got time for batteries and if you have any information on this larger field do share. I would love to go through them.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 8 2022, 09:04 PM
KineticKill
post May 9 2022, 03:30 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 8 2022, 01:50 PM)
Are you saying that when the alternator recharges the battery, it does not extends the battery life span ? Please explain maybe I did not get you properly.

I think many can vouch that putting the battery on an external charger itself already extends the battery life, though not many owners Myvi Gen3 did that yet, I presume.

No worries I got time for batteries and if you have any information on this larger field do share. I would love to go through them.
Charging and discharging a battery shorten the lifespan and lowering the charge capacity. Same thing with higher ambient temperature. This is true for all batteries including the one in your phone.

I think what you mean here is increasing the charge of a battery, not lifespan.
eclectice
post May 9 2022, 03:57 PM

2,734 posts

To add on:

What battery brand is it? This Myvi 1.5 H model comes with an Eco Idle mode. Your price is less than what I paid in 2021 for a Yuasa start-stop battery.

If I'm not mistaken, Perodua claimed in 2016 that the Bezza Advance variant has regenerative braking. I'm curious why they chose EFB over AGM batteries.

This post has been edited by eclectice: May 9 2022, 04:07 PM
Roman Catholic
post May 9 2022, 05:10 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ May 9 2022, 03:30 PM)
Charging and discharging a battery shorten the lifespan and lowering the charge capacity. Same thing with higher ambient temperature. This is true for all batteries including the one in your phone.

I think what you mean here is increasing the charge of a battery, not lifespan.
Ah yes sorry. I dunno la but I am happy when my clients are happy that their battery lasts longer. Then got repeat order ma. 😁😁😁
TSPedojacko
post May 9 2022, 05:10 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ May 9 2022, 03:57 PM)
What battery brand is it? This Myvi 1.5 H model comes with an Eco Idle mode. Your price is less than what I paid in 2021 for a Yuasa start-stop battery.

If I'm not mistaken, Perodua claimed in 2016 that the Bezza Advance variant has regenerative braking. I'm curious why they chose EFB over AGM batteries.
Errm I had no idea what brand of the battery is.. but I believe before I change the battery, they got show me a list of different battery that fit different model of the perodua car. But I will check again and take a picture of the battery.
Roman Catholic
post May 9 2022, 05:54 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 9 2022, 05:10 PM)
Errm I had no idea what brand of the battery is.. but I believe before I change the battery, they got show me a list of different battery that fit different model of the perodua car. But I will check again and take a picture of the battery.
There is only 2 types of battery that are generally in use by Perodua which are NS40ZL and EFB-M42.

If there is another battery type that is in use in the new facelift Myvi is NS40 or EFB-XXX which the (+)ve terminal is located on the right, if I am not mistaken. I do not know what is the new code that is attached to this new battery yet.

Did you take a picture of this list of different battery that fit into different Perodua models ? Really interested to see what this list is all about.

Yes please take a clear picture of the top of the battery case with any wordings or markings clearly. If can't just type of those wordings. TQVM.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 9 2022, 06:01 PM
Roman Catholic
post May 9 2022, 05:59 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ May 9 2022, 03:57 PM)

EFB is better suited to be in the engine bay area. Not the AGM battery, unless really good proper insulation is done to protect the battery cells.

How much did you pay for EFB-M42 battery in 2021 ?
eclectice
post May 12 2022, 02:43 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 9 2022, 05:59 PM)
EFB is better suited to be in the engine bay area. Not the AGM battery, unless really good proper insulation is done to protect the battery cells.

How much did you pay for EFB-M42 battery in 2021 ?
OK. I double-checked the battery replacement receipts I received from Perodua Service Branch:

Date Part/No Item Amount
27/07/2021 28800-BZ340 Battery (Yuasa) RM493.50
30/04/2019 28800-BZ170 Battery (Yuasa) RM559.20

The 2021 replacement appears to be significantly less expensive than yours.

The interval was 2 years, 2 months, and 27 days excluding the end date.

So, I will expect to have the next battery change somewhere in April 2024.

This post has been edited by eclectice: May 12 2022, 02:48 PM
Roman Catholic
post May 12 2022, 03:12 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ May 12 2022, 02:43 PM)
OK. I double-checked the battery replacement receipts I received from Perodua Service Branch:

Date            Part/No         Item                 Amount
27/07/2021 28800-BZ340 Battery (Yuasa) RM493.50
30/04/2019 28800-BZ170 Battery (Yuasa) RM559.20

The 2021 replacement appears to be significantly less expensive than yours.

The interval was 2 years, 2 months, and 27 days excluding the end date.

So, I will expect to have the next battery change somewhere in April 2024.
Wow you have very good filing system. 👍

I think you have mistaken me for someone else. I do not own this Eco-Idle Myvi model.

Anyway, I am really surprise to see that battery prices has gone down in Perodua, whereas there has been a continous pressure to increase the battery prices in the market due to the weakening currency.

BTW, was the mileage recorded during those battery replacements ? If yes, do let me know. Do you use the Eco-Idle function or do you disengage it, immediately after the car has started ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 12 2022, 03:16 PM
eclectice
post May 12 2022, 03:22 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 12 2022, 03:12 PM)
Wow you have very good filing system. 👍

I think you have mistaken me for someone else. I do not own this Eco-Idle Myvi.

Anyway, I am really surprise to see that battery prices has gone down in Perodua, whereas there has been a continous pressure to increase the battery prices in the market due to the weakening currency.

BTW, was the mileage recorded during those battery replacements ? If yes, do let me know. Do you use the Eco-Idle function or do you disengage it, immediately after the car has started ?
Date Part/No Item Amount Mileage
27/07/2021 28800-BZ340 Battery (Yuasa) RM493.50 111204
30/04/2019 28800-BZ170 Battery (Yuasa) RM559.20 70504

According to the info above, a distance of 40,700 kilometers between battery replacements.

After the most recent replacement in 2021, my Eco-Idle didn't work (to stop the engine) when I braked for a longer period of time. Maybe I need to retune the battery with the ECU to get it to function again, but that's not a big deal right now. Anyway, since I acquired the car, I've never turned off its feature, so I can watch its green Eco-Idle indication light up at a set speed range.

This post has been edited by eclectice: May 12 2022, 03:23 PM
myteam94
post May 12 2022, 03:26 PM

438 posts

luckily ativa use wet battery type...

although my friend just recently change Myvi 1.5H battery and cost RM300 after discount.
Roman Catholic
post May 12 2022, 03:26 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ May 12 2022, 03:22 PM)
Date            Part/No         Item                 Amount    Mileage
27/07/2021 28800-BZ340 Battery (Yuasa) RM493.50  111204
30/04/2019 28800-BZ170 Battery (Yuasa) RM559.20    70504

According to the info above, a distance of 40,700 kilometers between battery replacements.

After the most recent replacement in 2021, my Eco-Idle didn't work (to stop the engine) when I braked for a longer period of time. Maybe I need to retune the battery with the ECU to get it to function again, but that's not a big deal right now. Anyway, since I acquired the car, I've never turned off its feature, so I can watch its green Eco-Idle indication light up at a set speed range.
Whoa ! Are you saying that after the battery replacement at Perodua Service Center, the Eco-Idle system failed to function ? How can that be ? Did you report this to the respective SC immediately ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 12 2022, 03:28 PM
TSPedojacko
post May 12 2022, 03:32 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ May 12 2022, 03:22 PM)
Date            Part/No        Item                Amount    Mileage
27/07/2021 28800-BZ340 Battery (Yuasa) RM493.50  111204
30/04/2019 28800-BZ170 Battery (Yuasa) RM559.20    70504

Yes, after I change the battery, my eco-idle didnt work too.. I am not sure why... I haven't get in contact with the peroduo service centre yet.
TSPedojacko
post May 12 2022, 03:33 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 12 2022, 03:26 PM)
Whoa ! Are you saying that after the battery replacement at Perodua Service Center, the Eco-Idle system failed to function ? How can that be ? Did you report this to the respective SC immediately ?
Yes, I have the same case with this guy.
Roman Catholic
post May 12 2022, 03:35 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Pedojacko @ May 12 2022, 03:33 PM)
Yes, I have the same case with this guy.
Wait a minute, you wrote earlier that you would do your battery replacement outside correct ?

Anyway, if you had done your battery replacement in Perodua SC, this should not have happened. Did you bring this up immediately with the SC to resolve the mistake ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 12 2022, 03:44 PM
eclectice
post May 12 2022, 03:37 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 12 2022, 03:26 PM)
Maybe at the next service, but it's not a big deal compared to the necessity to inspect my car's front suspension system.

0.0533sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:12 AM