Buy Second House or Buy Car, Which one would you go for?

Buy Second House or Buy Car

Buy Second House [ 74 ] ** [44.05%]
Buy New Car [ 94 ] ** [55.95%]
Total Votes: 168
Guests cannot vote 

TSPanda12
post Apr 4 2022, 12:18 PM, updated 4y ago

1,107 posts

Hey guys, I'm in my 30's now and I'm still single. I own a condo but still drives my dad's old Proton Waja to this day.

I'm wondering, at this point, do I purchase another house/condo (for investment purposes) or do I get myself a brand new car?

My heart tells me that I should get myself a new car (Mazda or Camry) but my gut is telling me to get a second property for investment.

So, I've listed down the pros and cons of each choices:

Buy new car
Pros:
1. It's probably time to replace my old waja. It's 20 years old.
2. Better chance to get girlfriend
Cons:
1. It's a liability. It's just a car at the end of the day.
2. Potential opportunity cost (e.g cannot invest in other things for a while)

Buy second property
Pros:
1. Potential long-term investment (not guaranteed and have to wait 10-30 years)
2. You have two houses
Cons:
1. Life is not all about buying houses like collecting pokemon cards. You need to enjoy life when young too.

What would you guys do?
Tacotaco
post Apr 4 2022, 12:28 PM

24 posts

New car. Go get a lift
sordidi
post Apr 4 2022, 12:31 PM

155 posts

Get a new car, dont risk your life on the vehicle u use daily.

This post has been edited by sordidi: Apr 4 2022, 12:32 PM
pokchik
post Apr 4 2022, 12:32 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

1st time you purchased your house already using your gut.

This time it’s time to follow your heart.

Buy new car.

Balance heartband gut mah.
LamboSama
post Apr 4 2022, 12:34 PM

769 posts

Can always sell house to buy car.
Boy96
post Apr 4 2022, 12:37 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

New car, the waja is not a safe car
yeeck

3,578 posts

If your old Waja need to frequently replace old parts, I guess the amount and time spent to replace those old parts can be better spent on a new car. If your cashflow is comfortable for a new car, go for it. Better still if you can afford both smile.gif
c64

711 posts

Both not good options.

Now is not good time to buy property for investment anymore.

Better invest in US Stocks and REITS(as opposed to buying properties). Use your money to invest directly in US Stock market.

But 20 years old Waja justify to replace also lah. Get a new Maibi, gooding and cheap with D-CVT and ASA 3.0.

This post has been edited by c64: Apr 4 2022, 12:39 PM
sadukarzz
post Apr 4 2022, 12:39 PM

782 posts

Buy second home.

Then you may follow the steps below for your car should you still wish to get a car.

1. Go inquire about the car you wish to purchase (be sure to make sure your car loan financing can sustain with the second home).
2. Ask the dealer (new car I presume) whether they accept credit card for one shot clear all.
3. If yes, refinance your first home, take out the cash, buy the car with upright funded CC (cash into CC for increase limit, then one shot purchase).

- Housing loan is more secure (Got coverage if u unfortunately die).
- If they accept CC (Then you might be able to get enough point to get yourself sufficient airmiles / points to use).
c64
post Apr 4 2022, 12:41 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Apr 4 2022, 12:39 PM)
Buy second home.

Then you may follow the steps below for your car should you still wish to get a car.

1. Go inquire about the car you wish to purchase (be sure to make sure your car loan financing can sustain with the second home).
2. Ask the dealer (new car I presume) whether they accept credit card for one shot clear all.
3. If yes, refinance your first home, take out the cash, buy the car with upright funded CC (cash into CC for increase limit, then one shot purchase).

- Housing loan is more secure (Got coverage if u unfortunately die).
- If they accept CC (Then you might be able to get enough point to get yourself sufficient airmiles / points to use).
Can buy car with CC? Sure boh? Can get cashback? Maybe will buy a car later this year or next year.
Kakistok
post Apr 4 2022, 12:41 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Apr 4 2022, 12:18 PM)
Hey guys, I'm in my 30's now and I'm still single. I own a condo but still drives my dad's old Proton Waja to this day.

I'm wondering, at this point, do I purchase another house/condo (for investment purposes) or do I get myself a brand new car?

My heart tells me that I should get myself a new car (Mazda or Camry) but my gut is telling me to get a second property for investment.

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:
1. Life is not all about buying houses like collecting pokemon cards. You need to enjoy life when young too.

What would you guys do?
You need a new car to get a girlfriend? I guess you need to open a new topic for this biggrin.gif
30s, still single, financially stable - getting a GF should be walk in the park, especially how expressive and open girls are these days

anyway, I'm in a similar dilemma - 30s too, house and car fully paid - so thinking should I get a car or house
some of the income Ive been setting aside monthly to invest in US stocks (this last 2 years has been dreadful)

I saw an investment project in Langkawi, Tropicana Chenang - beachfront studio like units from 400k - hand very itchy leh

ericangtzeann
post Apr 4 2022, 12:44 PM

123 posts

New car, not for showing but something safe is a must. No point having shitload of money and died from car accidents 🤭
LamboSama
post Apr 4 2022, 12:53 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 4 2022, 12:41 PM)
Can buy car with CC? Sure boh? Can get cashback? Maybe will buy a car later this year or next year.
Can. Can even ask for temporary limit increase.
Takudan
post Apr 4 2022, 01:14 PM

1,058 posts

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:

What would you guys do?
Strongly recommend you to get a car below 100k budget.
Why car?
You sound like a financially responsible person. I'm sure you've been itching to enjoy a nice new ride and have held on for a long time. Reward yourself sikit lah haha.

Why not house?
Because your reason is for investment. I'm personally a strong advocate for "property to stay" only. There are so many risks with owning a house for investment - your house value might drop, developer issue, workmanship, renovation cost, rental woes, increased commitment... So many extra problems to worry about, I would even argue having 2nd house belongs to Cons section laugh.gif

Why under 100k?
This is my guesstimate based on your comparison - being able to afford a 2nd house, I believe such a budget for car will be easily affordable. With more information, you might be able to convince me you'll be fine with Mazda or Camry haha.

You will be a first time new car owner, so start slow is ok, it's already a big upgrade from your 20yo Waja. This budget also can get you a car full of modern features that improves safety. If you wanna survey for cars, head to Fast and Furious for advice.

Plus, got new car also good la for family, if you guys wanna go anywhere for long trip, I think a B segment sedan does the job.

Long term wise, it'll be a car you can use at a minimum of 5 years, can also support family if you settle down within these few years. You can save the rest of your money for investments - head to financial subforum, many sifus there wink.gif

Lastly, you're not wrong when you say having a car improves your chances of getting a girlfriend, but make no mistake: there is a difference between a lady looking for a man with car vs. a man with BMW. Having a car equipped with basic safety is good enough. If it's me, I just want to be able to meet my partner easily instead of having my choices cut down to places that have public transport. A new car is a lot safer and comfortable also, enough for passenger to be able to take short naps good enough la.

This post has been edited by Takudan: Apr 4 2022, 01:16 PM
mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 01:20 PM

4,954 posts

That Waja doesn't have many safety features so it has to go.

But why must choose Mazda or Camry? A Persona would have sufficed if saving money is your concern?
pretty23
post Apr 4 2022, 01:25 PM

1,791 posts

30 y.o still thinking this way then 40 y.o you will full regret.
Kakistok
post Apr 4 2022, 01:51 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Apr 4 2022, 01:14 PM)
Strongly recommend you to get a car below 100k budget.
Why car?
You sound like a financially responsible person. I'm sure you've been itching to enjoy a nice new ride and have held on for a long time. Reward yourself sikit lah haha.

Why not house?
Because your reason is for investment. I'm personally a strong advocate for "property to stay" only. There are so many risks with owning a house for investment - your house value might drop, developer issue, workmanship, renovation cost, rental woes, increased commitment... So many extra problems to worry about, I would even argue having 2nd house belongs to Cons section laugh.gif

Why under 100k?
This is my guesstimate based on your comparison - being able to afford a 2nd house, I believe such a budget for car will be easily affordable. With more information, you might be able to convince me you'll be fine with Mazda or Camry haha.

You will be a first time new car owner, so start slow is ok, it's already a big upgrade from your 20yo Waja. This budget also can get you a car full of modern features that improves safety. If you wanna survey for cars, head to Fast and Furious for advice.

Plus, got new car also good la for family, if you guys wanna go anywhere for long trip, I think a B segment sedan does the job.

Long term wise, it'll be a car you can use at a minimum of 5 years, can also support family if you settle down within these few years. You can save the rest of your money for investments - head to financial subforum, many sifus there wink.gif

Lastly, you're not wrong when you say having a car improves your chances of getting a girlfriend, but make no mistake: there is a difference between a lady looking for a man with car vs. a man with BMW. Having a car equipped with basic safety is good enough. If it's me, I just want to be able to meet my partner easily instead of having my choices cut down to places that have public transport. A new car is a lot safer and comfortable also, enough for passenger to be able to take short naps good enough la.
hey, good advice man - I'm in similar situation as TS. In my mid30s have fully paid my house and car. Thinking of another car or house. And I have to agree with house for stay only, house for investment seems like too much hassle
I was looking for like a vacation home (cum retirement home when I retire) maybe in PD/Langkawi - something close to beach - accommodation is always the most expensive part of a vacation if you're travelling locally, so having a vacation home seems like a good idea

When I used to work in the US (north side where its super cold during winter) - my coworkers would invest in house in the south, like in Florida - as vacation homes and also for retirement when they old so they can escape the harsh winter
rummage
post Apr 4 2022, 01:51 PM

83 posts

forget second house as investment. theres already an oversupply. unless you get shoplot in upcoming area la
silverhawk
post Apr 4 2022, 02:04 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

You change car and get GF, you're going to need to upgrade otherwise its perceived you are not progressing. So get gf dulu, then upgrade your car.
iGamer
post Apr 4 2022, 02:15 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Personally I got 2 props 1 very old car.
katijar
post Apr 4 2022, 02:20 PM

2,294 posts

Flip a coin
heavensea
post Apr 4 2022, 02:24 PM

9,616 posts

House.
SUSseraph00
post Apr 4 2022, 02:36 PM

3,322 posts

definitely house.
amirulhakimiazman
post Apr 4 2022, 02:39 PM

147 posts

buy 2nd house, buy new axia. axia below 300 monthly meh.
whitegoh
post Apr 4 2022, 02:41 PM

1,207 posts

I bought the house first, then the car later. But the monthly installment for the car must be not financially burdened la. The monthly installment (7 years) from the car I bought was 11% of my monthly net income. Still regretted not taking 5 years loan instead.
xtreme_paranoid
post Apr 4 2022, 02:42 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

If Waja no problem, u can try get a new Myvi. More safety/less problem coz new car
0x1773
post Apr 4 2022, 03:12 PM

19 posts

Buy car. You have a 20 yo car, time to reward youself and also better safety.
Blofeld
post Apr 4 2022, 03:27 PM

4,703 posts

get gf first

serious
MicroInvest
post Apr 4 2022, 03:30 PM

39 posts

Car
Icehart
post Apr 4 2022, 04:03 PM

14,899 posts

Not all property investments make money. Rather, live in present, get a safe car, and settle down. Then look for investment opportunities with your significant other.
Takudan
post Apr 4 2022, 04:13 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ Apr 4 2022, 01:51 PM)
hey, good advice man - I'm in similar situation as TS. In my mid30s have fully paid my house and car. Thinking of another car or house. And I have to agree with house for stay only, house for investment seems like too much hassle
I was looking for like a vacation home (cum retirement home when I retire) maybe in PD/Langkawi - something close to beach - accommodation is always the most expensive part of a vacation if you're travelling locally, so having a vacation home seems like a good idea

When I used to work in the US (north side where its super cold during winter) - my coworkers would invest in house in the south, like in Florida - as vacation homes and also for retirement when they old so they can escape the harsh winter
WAH big boss level... 2nd property for vacation is a huge ass commitment solely for leisure! I can only imagine that for now until retirement, you will rent it out or do a AirBnb, basically let agent handle...? Then I understand the value of buying a property now for retirement, since property price in Malaysia is likelier to increase over time, especially if you're looking for "touristy place" to retire in, I think it's one less risk as government probably won't allow anything that decreases land value near a tourist place (like industry, garbage disposal sites etc..)

Also, it depends on how good your current car is. For TS case, 20yo Waja is unsafe and may have many wear and tear problems, so a new car makes more sense imo. A B segment local car can easily manage even at 5 year loan, with ample to spare for continued investment.
smokey
post Apr 4 2022, 04:20 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

I would say buy what is needed
If u buy another house, u r stuck with another 35 years loan
Property is not a good investment now
Besides, can you forsee living in here for that long?

This post has been edited by smokey: Apr 4 2022, 04:25 PM
nihility
post Apr 4 2022, 04:20 PM

1,596 posts

Life is not about investment only, you already own a condo.

Yes, the money you spend in your 30s is not the same as the money you spend at 40s or 50s.
sadukarzz
post Apr 4 2022, 04:22 PM

782 posts

can la, at least downpayment also good enough..

i.e. proton has a certain limit say few k's

but even that few k's also good enough for points ma
metalfire
post Apr 4 2022, 04:24 PM

1,303 posts

2nd property and used Camry or Mazda (Skyactive generation)...as long as not underwater car.

This post has been edited by metalfire: Apr 4 2022, 04:24 PM
cempedaklife
post Apr 4 2022, 05:06 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

You can buy a b segment car.
As for house for investment, I don’t recommend it. But other investments yes. Diff ppl diff preference.
Bossku_Johor
post Apr 4 2022, 05:09 PM

146 posts

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:

What would you guys do?
go for the car since you're driving an old waja. Dont have to go for any fancy car. Get a good reliable car first. Try to finish paying it in 3 to 5 years. Then go look for a second house for investment purpose

Make sure to keep your payment record clean.

DM52
post Apr 4 2022, 05:16 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 4 2022, 12:37 PM)
fuh.luckily boy not comment this at /k and f&f. if not for sure many hentam u..

what makes you think waja is not a safe car?. in term of what?. or basically old car not safe?.
SUSticke
post Apr 4 2022, 05:23 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

buy electric car.
bill11
post Apr 4 2022, 05:34 PM

303 posts

If you buy another house now you are subject for 30% for next purchase lioa which this house with your wifey.. then even harder for you..

Just get normal car la..

house investment kinda overrated especially condo, unless you say get landed go for it. Else dont waste time on property investment look nice but doesn't worth the effort. You can see developer just keep building and building and you cant raise any rent because new property keep pop-ing out.
CoffeeDude
post Apr 4 2022, 05:35 PM

1,609 posts

If you don't want to spend too much, buy a used car so that you can have some money left to buy another house.
c64
post Apr 4 2022, 05:46 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Apr 4 2022, 05:16 PM)

what makes you think waja is not a safe car?. in term of what?. or basically old car not safe?.
VSC Tarak, ESC Tarak, airbags not enough, ASA Tarak. Besi also weak and karat Liao.
Boy96
post Apr 4 2022, 06:00 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Apr 4 2022, 05:16 PM)

The last one. Ts got money can afford a 5 star safety car. Should go for it
TryingToSurvive
post Apr 4 2022, 06:01 PM

330 posts

Yeah u can, but most dealers don't want to do it because CC commission is quite high 1-2%.

SUSskyblack4492
post Apr 4 2022, 07:22 PM

1,342 posts

Honda city ba. Got honda got amoi. Buy so many house for what if foreveralone
Koranshita
post Apr 4 2022, 08:48 PM

435 posts

buy a second hand car
pisces88
post Apr 4 2022, 09:10 PM

3,969 posts

Depends how big is your budget, and many factors leh, you could even do both.

Then also depends how much the condo will take up your funds. And your dsr. After take the 2nd condo loan, will you be able to get the car loan as well?

Give you a scenario, maybe you have 100k. Your salary 6-7k.

Buy a condo maybe take up 60k , or less depending on downpayment. Loan per month take up 2k maybe. Old loans maybe 2k.

Is the condo subsale or stilll under construction? If subsale u can immediately rent out after buying. Then u can proceed with buying new car. Stil have enough Dsr for loan, still have enough cash for car downpayment.
SUSMr Mercedes
post Apr 4 2022, 09:14 PM

424 posts

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:

What would you guys do?
Mate.... you don't need a nice car to get a gf. Females who judge you by the car you drive are shallow as fuck.

SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Apr 4 2022, 09:18 PM

241 posts

Both lah. Who says u can't have both. Get a persona
anzen600
post Apr 4 2022, 09:18 PM

Impossible is nothing ~Conquer your self !
1,238 posts

Beli MyB & sarang at the same time nia YOLO kasi
6942nole
post Apr 4 2022, 09:31 PM

346 posts

buy used car and new house.
arcadicus
post Apr 4 2022, 09:51 PM

213 posts

Buy superbike 1000cc...

Hnggghhhh.....
ahmad92
post Apr 4 2022, 09:55 PM

51 posts

Single and own a condo. Just go and upgrade your car.
BL98
post Apr 4 2022, 10:00 PM

743 posts

Axia 26k cash.
farscope
post Apr 4 2022, 10:02 PM

3,427 posts

for my case is house > car > looking for second prop now..

get a decent car without sacrificing your cash flow, plan your cash flow with shorter loans if you need to so that u can exit the loan repayment when u r ready for the next property. i think camry a bit too far fetch, get something in the C segment range to also up-profile yourself a bit unless u dont mind staying single for awhile more. to me, i think it can go concurrently..
iSean
post Apr 4 2022, 10:30 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:

What would you guys do?
Hi ya, wahhh 20 year old Waja rclxub.gif
Ya I know the feels my family own one now near 16/17 year old liao.

Personally I will say get a Cheap Proton Saga or top up sikit for Bezza X.
Because the Waja in my family is a maintenance debt trap.

Cars depreciates over time, no need to get cantik2, else go for second hand, better value, provided u need someone to help you check for flooding.

SUSForgotPassword
post Apr 4 2022, 11:33 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 4 2022, 05:46 PM)
VSC Tarak, ESC Tarak, airbags not enough, ASA Tarak. Besi also weak and karat Liao.
If not wrong, airbag and abs pun tada. I duno this guy defending waja on what basis lmao.
B0ss_ku
post Apr 4 2022, 11:51 PM

282 posts

Enjoy life better

But camry or mazda is not enjoying

Atleast get a GT86

This post has been edited by B0ss_ku: Apr 4 2022, 11:52 PM
B0ss_ku
post Apr 4 2022, 11:54 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 4 2022, 05:46 PM)
Tell that to those drive oldschool corolla and sunny...hardly seen those involved in accident
Kakistok
post Apr 5 2022, 12:31 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Apr 4 2022, 04:13 PM)
WAH big boss level... 2nd property for vacation is a huge ass commitment solely for leisure! I can only imagine that for now until retirement, you will rent it out or do a AirBnb, basically let agent handle...? Then I understand the value of buying a property now for retirement, since property price in Malaysia is likelier to increase over time, especially if you're looking for "touristy place" to retire in, I think it's one less risk as government probably won't allow anything that decreases land value near a tourist place (like industry, garbage disposal sites etc..)

Also, it depends on how good your current car is. For TS case, 20yo Waja is unsafe and may have many wear and tear problems, so a new car makes more sense imo. A B segment local car can easily manage even at 5 year loan, with ample to spare for continued investment.
I think you misunderstood my point - I'm just looking for another house as a own stay vacation home (for me and my family/friends) and in the future would be a retirement home. No plans for airbnb or renting and I wouldn't care if it drops value
Since I already have finished paying my house and I have set a side a some for emergency & investment - just looking for another place with remaining cash I have minus all my expenses

my car I bought a used one 2 years ago - a 5 year old Iriz, approx 50k miles for rm18k - 2 years no issues so far other than usual wear tear
my current house is a walk up flat 3B I bought in 2014 for rm180k in suburb KL - I finished paying it in 2020, as I was already paying extra every month and I cash out some gains from my US stocks to finish it off.

so no big boss level la - just a middle class peep living in moderation.
c64
post Apr 5 2022, 06:07 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Apr 4 2022, 11:54 PM)
Tell that to those drive oldschool corolla and sunny...hardly seen those involved in accident
Correction: Hardly seen any on the road.
Angry Clerk
post Apr 5 2022, 07:19 AM

253 posts

if u wanna get Camry, then get used one

else buy new Vios or City also ok already
blanket84
post Apr 5 2022, 07:27 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Apr 5 2022, 07:19 AM)
if u wanna get Camry, then get used one

else buy new Vios or City also ok already
I would avoid vios and city altogether as they aren’t worth your money. If you have no money, stick with myvi, otherwise go for civic/altis.
MegaCanonF
post Apr 5 2022, 07:44 AM

864 posts

new car la bro. at least myvi with complete safety features. u think property so easy to do these days? n that waja gonna give you more headache in the long run
Penang_J
post Apr 5 2022, 12:26 PM

301 posts

Just go for new car unless you can save a few hundred thousand to finance the property. Rental income is bad recently.
farisq
post Apr 5 2022, 02:45 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 5 2022, 07:27 AM)
I would avoid vios and city altogether as they aren’t worth your money. If you have no money, stick with myvi, otherwise go for civic/altis.
Why Vios not worth it... Is it due to FC?
timesquare.net
post Apr 5 2022, 02:53 PM

57 posts

Buy new car
Pros:
Cons:

Buy second property
Pros:
2. You have two houses
Cons:

What would you guys do?
the most important point was listed out by u already
''Better chance to get girlfriend''

so , go for a car...
get a gf...
go to ur condo...
piap piap piap~
happy endinig everyday~
hteekay
post Apr 5 2022, 02:54 PM

66 posts

30 year old better start looking for wife if you want to build a family of your own lor... have children before you're 35. You don't want to still taking care of children when you're over 55 years old
BladeRider
post Apr 5 2022, 03:56 PM

315 posts

if you are driving myvi, I will say get a 2nd property. But if you are driving a super duper old car and not even yours, go get a new car. For you own safety, image, or whatever reason.
BladeRider
post Apr 5 2022, 03:57 PM

315 posts

if you are driving myvi, I will say get a 2nd property. But if you are driving a super duper old car and not even yours, go get a new car. For you own safety, image, or whatever reason.
qqqqwww1111112222 P
post Apr 9 2022, 09:21 PM

Probation

do both buy second house, rent it out then buy a new car

if it is concern related to loan, it seems to me house loan is strict compared to car loan. So again, buy second house then new car should be fine for getting loan, but you cant say the same if buy car first then second house.

And buy those house that rental can cover most if not all of your house loan then you already solved most of your concern.
Augusta
post Apr 10 2022, 11:01 AM

62 posts

if the house price is good now, get the house

housing price pretty bad now you might get some good deals
ws_lim83
post Apr 10 2022, 11:07 AM

267 posts

Why not both? Get a house, then rent out. Use rental to pay ur bank installment. Then u still can get car right?
mini orchard
post Apr 10 2022, 11:23 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(qqqqwww1111112222 @ Apr 9 2022, 09:21 PM)
do both buy second house, rent it out then buy a new car

if it is concern related to loan, it seems to me house loan is strict compared to car loan. So again, buy second house then new car should be fine for getting loan, but you cant say the same if buy car first then second house.

And buy those house that rental can cover most if not all of your house loan then you already solved most of your concern.
QUOTE(ws_lim83 @ Apr 10 2022, 11:07 AM)
Why not both? Get a house, then rent out. Use rental to pay ur bank installment. Then u still can get car right?
If only things are that simple, everyone will be landlords and no more overhang properties jor.
cms
post Apr 10 2022, 11:37 AM

763 posts

If you enjoy and appreciate car, get a new car lah. Feel good and drive your to work harder for 30-35 years mah.

If you those type can't differentiate Waja from VW from MErcedes, then I suggest don't need waste the money lah. U also no syiok
cms
post Apr 10 2022, 11:41 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(B0ss_ku @ Apr 4 2022, 11:54 PM)
Maybe old car edey those prone to dangerous driving/accident already left the world edey
Mr.Robert
post Apr 10 2022, 11:48 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 4 2022, 12:37 PM)
Waja is a tank yo

Toughest car u can get in MY
POYOZER
post Apr 10 2022, 12:51 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

Buy condo for investment, need to pay for maintenance monthly.
Xsence
post Apr 10 2022, 04:49 PM

734 posts

This thread so many mid 30s fully paid house loan

My house loan only stay in my 30
I'm 28 now lmao. Jealous wei
ericthai
post Apr 10 2022, 05:42 PM

427 posts

Unless it's a double storey houses, buying condo is the same as buying car, the value will go down.

Nowadays, there are too many condo around , these greedy developers keep on building more and more.

I have been trying to sell mine for many years still can't get good price.

It's better to buy blue chip stocks or a car.
spacelion
post Apr 10 2022, 05:44 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

2nd hand car and brand new house
Hanapi-ap
post Apr 10 2022, 06:17 PM

25 posts

One for investment. Another is liability. Errr

Get car since already have own place. Cuz investment is only if you have spare.

Car you drive2 kena hailak mati then investment house goes to who
qqqqwww1111112222 P
post Apr 10 2022, 06:35 PM

Probation

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 10 2022, 11:23 AM)
If only things are that simple, everyone will be landlords and no more overhang properties jor.
Chances are if you looking at good location, your rental won't be too bad (can go research rental around your target place). It also depends on what type of properties you are looking at or your objective of buying second house at the first place. I think you buy second house mainly for own stay or investment? if you are making investment then making sure the rental can cover or property price increment is basically a must regardless u buy car or not lo. So you only headache if you wanna buy second house to let your family stay there so you don get roi from there, in a way similar to how you spend on the car, which then really you need to choose wisely in between.
Breaktru
post Apr 11 2022, 03:50 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

New car, but it doesn't have to be a 150k car . City , HRV or Vios level should be good enough . Better than servicing an old car which is totally not worth it .

I'm not sure if investing into another property would be a good idea nowadays given the supplies getting more than demand .
SUStikaram
post Apr 17 2022, 06:09 PM

10,722 posts

Buy s house that next to MRT. Take MRT go work.

Old car keep . Only use when nevessary
wawasan2200
post Apr 17 2022, 08:05 PM

189 posts

maybe buy a shop

if either buy car or house then i think buy car
yolo a bit

‘ what would you do now onwards if you know you will die tomorrow or next year or next 5 years?’

i expect i will die before reach retirement age so i withdraw epf 10k

i also expect at that age i will have one or two beloved so i buy insurance and generated a passive income source

maybe you can set a ratio on your income say

30% commitment
30% invest
10% saving
30% just follow your heart

Yggdrasil
post Apr 17 2022, 09:43 PM

2,210 posts

Buy New Waja and new house
Virlution
post Apr 19 2022, 09:44 AM

483 posts

If existing car is not falling apart rusting away, every few month need to go repair and dont need to travel on highway speed, do 110-120kmh speed but mostly city speed around 80kmh most of the time, keeping the old Waja is fine. Its is big and still safe compare to a small car. Else can consider changing to a newer car, maybe 3-5 year car as less depreciation compare to a brand new car.

Property wise, if you find a good unit with good returns at good location it is alwasy good, but if possible go for landed ones. Condos are popping up all over and stuck with one with lot of vacant and unpaid fees is a nightmare. I would prefer a lower mid end appartment without much facilities but near train, cheap to buy and cheap to rent, which can be easily sold off in a few years time.

I am still sticking to my 2006 car and saving for a bigger property, but if my mindset was like 10 years ago, I would have sold the car and buy another car as now repair cost is going up due to old age wear and tear, it is leaking water in the boot and rust appearing due to the leak. Always wanted a proper performance car, but 200bhp 6psd manual is not too shabby.
Musikl
post Apr 19 2022, 10:15 AM

265 posts

Sharing my journey.
First house was an investment and retirement condo by the beach. Currently doing airbnb and my short holiday gateaway. Minimum airbnb just to cover installment. Meantime rented a kl condo next to mrt to go to work.

Second house after 2 years of purchasing 1st. Currently renting it. But need to top up for maintenance and tax.

Bought a car with no loan. You should check out kia k3. Comfy and cheap used ones.

Third house also after 2 years. This just vp and currently staying here. Small condo central pj. Later when old age. Can sell/rent this unit and move away from the city.

Now looking for a car upgrade.

You could consider getting a prop and rent it. Doesnt matter how much you can rent it. Interest paid by the tenant is good enough. And consider it as forced saving. Then u can use the rental income to apply for other bank facility.
Not married but living with gf. We keep our own accounts.

This post has been edited by Musikl: Apr 19 2022, 10:15 AM
adamhzm90
post Apr 20 2022, 10:46 AM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Apr 19 2022, 10:15 AM)
Sharing my journey.
First house was an investment and retirement condo by the beach. Currently doing airbnb and my short holiday gateaway. Minimum airbnb just to cover installment. Meantime rented a kl condo next to mrt to go to work.

Second house after 2 years of purchasing 1st. Currently renting it. But need to top up for maintenance and tax.

Bought a car with no loan. You should check out kia k3. Comfy and cheap used ones.

Third house also after 2 years. This just vp and currently staying here. Small condo central pj. Later when old age. Can sell/rent this unit and move away from the city.

Now looking for a car upgrade.

You could consider getting a prop and rent it. Doesnt matter how much you can rent it. Interest paid by the tenant is good enough. And consider it as forced saving. Then u can use the rental income to apply for other bank facility.
Not married but living with gf. We keep our own accounts.
how u handle the airbnb unit? appoint service company?

0.0649sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:06 PM