Is play to earn a scam?

SUSMasterConfucion
post Mar 15 2022, 07:46 AM, updated 4y ago

911 posts

Nowadays many play to earn game come out. Is it scam or really can earn money by play that game?
poks
post Mar 15 2022, 07:59 AM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

If it is too good to be true, probably scam...

Or maybe just another data mining scheme..
azarimy
post Mar 15 2022, 08:02 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

I'm currently playing Gods Unchained, a play to earn card game.

So far I've earned about RM200 worth of ETH and GODS (their ingame currency). The only catch is, these are on Layer 2 - they're relatively free to trade etc within its own Layer 2.

But to cash out, that's when the ETH massive gas fee will come in. So It will only be worth to cash out if you're over RM1k++.
limfreelance
post Mar 15 2022, 08:10 AM

343 posts

semua starting point mesti kasi sikit ppl benefit ma..the late come in is the one who pay for it.
chinti
post Mar 15 2022, 08:14 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

It's an online MLM/Ponzi scheme
SUSMasterConfucion
post Mar 15 2022, 08:26 AM

911 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 15 2022, 08:02 AM)

So far I've earned about RM200 worth of ETH and GODS (their ingame currency). The only catch is, these are on Layer 2 - they're relatively free to trade etc within its own Layer 2.

But to cash out, that's when the ETH massive gas fee will come in. So It will only be worth to cash out if you're over RM1k++.
The in-game currency cannot become real life money right? How much time need to invest to earn rm200?
Zanei Gundan
post Mar 15 2022, 08:27 AM

143 posts

but thats poker
maxert

64 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ Mar 15 2022, 07:46 AM)
Nowadays many play to earn game come out. Is it scam or really can earn money by play that game?
Yes and No.

Yes because there are such game exist , you earn their in-game token which can be trade and sold in some big exchange
Example SLP (Smooth Love Potion) & AXS (Axie Infinity) is the token use in a Game "Axie Infinity" can be trade in Binance (Exchange) ,When you think of start of game , go and read their whitepaper or any technical document published , they will mention how they maintain their in-game economy and keep the game alive for years , most importantly is their road map and their next steps , what have being achieve so far.
To start such games , most required to have some initial investment ,then only you are able to earn their in-game token.
Recently there are some games which emphasize "Free to play & Play to earn" , this type of game is similar to the above but with 0 cost to start , means they will give you some basic stuff to start (Free to play) , then u can buy some thing more powerful (Investment) as u go along the way. This type of game are mostly more games oriented and less investment oriented.

No because their will be 100% some bad eggs around , they will create some easy and silly games to lure ppl to invest into their investment pool (Reading their whitepaper is very important) , once they think the pool is big enough , they will take everything and run away, this case there are many example around ,just google it.
andrekua2

13,484 posts

Trying to create use case.

I dont think it's a scam or anything. When it become famous, there will be interest which would try to put a value to the game. Besides as with any game, there will be players buying their way to the top of the leader boards.
azarimy
post Mar 15 2022, 11:02 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ Mar 15 2022, 08:26 AM)
The in-game currency cannot become real life money right? How much time need to invest to earn rm200?
The in-game currency GODS uses ERC-20, and is currently valued at around 1 GODS = 4.39 MYR.

Yes, we can convert it to real life money. You just need to bring it out of Layer 2 ecosystem (which has a gas fee).

Then I would trade it to XRP, bring it to my Luno account, then convert it to RM, and bank in to my CIMB account.

I've only played the game on weekends, and usually about 2-3 hours for about 3 months now to earn that RM200. You can potentially earn more if you know how to trade in the marketplace. But for me, RM200 is pretty fair, given that I did not spent a sen starting this game.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 15 2022, 11:12 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

sell loot crates and knives on CSGO
sasuketaichou
post Mar 15 2022, 11:15 AM

192 posts

house always win

Doomsday
post Mar 15 2022, 11:17 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 15 2022, 11:12 AM)
sell loot crates and knives on CSGO
Perrgghh CSGO kaki

Got asiimov?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 15 2022, 11:19 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Mar 15 2022, 11:17 AM)
Perrgghh CSGO kaki

Got asiimov?
no, ayam just silver elite sweat.gif
Doomsday
post Mar 15 2022, 12:11 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 15 2022, 11:19 AM)
no, ayam just silver elite  sweat.gif
Jom
SUSMuchafaka
post Mar 15 2022, 12:13 PM

Played shoppe shake with all i got..
And i got 2 coins

Ya.. play to earn is scam
zerorating
post Mar 15 2022, 12:15 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

then we have whales that going to spend tons of money for upgrades (so they can win more money), then the scam happens, people cant withdraw money anymore.
MrBaba
post Mar 15 2022, 12:16 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 15 2022, 08:02 AM)

U want cash out do it now now gas fee cheap like fudge .
aq_admiral2020
post Mar 15 2022, 12:19 PM

73 posts

Later house tapao your earnings coz cannot withdraw. You end up make money for them for free.
MrBaba
post Mar 15 2022, 12:19 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 15 2022, 08:14 AM)
It's an online MLM/Ponzi scheme
Yes and no . Many free to play to earn..

0.0170sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:24 AM