Let's Talk Salary v9, Sharing Thread

Bossku_Johor
post Apr 19 2022, 05:31 PM

146 posts

Job Title : Staff Engineer
Job Desciption : Responsible for product transfer from Design to NPI to Mass Pro
Years spent in company : 6
Company : -
Industry : data security products
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 12
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Double Masters UTM
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40 hours on paper....unlimited hours if required.

Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD7650
Contractual Bonus (months): 1.5 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1 mths

Future Prospects (personal outlook) :
Current salary against peers in industry : Underpaid (foreigner rate is lower....but the work is even more...)
Growth prospects : Good room for growth...but.....stress to the max to meet deadline.
Where I will go from here : Go n retire in msia

This post has been edited by Bossku_Johor: Apr 19 2022, 05:42 PM
Bossku_Johor
post Apr 19 2022, 05:37 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Apr 19 2022, 02:10 PM)
Job Title : Software Engineer (Java Backend)
Job Desciption : Java backend
Years spent in company : almost 3 years
Industry : Fintech
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50 hrs
Basic Salary: RM 6000

should I jump for better offer or just stay in comfort zone?
enuff meh RM6000....with the cost of living now...better venture out....try singapore.....fintech good demand here

This post has been edited by Bossku_Johor: Apr 19 2022, 05:38 PM
Bossku_Johor
post Apr 20 2022, 11:14 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(IJustWantToAsk @ Apr 20 2022, 09:18 AM)
hey hey, wanna ask if you can give advice

is getting master a life changing experience? i was at the junction that either take master's program at UTM or not, seeing that you took 2, would like to ask
Life-changing? not exactly. I took it to get better job prospects, but the salary in MYR...cannot la........I decided to move to Spore when SGD converted is better....may look like a lot...
but frankly ....it's just nice...

The double masters program was a credit transfer program from UTM. M,Sc and MBA

It's good to have a masters in the long run when you want to go up the corporate ladder...and move into management...
a masters will be a stepping stone for you.

If you have the time and resources , then go for it....

Bossku_Johor
post May 17 2022, 08:46 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ May 17 2022, 08:21 AM)
Just curious. Double Master with only $7k, is the considered underpaid in Singapore?
Well, in Spore yes, my industry, this is the standard plus-minus... Plus when you are a foreigner here, you cannot expect to be paid at the same level as locals.
But since after conversion to MYR it looks good so I dont mind.

0.0229sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:56 PM