SD Card for DashCam

mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 10:47 AM

4,952 posts

I only use Samsung Evo. Had bad experiences with sandisk.

I've been using dashcam > 10 years dy.
mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 11:00 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Apr 4 2022, 10:53 AM)
which sandisk you guys use?
the white and gray one?
Last Sandisk to RIP was > 5 years ago, can't remember its colour.
mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 11:08 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Apr 4 2022, 10:50 AM)
same here. got bad experiences with sandisk too.
the card cant tahan high speed writing end up corrupt and failed to write even with those class10.

then use samsung evo in my dashcam, go pro, helmet camera, cctv etc. no issue at all
I was using Sandisk in Blackvue DR400 - the ancestor of all Blackvue dash cams. It kept rebooting after a while. Replaced new Sandisk card and it would behave well only for a short while. I thought it was due to ageing dashcam, because it was doing well when new (but using other brand of sd card).

Replaced dash cam, used back same card and baru realised card was faulty.

mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 11:19 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Apr 4 2022, 11:14 AM)
nowadays they have cards specifically for dash cams with high endurance.
these cards have higher write / rewrite times and higher tolerance to temperature for reliability.

but tat being said, it still comes down to luck as no manufacturing is 100% perfect.
Yeah but Sandisk from that era was performing significantly worse than Samsung from that era.

If I am going to replace my SD card, I won't consider Sandisk unless it's priced significantly lower.
mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 11:24 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Apr 4 2022, 11:19 AM)
Ok. Another Prove! SanDisk 🙄
That was my experience last time, before current super duper SD cards were available. During that time, there were also Class 4 cards.
mushigen
post Apr 4 2022, 10:59 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Apr 4 2022, 10:19 PM)
For dashcam or cctv, go for endurance sd card because it is design for non stop continuous recording or re-recording and usage in high temperature environment.

Either go for Samsung Pro Endurance or Sandisk High Endurance..

For 64GB/128Gb, samsung give extra warranty compare to SanDisk but unfortunately they are being sold with high price tag here..
AFAIK, warranty does not cover usage in dashcams or CCTVs. Not sure if things have changed though.
mushigen
post Apr 5 2022, 10:39 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Apr 5 2022, 08:25 AM)
all endurance sdcards warranty covers dashcam/cctv usage.
its the non endurance ones that will not cover dashcam/cctv usage.
I see. I've never used endurance cards before. Their price difference when I got my current cards was very big.

0.0165sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:47 PM