Scam advertisement

TSKMV Tech
post Apr 11 2022, 11:17 PM, updated 2y ago

56 posts

-- Please keep your post concise to ensure a speedy review from us. We suggest 250 words or less. --

I was on a thread scrolling through the responses and I was suddenly redirected to this advert. This is the first time I see such ads on here.

eidrag
post May 27 2022, 12:06 AM

190 posts

sorry hijack, but similar? Today suddenly got multiple time redirect popup
ks1230
post May 27 2022, 12:12 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ May 27 2022, 12:06 AM)
i got the similar pop up as well on mobile and i though it was other website that caused it but no..it was from lowyat.. hmm.gif
TSKMV Tech
post May 27 2022, 08:24 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ May 27 2022, 12:06 AM)
QUOTE(ks1230 @ May 27 2022, 12:12 AM)
i got the similar pop up as well on mobile and i though it was other website that caused it but no..it was from lowyat..  hmm.gif
Were you both redirected automatically?
Helpdesk
post May 27 2022, 08:37 AM

Ready to Help
Forum Admin

which thread was this? this usually happens when a forum user's signature contains some links (images or scripts) - which expire and are taken over by malicious scripts that push out ads.
munak991
post May 27 2022, 09:33 AM

ZONIC!
2,732 posts

I got it too
Edit even this help desk thread I got it too
From this thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5275651

This post has been edited by munak991: May 27 2022, 09:38 AM

lawrencehl
post May 27 2022, 09:54 AM

341 posts

I got it as well from here

Today suddenly found out my lowyat acc is sign out from browser, normally will stay login.

This post has been edited by lawrencehl: May 27 2022, 09:55 AM
TSKMV Tech
post May 27 2022, 10:39 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Helpdesk @ May 27 2022, 08:37 AM)
which thread was this? this usually happens when a forum user's signature contains some links (images or scripts) - which expire and are taken over by malicious scripts that push out ads.
QUOTE(munak991 @ May 27 2022, 09:33 AM)
I got it too
Edit even this help desk thread I got it too
From this thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5275651
Tried the link shared by munak, no issue with this pop up redir. But I haven't had this problem ever since I reported it in April.

But from my original post and screenshot, you'll see it's that Bukit aman thread before I was redirected to the scammy site.

This post has been edited by KMV Tech: May 27 2022, 10:40 AM
munak991
post May 27 2022, 10:47 AM

ZONIC!
2,732 posts

QUOTE(KMV Tech @ May 27 2022, 10:39 AM)
Tried the link shared by munak, no issue with this pop up redir. But I haven't had this problem ever since I reported it in April.

But from my original post and screenshot, you'll see it's that Bukit aman thread before I was redirected to the scammy site.
The pop up redirect will happen about 3-4 mins idling in the thread
ks1230
post May 27 2022, 11:32 AM

91 posts

it even happens on the kopitiam main page though hmm.gif

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 27 2022, 10:47 AM)
mine happens after idling as well, it happen when i reopen my chrome app on my phone with the forum still open hmm.gif
WyjSwmW
post Jun 10 2022, 12:57 AM

861 posts

I got this scam ad too. Please do something.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 10 2022, 08:00 AM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

Looks like munak991 is correct. The popup happen after idle awhile at all thread anywhere everywhere, including this pagr im writting the reply now (which has no signature linking to external site) so its not like what u mentioned.

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 27 2022, 10:47 AM)
TSKMV Tech
post Jun 10 2022, 08:31 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jun 10 2022, 12:57 AM)
I got this scam ad too. Please do something.
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 10 2022, 08:00 AM)
Looks like munak991 is correct. The popup happen after idle awhile at all thread anywhere everywhere, including this pagr im writting the reply now (which has no signature linking to external site) so its not like what u mentioned.
It's not idling I think. I was just scrolling this thread particular thread just now and it popped up.

Like the other guy I quoted also, happened today.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5279906

poks
post Jun 10 2022, 08:35 AM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,556 posts

I thought my phone infected. Guess everyone having same issue...
munak991
post Jun 10 2022, 10:35 AM

ZONIC!
2,732 posts

QUOTE(KMV Tech @ Jun 10 2022, 08:31 AM)
It's not idling I think. I was just scrolling this thread particular thread just now and it popped up.

Like the other guy I quoted also, happened today.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5279906

It's not just thread even the main page of /k/ or help desk will have the redirect ads after u idle for some time
WyjSwmW
post Jun 10 2022, 11:06 AM

861 posts

The issue is how da fuck they even know which telco I am using and pop-up the correct telco ad?
TSKMV Tech
post Jun 10 2022, 11:14 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jun 10 2022, 11:06 AM)
The issue is how da fuck they even know which telco I am using and pop-up the correct telco ad?
IP.
jimharvey P
post Jun 11 2022, 12:34 AM

Probation

Occur when i am using chrome on android only. Iphone no issue
RViN
post Jun 11 2022, 12:42 AM

There Is Only One United
5,779 posts

Don't have this issue on Firefox on Android.

Edit - but then again I have a Diversion installed on my router that could be blocking it.

This post has been edited by RViN: Jun 11 2022, 12:43 AM
Rusty Nail
post Jul 2 2022, 09:01 AM

Why am I still here?
4,782 posts

I guess it's my turn too

Happened in kopitiam and while replying to this thread.

I suspect it's the add below the thread. It auto forward

0.0180sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:54 PM