keyboard backlight DIY

aLWAYStHEsAME
post Mar 18 2008, 08:11 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Mar 18 2008, 02:18 AM)
its around RM70.

or you can make ur own diy light. like what i did.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/4145/image268rj2.jpg
Wow.. u did that urself.. how much it cost?
zyulander
post Mar 18 2008, 03:45 PM

471 posts

its around RM70.

pics of it in action plz rclxms.gif
[Top-Gun]
post Mar 18 2008, 07:50 PM

Wanted: Dead or Alive
1,061 posts

I also considered modding it but so far the only part where light can come out is from 'between the keys' because most keys are solid, and are not 'see through'.. also all and most EL cables are 12V.. tried to modify my kb last time, when to bro Gary's shop, only realised all are 12V..

To be able to utilise the 5V USB connection (or have a 2 USB port powering your keyboard, instead of another ugly 12V cable from the back).. we need to find 5V EL cables.. do those exist?

Anyway.. I'm interested in getting a base kit like this.. for modding and it's mechanical switch keys!
zyulander
post Mar 19 2008, 01:47 AM

471 posts

hmm.that deck keyboard rocks.with individual red leds on each keys summore.

me i juz use 2 short ccfl hidden sumwhere near the kb to illuminate it.
nmb3rs
post Mar 19 2008, 02:14 AM

284 posts

try using those 'small' LED... placed them in series with each other. LEDs wont cost u much... its quite cheap.
but take care of the current supplied to the LEDs. u might need resistor. u could also add capacitor as a supply filter if the LEDs flickers (suggesting that the supply is not stable)

This post has been edited by nmb3rs: Mar 19 2008, 02:15 AM
someone_stupid
post Mar 19 2008, 09:30 AM

1,205 posts

i found tis blog tat uses el lighting cable to light up the kb but i cant remember where i seen it other than tat is maybe look for hollow keypads?
sniper on the roof
post Mar 19 2008, 09:44 AM

23,414 posts

its around RM70.

Isn't it faster, cheaper to use one of these?

aidlover
post Mar 19 2008, 10:55 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Mar 18 2008, 08:11 AM)
Wow.. u did that urself.. how much it cost?
RM1 ? i jus buy 2 LED. the rest are extra stuff lying in my house

QUOTE(zyulander @ Mar 18 2008, 03:45 PM)
pics of it in action plz  rclxms.gif
laters.. still modding the LED. apparently i put wrong resistor till its not at the brightness i want

edit:

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 19 2008, 09:44 AM)
Isn't it faster, cheaper to use one of these?

i using tarantula keyboard. so i want to make full use of the mini-usb port available. so have to mod 1 which uses the mini usb port

This post has been edited by aidlover: Mar 21 2008, 02:27 AM
JonSpark
post Jul 20 2011, 12:55 PM

ai shiteru
4,895 posts

I am thinking of using EL wire for modding my Everglide keyboard, but then most EL are 12v and got those silly inverter box thing.

How? cry.gif
lun1986
post Jul 20 2011, 03:13 PM

939 posts

put the sily inverter box inside ur case then use small wire to connect the el wire smile.gif
JonSpark
post Jul 20 2011, 07:02 PM

ai shiteru
4,895 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 20 2011, 03:13 PM)
put the sily inverter box inside ur case then use small wire to connect the el wire smile.gif
case? im using laptop leh.....and i occasionally bring this KB for LAN gaming
Paisy
post Jul 24 2011, 04:31 PM

327 posts

cabut from the powerbook or macbook pro la ? the keyboard are cool T.T
trisx
post Jul 25 2011, 09:27 AM

Life is Full of BS eyh !
1,198 posts

the link is dead sir.can reupload?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top