Honda Accord SDA 2005 mods

TSiash4ever
post Apr 10 2022, 04:15 AM, updated 4y ago

13 posts

Hi sifu/masters, I'm still a newbie towards moding cars. I'm here to seek advise/opinions regarding my car.

I currently own a Honda Accord SDA 2005 2.4l. Everything is stock except for rim & tyres. Just upsized my rim and tyre from 16" to 18"

Rim - BBS 18"
Tyre - Front 225/45/R18 (Goodyear Eagle F1)
Back 225/45/R18 (Lancaster LR-66)

Currently I noticed that FC took a slight hit & the car seems heavier (normal due to upsize). Power wise also took a slight hit (not as much torque output as 16"). All these were expected when upsizing.

Just wondering if there's any other mods that can compensate for the lost of power & heaviness.

And also are adjustables suspension worth it to prevent slight scrapping of the tyre hitting the fender? If so, any recommendations?

All your opitions/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

TL:DR looking for mods to compensate for lost of power due to rim upsize
ktek
post Apr 10 2022, 04:34 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

rim offset correct or not
ktek
post Apr 10 2022, 04:45 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

u dont need adjustable. very complex
find out ur spring rate & length
then replace a longer type from honda or other make.
else u research jp website how they mod
TSiash4ever
post Apr 10 2022, 04:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 10 2022, 04:34 AM)
rim offset correct or not
Rim offset was done by the shop as I have no idea on it. The rim & tires are now flush with the fender's body compared to being inwards.
ktek
post Apr 10 2022, 04:53 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

less powerful. did u compare gps speed or base on speedo only. now you need less rpm to achieve same speed so fc meter wont be accurate
becos u driven more km than computer calculation. use manual way to kira
ktek
post Apr 10 2022, 04:55 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 10 2022, 04:47 AM)
Rim offset was done by the shop as I have no idea on it. The rim & tires are now flush with the fender's body compared to being inwards.
flush is cool. just higher chance to scrap ur tyre.
look at both side scrap mark. fender edge & tyre edge
kherel77
post Apr 10 2022, 05:47 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Low cost to start for your requirement:
1. Change crankshaft pulley to lightweight type
2. Use aftermarket performance air filter
3. Use spring buffer to reduce excess rebound movement
Mavik
post Apr 10 2022, 08:36 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 10 2022, 04:47 AM)
Most of the time, these shops just want to sell you the rims hence you are facing this issue.

Either you roll your fenders to reduce the amount of scraping or changing to a different set of rims with a less aggressive offset.

Also, as the car has aged, do check the suspension as well whether if you notice any sagging (stock ones tend to slowly sag over the many many years).
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 12:40 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 10 2022, 04:53 AM)
less powerful. did u compare gps speed or base on speedo only. now you need less rpm to achieve same speed so fc meter wont be accurate
becos u driven more km than computer calculation. use manual way to kira
I did based on speedo & GPS, they're about the same. Probably 1 - 2 km/h diff (On speedo is higher by 1 - 2 km/h)
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 12:54 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Apr 10 2022, 05:47 AM)
Low cost to start for your requirement:
1. Change crankshaft pulley to lightweight type
2. Use aftermarket performance air filter
3. Use spring buffer to reduce excess rebound movement
Huh.. interesting.. Any recommendation on the brand & how much damage does it inflict?
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 12:57 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 10 2022, 08:36 AM)
Most of the time, these shops just want to sell you the rims hence you are facing this issue.

Either you roll your fenders to reduce the amount of scraping or changing to a different set of rims with a less aggressive offset.

Also, as the car has aged, do check the suspension as well whether if you notice any sagging (stock ones tend to slowly sag over the many many years).
The specs for my rim is 18x8jj et38. Probably need to check my stock suspension to see if I can stiffen it up just a little. Don't wanna throw comfort out the window..
netmatrix
post Apr 11 2022, 01:24 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

This car stock wheels is 15" right?
Chrix
post Apr 11 2022, 09:04 AM

1,187 posts

You are either the person advertising that set for sale, or the person who bought it from fbmarketplace laugh.gif laugh.gif I saw the ad

Anyway, to increase power, first you have to determine how much are you willing to spend. Just accept the fact that you increase unspring weight & rolling resistance. Any attempt to increase power output would result in increased fuel & the possible need to upgrade other parts of the drivetrain & also put more stress on other stock components (eg; gearbox, etc). I am not talking about "K&N air filter" or the like.

Adjustable will generally be stiffer than your stock suspension, hence less chances for the wheels to contact the body during compression however it all depends on how you approach the bump/method of driving. If you introduce adjustable, get ready for stiff ride on your comfort Dsegment seats aka slipNslide laugh.gif
acbc
post Apr 11 2022, 09:10 AM

9,048 posts

Weight the stock 16 inch rims plus tyres first.

U should opt for 17 inch instead of 18 inch rims. Too heavy for a 2.4L engine.

Alternatively, u can bolt on a turbo but it won't be cheap. Or if you're adventurous, a supercharger.
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 06:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 11 2022, 01:24 AM)
This car stock wheels is 15" right?
Stock wheels are 16"
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 06:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Apr 11 2022, 09:04 AM)

You are either the person advertising that set for sale, or the person who bought it from fbmarketplace  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  I saw the ad

Anyway, to increase power, first you have to determine how much are you willing to spend. Just accept the fact that you increase unspring weight & rolling resistance. Any attempt to increase power output would result in increased fuel & the possible need to upgrade other parts of the drivetrain & also put more stress on other stock components (eg; gearbox, etc). I am not talking about "K&N air filter" or the like.

Adjustable will generally be stiffer than your stock suspension, hence less chances for the wheels to contact the body during compression however it all depends on how you approach the bump/method of driving. If you introduce adjustable, get ready for stiff ride on your comfort Dsegment seats aka slipNslide  laugh.gif
Hahaha.. I'm not sure about the budget.. depending on the effects. Generally i don't really bother achieving top speed. Mostly pick up from torque.

Still researching on adjustable
TSiash4ever
post Apr 11 2022, 06:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 11 2022, 09:10 AM)
Weight the stock 16 inch rims plus tyres first.

U should opt for 17 inch instead of 18 inch rims. Too heavy for a 2.4L engine.

Alternatively, u can bolt on a turbo but it won't be cheap. Or if you're adventurous, a supercharger.
17" I saw not that many choices.

Personally, I like the looks of 18" hehe.

BoT is around 13 - 15k, boost about 0.3 - 0.5..
Supercharger not sure about the price. But I am interested smile.gif
kherel77
post Apr 11 2022, 07:57 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 11 2022, 12:54 AM)
Huh.. interesting.. Any recommendation on the brand & how much damage does it inflict?
As for my car:
1. Arospeed, but Honda got lot good aftermarket brand (Spoon, Works Engineering, etc,...)
2. Simota / HKS / K&N
3. AMT is cheaper, but if can afford Orsen is good. Little bit expensive..

Total all less than RM1k.
acbc
post Apr 11 2022, 10:07 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 11 2022, 06:51 PM)
17" I saw not that many choices.

Personally, I like the looks of 18" hehe.

BoT is around 13 - 15k, boost about 0.3 - 0.5..
Supercharger not sure about the price. But I am interested smile.gif
Supercharger also syiok because of the whining sound. Also, perfect for NA engines.
TSiash4ever
post Apr 12 2022, 12:35 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Apr 11 2022, 07:57 PM)
As for my car:
1. Arospeed, but Honda got lot good aftermarket brand (Spoon, Works Engineering, etc,...)
2. Simota / HKS / K&N
3. AMT is cheaper, but if can afford Orsen is good. Little bit expensive..

Total all less than RM1k.
Okay cool cool, I'll check it out. Which workshop did you send your car to?

People recommend me to change intake manifold & exhaust as well.. what do you suggest?
TSiash4ever
post Apr 12 2022, 12:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 11 2022, 10:07 PM)
Supercharger also syiok because of the whining sound. Also, perfect for NA engines.
Well, I don't really know where to start looking for superchargers mod.

And I also know that supercharger doesn't have that "lag" because it's driven from the engine's crankshaft.
Turbos are fun because of that "lag" which makes you kinda stick to the chair hehe
6UE5T
post Apr 12 2022, 01:15 PM

1,704 posts

This accord engine is K24 right? Maybe you can read this link:

https://www.torquecars.com/honda/k24-tuning.php
pillage2001
post Apr 12 2022, 02:40 PM

1,991 posts

Just plonk in a K24A3......
kherel77
post Apr 12 2022, 07:56 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 12 2022, 12:35 PM)
Okay cool cool, I'll check it out. Which workshop did you send your car to?

People recommend me to change intake manifold & exhaust as well.. what do you suggest?
I bought online & installed by myself.

For now I'd prefer upgrade intake side first (air / spark plug / fuel). Then exhaust side (manifold / piping / muffler). But also up to your personal preferences.
TSiash4ever
post Apr 13 2022, 11:01 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 12 2022, 01:15 PM)
This accord engine is K24 right? Maybe you can read this link:

https://www.torquecars.com/honda/k24-tuning.php
Yeah, IIRC - it's a K24A4..

I came across the same link too. But I'm not sure where to get it done haha. Still a newbie in modding cars, don't wanna kena potong, ya know..
TSiash4ever
post Apr 13 2022, 11:02 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Apr 12 2022, 02:40 PM)
Just plonk in a K24A3......
What's the difference between K24A4 & K24A3? Isn't it all the same generally? confused.gif
TSiash4ever
post Apr 13 2022, 11:07 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Apr 12 2022, 07:56 PM)
I bought online & installed by myself.

For now I'd prefer upgrade intake side first (air / spark plug / fuel). Then exhaust side (manifold / piping / muffler).  But also up to your personal preferences.
Must be skilled to install it yourself.. Envious of you. If it's possible, I would like to install it myself too, so don't have additional cost for workmanship hehe..

Air - You mean air intake? Open pod?
Spark Plug - I just changed mine
Fuel - What is this? Fuel Injector?

Exhaust side, I'll probably get it done once I rectify other issue.

Now for whatever reason, when I engage to D after letting the car sit for more than 8 hours, it will have some delay before engaging to D and the car will jerk. Not sure why is that. rclxub.gif
pillage2001
post Apr 13 2022, 01:42 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 13 2022, 11:02 AM)
What's the difference between K24A4 & K24A3? Isn't it all the same generally?  confused.gif
Very Different. Go to the link a few posts up and you'll see. smile.gif
kherel77
post Apr 13 2022, 08:27 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 13 2022, 11:07 AM)
Must be skilled to install it yourself.. Envious of you. If it's possible, I would like to install it myself too, so don't have additional cost for workmanship hehe..

Air - You mean air intake? Open pod?
Spark Plug - I just changed mine
Fuel - What is this? Fuel Injector?

Exhaust side, I'll probably get it done once I rectify other issue.
Intake side upgrade that I mean is from performance air filter (OEM shape or change to open pod type) to throttle body (add-on any device or use widen size) to performance spark plug. But remind you that all upgrade will cost you bit higher FC than original standard config.

Just talk to my mechanic, his first basic recommended method is to add throttle controller like Works Engineering e-Drive 3.

QUOTE(iash4ever @ Apr 13 2022, 11:07 AM)
Now for whatever reason, when I engage to D after letting the car sit for more than 8 hours, it will have some delay before engaging to D and the car will jerk. Not sure why is that.  rclxub.gif
Your gearbox already show failing symptom. Try to add ATF enhancement like JV Lube or Nano Estremo first & see if can recover.

0.0216sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:00 AM