awesome spec. but i wonder why apple silicone emphasise too much on GPU? that is too much GPU for average not video producer, non gamer guys like myself lol
[2022] Mac Studio w M1 Max/Ultra Discussion Thread
Mar 9 2022, 02:39 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
7,106 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
awesome spec. but i wonder why apple silicone emphasise too much on GPU? that is too much GPU for average not video producer, non gamer guys like myself lol
Mar 9 2022, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 9 2022, 06:49 PM) in the first place, if u are normal user, u should just with M1 range of products. Just that feel like apple asks us to pay more for something that we don’t really need, the too much gpu cores.. i want the best processor yes, but not too emphasize on gpu coresyou are more hard-core video/photo editor, then go with M1 Pro or M1 Max. If you are extremely hard-core one then go for M1 Ultra. They are totally different range of products which is similar to how intel ranges their products from i5, i7 to i9 too. of course only difference is that the performance is day and night difference for apple M chip. more GPU cores becos most uses mac to do video editing which GPU is one the key to decide the performance. |
Mar 9 2022, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 9 2022, 08:46 PM) I dun agree. Apple is just making the full range of products to suit different groups of users. They dun expect u to buy things u dun need that’s why u have the choices. But it seems i’m lack of choice here 🤷🏻♂️ I wish they make 2 version of their top end proc, one is emphasis on just raw processing power, the other with gpu emphasis..This post has been edited by un_id: Mar 9 2022, 08:52 PM |
Mar 9 2022, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 9 2022, 09:31 PM) not really. the no of cores of cpu is matching with the gpu cores. the no of gpu cores are not the same as the no of cpu cores in terms of performance thus gpu needs more cores. What i mean is, instead of 10 cores cpu + 24 cores gpu, i would prefer the resources invested to 12 cores cpu + 16 cores gpu for example.u can think of cpu core = person of doctorate can solve a complex mathemathic formula that kind of complex task, while gpu core = many students but each of them are doing much simple task. 10 cores cpu + 24 cores cpu does not means that the processing power of cpu is weaker than gpu which it is focusing on graphical related tasks only. iguana_dude_619 liked this post
Mar 10 2022, 06:37 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 9 2022, 11:24 PM) there is M1 Max option that comes with more cores already. why no choice? like i said, the combination of cpu cores and gpu cores are not compared like that. Yes there is 20 core cpu with a freakin 48 cores gpu, don’t need that 48 core gpu. Apple said can display 4x 8k monitor at once, dafuq 😂 only super video editor need that. But i want that 20 cores cpu.. dunno how to tell u anymore lol |
Mar 10 2022, 11:36 AM
Mar 10 2022, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 10 2022, 03:56 PM) I dun know what u want either. I guess we are just different kind of user so this argument is kinda pointless.. some guys who uses computer as i would, will understand what i meant.. but again it seems apple tend to cater to people in creative industry rather than general power users.. well, as the name implies, mac studio lolThere is how many cores option u want. The no of GPU cores tied to it are totally relative. A pc cannot run without GPU too. It is like A no of cpu cores matches X no of gpu cores B no of cpu cores matches Y no of gpu cores They are relative. Just choose the no of cores u want it totally does not matter whether u need the gpu cores or not. It is a big house must have bigger door to match too. The 20 cores with 64 cores is like a big car matches a big wheel so it has the overall good potential and capabilities. |
Mar 10 2022, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 10 2022, 05:32 PM) Yeah, it's definitely skewed towards the creative industry as you can see with the adverts. I believe even with data science, a lot of the tools aren't suited for Apple Silicon yet and it takes a lot of workarounds to work properly. YeahApple produces good product, but they tend to make us pay more to achieve our needs. For example some processes that i run makes my macbook screams, definitely more powerful processor and more ram are desired. The amount of gpu used in the process? Negligible. The guy keep on saying the number of gpu matches the cpu, which is clearly not, it is just what apple decided to give. The M1 ultra can run multiple 8k display, but to me one 4k display is already too good, but hell yeah i want that 20 core cpu |
Mar 12 2022, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 11 2022, 04:25 AM) There is no reason why one cannot easily find anything that suits himself which the deciding factor is more of the depth of one’s wallet only. Or best if other non apple products which can allow the ‘customisation’ that one needs one can easily go with that and there is no need to complain seriously. I’ve been using mac for 10 years but i’m not a sheep. Deciding factors is one’s wallet depth? let me reiterate, from the money point of view. I’m willing to spend lets say 15k for more powerful cpu cores, but not for more gpu cores as i don’t need it much. How is that wallet depth is a deciding factor? |
| Change to: | 0.0231sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:51 AM |