KilJim
post Mar 18 2024, 10:05 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Mar 14 2024, 11:53 PM)
If I'm getting offered S$13K to relocate to Singapore for a similar role & responsibilities, which country offers a better life quality in your opinion? I'm married with a young kid, KL Local, pretty comfortable. SG income tax is lower but close to impossible owning a car there with S$13k, even though I know the transport system there is brilliant. Thoughts?
You'll be better off staying in KL with your RM salary and everything already set up.
Only consider the move if you have other less tangible priorities (you think there's more opportunities in future, prefer the lifestyle, value the education system, etc) and are willing to "downgrade" for a few years".

Rental and schooling costs will more than offset any gains from the lower income tax.
KilJim
post Mar 18 2024, 03:09 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Mar 18 2024, 12:21 PM)
Thanks for the valuable input!

I heard from my SG counterpart that non Citizen has to pay like S$500 per month for schooling in government school.

Intangible priorities mentioned are also part of my consideration, eg: political stability and child's education.

However, undeniably housing & car ownership can seem like a major downgrade in SG considering the costs involved.
MOE link
Yeah $500-600 for primary school. But the bigger issue is getting a spot in a convenient school. Each school has limited spots for non-citizens, if you don't get in you'll have to try something further away (or not get in at all). Which is why many "expats" just go for international schools.

If you're still considering, the strategy is usually to sacrifice a bit for a few years, apply to become a PR then things will be much better.
Provided you don't mind your son going to NS biggrin.gif

Lack of car is fine if you stay at a convenient place, which isn't that hard to find in SG. I have 2 very young kids and live fine without a car.

Btw with SGD 13k you'll likely still live a comfortable life, just without the ability to save much.

This post has been edited by KilJim: Mar 18 2024, 03:10 PM
KilJim
post Mar 27 2024, 09:25 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(dunkiedonuts @ Mar 27 2024, 08:05 AM)
I came to SG way before covid, rental was much cheaper and managed to get my PR and bought a flat before prices skyrocketted due to covid. My job doesnt require me to go to office and there are cheap food places near my house. I dont own a car and public transport is very convenient. It's much cheaper to just grab/rent a duration based electric car. Monthly mortage is fully covered by my CPF (EPF equivalent in Malaysia). My income is pretty high (non property agent nor insurance jobs but high base sales job with a good commission payout working in an MNC) and I save 70% of my income (after expenses, insurance and misc stuff). Get to splurge on travel and good stuff occassionally.

The situation is no doubt different post covid- high rental/property prices/much slower PR approval time- I have some Malaysian friends who have opted to rent in JB while waiting for their PR/chance to get a flat/accumulate enough savings. Long term wise IMHO benefits of moving here definitely outweighs working in Malaysia. I agree that you live very comfortably owning a car and a landed big house with an income of 10-15k RM, but that's pretty much it. If your income doesnt grow in tandem with rising inflation and weakening RM, you will feel the pinch sooner or later and travelling overseas is just going to be more expensive over time. While in SG, after living here for a number of years- I have the option to move back to Malaysia or elsewhere without much restrictions.
Agree with you there. I came to SG as a single man too, so I understand what you mean.

But you have to understand that he has a family with kids. Sacrificing current quality of life for the potential (not guarantee) of a better future may or may not be the right move.
A lot more things to consider when you have dependents.
KilJim
post Mar 27 2024, 10:32 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(dunkiedonuts @ Mar 27 2024, 09:47 AM)
Forgot to mention- I have 2 kids as well =).
Ah I see, how did you find schooling for them when you first got here? Before your PR.
That's one of the tough things from what I heard.

0.0307sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:24 AM