4 best Char Siew in KL, Absolutely haram

vexus
post Mar 13 2022, 11:34 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

i dare to say it loudly that meng kee char siew is the suckest of all.
nihility
post Mar 14 2022, 01:16 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Mar 13 2022, 01:39 PM)
There's one hidden gem called Restoran Spring Golden near NSK Taman Sri Muda in Shah Alam. In my opinion it's even better than Toast and Roast.
Went today, verified it is a hidden gem. The Char Siew served also chunky & tender like Toast and Roast . It left a lasting impression I”ll say. However, I think I still prefer “Toast and Toast” and TNR over Spring Roast because the fat % for Toast and Roast < than Spring Golden.

The shop gets busy by 12:45pm, need to come earlier to avoid the crowd.

👇photos below

tahfeikei
post Mar 14 2022, 01:40 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

ayam sukak ni....

sykz
post Mar 14 2022, 01:46 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Mar 14 2022, 02:16 PM)
Went today, verified it is a hidden gem. The Char Siew served also chunky & tender like Toast and Roast . It left a lasting impression I”ll say. However, I think I still prefer “Toast and Toast” and TNR over Spring Roast because the fat % for Toast and Roast < than Spring Golden.

The shop gets busy by 12:45pm, need to come earlier to avoid the crowd.

👇photos below

The price apa macam now? Previously I work around there and ate there. Not worth the price they charged. It's so freaking expensive for me that time.

nihility
post Mar 14 2022, 01:55 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Mar 14 2022, 01:46 PM)
The price apa macam now? Previously I work around there and ate there. Not worth the price they charged. It's so freaking expensive for me that time.
RM 10 / plate, reasonable to me. The "glass fat" pork belly is more costly in the market.

This post has been edited by nihility: Mar 14 2022, 01:56 PM
ZzZzz...
post Mar 14 2022, 02:05 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

the best char siew is TS..owai
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 14 2022, 02:13 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 13 2022, 12:41 PM)

How come Chuaboy is not in the list?
Disappointed.
TheEvilMan
post Mar 14 2022, 02:22 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Mar 13 2022, 12:58 PM)
1. Toast & Roast
2. Overseas
3. Famous Seremban Favorites
4. Meng kee
Roast n roast sedap but too oily
Prefer oversea punya eventho its oily but not so sweet
TSNamelessone1973
post Mar 14 2022, 02:32 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Mar 14 2022, 02:22 PM)
Roast n roast sedap but too oily
Prefer oversea punya eventho its oily but not so sweet
But char siew is supposed to be oily.

If not oily, it will not be nice laugh.gif
TSNamelessone1973
post Mar 14 2022, 02:33 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Mar 14 2022, 02:05 PM)
the best char siew is TS..owai
ZzZzz... laugh.gif
SuperTuhan
post Mar 14 2022, 02:42 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Mar 14 2022, 01:40 PM)
ayam sukak ni....
very sweet n abit fat for my liking

last time always go there weekdayds order RM50 charsiew but found its getting sweeter
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 14 2022, 02:43 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 13 2022, 10:37 PM)
Soo Kee I believe is near the junction of ampang point going to KL
Yes this is the best charsiew in this area.
Opposite risda.

Their harlook, koulou yook, talapia Cheong Ching, paksou koong steam. The best also.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 14 2022, 02:47 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 13 2022, 08:50 PM)
NEVER ever trust all these food programs. The silly HO JAK program especially is the worst. They get paid a lotta money by the owners to praise the restaurant or Stall but the food is so mediocre.
Ho chiak ahyoon and ah orange is kawaii .

Love them.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 14 2022, 02:50 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 13 2022, 08:50 PM)
NEVER ever trust all these food programs. The silly HO JAK program especially is the worst. They get paid a lotta money by the owners to praise the restaurant or Stall but the food is so mediocre.
Speaking of food reviews
Recently I quite hook to this channel.
Chu Bro
Funny as hell. Especially when he do his trade mark SEDAP! move in the restaurant.
@9:43

MishimaZ
post Mar 14 2022, 02:50 PM

269 posts

The be frank all these so called the best char siew and siu yuk can be easily found anywhere you walk including Kelantan and Terengganu.

Seriously don't know what are they food reviewers problem always exaggerate shit.
tifosi
post Mar 14 2022, 02:59 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Mar 13 2022, 01:39 PM)
There's one hidden gem called Restoran Spring Golden near NSK Taman Sri Muda in Shah Alam. In my opinion it's even better than Toast and Roast.
Ehhhhh why u announce here. Later people mountain people sea and quality drop. sad.gif

But out of the 4, meng kee and tian hong is mehhh, Char siew yoong is not bad, but the amount of people really turn off. That day i went the ask me share table with other patron, I was like wtf no especially in covid times and mask off.

Haven't tried Soo Kee but Overseas charsiew is good.
TSNamelessone1973
post Mar 14 2022, 03:01 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Mar 13 2022, 11:34 PM)
i dare to say it loudly that meng kee char siew is the suckest of all.
They are over rated but not the suckiest of all.

There are a lot of char siew worse than Meng kee.

SUSMr Mercedes
post Mar 14 2022, 03:04 PM

424 posts

Not in KL. but imho, this is the best charsiew I've ever had. One of Melaka's hidden gems.

I seriously didn't mind driving for 1 1/2 hours there just to eat this.

http://www.vkeong.com/eat/char-siew-chap-f...-batu-berendam/
Jenn77
post Mar 14 2022, 05:07 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Mar 13 2022, 01:13 PM)
this salak south garden char siew better,..

https://thefoodbunny.com/2019/05/14/kedai-k...ooo-char-sieww/

opposite of 7-eleven,..
my kids call this sitcky teeth pork rice.. because of the caramel really sticks to your teeth. sedapzz... biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0185sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:17 AM