New CRV or New Harrier
TSbcy750 P
Apr 5 2022, 09:59 AM, updated 4y ago
If the price and maintenance cost not a major concerns, would you rather to save the RM100k and to spend it on other purposes (e.g. bring whole family for overseas vacation) and just buy the CRV.
Or you would prefer putting the additional RM100k and get the Harrier?
For me, CRV is definitely more value for money, however, Harrier looks so elegant. Hard to decide.
By the way, I am now driving a 9 years old Altis.
jibpek
Apr 5 2022, 10:03 AM
CRV 100K cheaper than harrier meh?
nebula87
Apr 5 2022, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(jibpek @ Apr 5 2022, 10:03 AM) CRV 100K cheaper than harrier meh? Yes. Harrier from 249k CRV from 139k This post has been edited by nebula87: Apr 5 2022, 10:08 AM
ahchun
Apr 5 2022, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(bcy750 @ Apr 5 2022, 09:59 AM) If the price and maintenance cost not a major concerns, would you rather to save the RM100k and to spend it on other purposes (e.g. bring whole family for overseas vacation) and just buy the CRV. Or you would prefer putting the additional RM100k and get the Harrier? For me, CRV is definitely more value for money, however, Harrier looks so elegant. Hard to decide. By the way, I am now driving a 9 years old Altis. CRV to pay 100K for elegant is for rich ppl. if u are. then pay for it
nebula87
Apr 5 2022, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(ahchun @ Apr 5 2022, 10:08 AM) CRV to pay 100K for elegant is for rich ppl. if u are. then pay for it 100k is elegance for the price tag only...that interior really... TS, better save the 100K and top up abit get 1.5TC CRV is good to go. This post has been edited by nebula87: Apr 5 2022, 10:14 AM
hungrygodzilla
Apr 5 2022, 10:25 AM
If that 100k is nth much to you, of cause Harrier. Have you test driven both car? how do you feel? The ride and handling? The body roll? The NVH? The seat comfort? The passenger seat comfort? The boot space? the safety features? the look? the feel and touch? The powertrain? Is Harrier worth the extra 80k?
This post has been edited by hungrygodzilla: Apr 5 2022, 10:26 AM
asusman
Apr 5 2022, 10:40 AM

why not you try online review both Harrier and CRV and see how the auto journalists' comments. This should be able to help you decide which to go, best of all, go test drive and see for yourself
littlefire
Apr 5 2022, 10:53 AM
If want to buy Toyota Harrier and can afford over 200k++.. Dude.. Upgrade to Lexus bro.. Recon market can get better model... Once go up to Lexus, Honda/Toyota is nothing..
cawan
Apr 5 2022, 12:26 PM
could wait for new CRV. current gen are old tech, old chasis..
see that new civic, and new HRV.. very gooding. all new design, tech, and overall laaa..
if only u can wait coming 2-3 years laaa..
TSbcy750 P
Apr 5 2022, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Apr 5 2022, 10:53 AM) If want to buy Toyota Harrier and can afford over 200k++.. Dude.. Upgrade to Lexus bro.. Recon market can get better model... Once go up to Lexus, Honda/Toyota is nothing.. Indeed, I considered Lexus also, but the entry level SUV (UX model) looks small compared to CRV/Harrier. Unless go higher range (NX model), but the price start from RM300k and above. Hence, I dropped Lexus in my comparison list. I did survey BMW X1 and Mercedes GLA too, but both models also looks small for me, width/length/height all smaller compared CRV/Harrier.
gunsnroses
Apr 5 2022, 01:01 PM

Have you checked Harrier boot space? You will be surprised how small it is.
billy08
Apr 5 2022, 01:07 PM

QUOTE(littlefire @ Apr 5 2022, 10:53 AM) If want to buy Toyota Harrier and can afford over 200k++.. Dude.. Upgrade to Lexus bro.. Recon market can get better model... Once go up to Lexus, Honda/Toyota is nothing.. Recon market ok ke? You wouldnt know the condition of cars until you have driven it for a year. Bad experience is warranty 6 months and problem started to appear on 1st year.
billy08
Apr 5 2022, 01:11 PM

New harrier only comes in one model and the model is without Turbo. The new CRV has Turbo and it is 1.5T. So you can save on RoadTax annually.
TSbcy750 P
Apr 5 2022, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(billy08 @ Apr 5 2022, 01:07 PM) Recon market ok ke? You wouldnt know the condition of cars until you have driven it for a year. Bad experience is warranty 6 months and problem started to appear on 1st year. Agree with you. That's why I also never consider used or recon car. At least worry-free for 5 years with guarantee if buying new car.
billy08
Apr 5 2022, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(bcy750 @ Apr 5 2022, 01:33 PM) Agree with you. That's why I also never consider used or recon car. At least worry-free for 5 years with guarantee if buying new car. Thought I got a good deal and can drive Merc GLA250 but after 5-years spent close to 5K on repairs, not counting the yearly maintenance required. Finally gave up and now bot CX-5, with 5 years warranty and 5 years Free service.
constant_weight
Apr 5 2022, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(nebula87 @ Apr 5 2022, 10:13 AM) 100k is elegance for the price tag only...that interior really... TS, better save the 100K and top up abit get 1.5TC CRV is good to go. Sound system and infotainment are downright awful. Totally unacceptable sound quality, mushy, all instruments/vocals squeezed together like mashed potato. Totally no instrument separation. The plus side, build quality is decent no rattle noise. Ride is way too soft for my liking.
nebula87
Apr 5 2022, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Apr 5 2022, 02:32 PM) Sound system and infotainment are downright awful. Totally unacceptable sound quality, mushy, all instruments/vocals squeezed together like mashed potato. Totally no instrument separation. The plus side, build quality is decent no rattle noise. Ride is way too soft for my liking. Wait bro, do you mean sound quality is mushy for CRV or Harrier?
constant_weight
Apr 5 2022, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(nebula87 @ Apr 5 2022, 02:33 PM) Wait bro, do you mean sound quality is mushy for CRV or Harrier?  Harrier. Sorry should had specified.
sunami
Apr 5 2022, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(billy08 @ Apr 5 2022, 03:14 PM) Thought I got a good deal and can drive Merc GLA250 but after 5-years spent close to 5K on repairs, not counting the yearly maintenance required. Finally gave up and now bot CX-5, with 5 years warranty and 5 years Free service.  repair on wear and tear? or?
littlefire
Apr 5 2022, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(billy08 @ Apr 5 2022, 02:11 PM) New harrier only comes in one model and the model is without Turbo. The new CRV has Turbo and it is 1.5T. So you can save on RoadTax annually. Save on roadtax but contra back with more services. Average 7k range need service, for average 1 year 20k range need 3 times to service compare to N/A engine which only do every 6 months or 10k or 2 times per year. Every technology also got it's pro & con. Just sales person will only spoke on the good but never the disadvantage. This post has been edited by littlefire: Apr 5 2022, 03:11 PM